StaffGuide: Cataloging and Acquisitions

Backstage Procedures

Authority Record Procedures

 

Name Authority Records
  • Going forward, do not export name authority records from OCLC.  When we send out our bib records for quarterly processing, Backstage will return the matching authority records.
  • We will no longer edit OCLC name authority records for local decisions.  Because we are now NACO participants, all edits should be made to the OCLC authority record.  (For the time we are still under review, submit them through our internal process.)
  • With the exception of name authority records for ETDs, all original name headings should now be contributed through NACO.  (For the time we are still under review, submit them through our internal process.)
  • For ETDs, create an original authority record in Sierra for each heading.  Because we will want to send this authority record to Backstage for secondary matching, it is important to make certain the person is not already represented in OCLC by an authority record under a different form of name.  To mark the record, add an ACODE1 of “s” for “Send to Backstage.”  (The Database Maintenance Unit will clear the code from the record after it has been sent.)
  • If a name authority record needs to be deleted from our local file, send it to the Database Maintenance Unit.  To keep our local authority file in sync with Backstage, we will need to notify them.  (The Database Maintenance Unit will set the BCODE3 to “d” and ACODE1 to “s” for “Send to Backstage.”  Staff will then delete the record after notification has been sent.)

 

Series Authority Records
  • Going forward, the only time we should export a series authority record from OCLC is when we need to edit the record for local decisions.  When we send out our bib records for quarterly processing, Backstage will return the matching series authority records.
  • Because we cannot edit OCLC series authority records as part of NACO, we will continue to modify OCLC reords for local treatment decisions.
    • Add a |5 AFU to each field that is added or modified, in addition to the 990 field for the record as a whole.  This will identify the change for Backstage.  (The function of the 990 is to protect the record from overlay). 
    • To mark the record, add an ACODE1 of “s” for “Send to Backstage.”  (The Database Maintenance Unit will clear the code from the record after it has been sent.) 
  • Because we also cannot contribute original series headings through NACO, continue to create a Sierra record for each heading.  Because we will want to send this authority record to Backstage for secondary matching, it is important search each heading carefully in OCLC and to establish it according to RDA.  To mark the record, add an ACODE1 of “s” for “Send to Backstage.”  (The Database Maintenance Unit will clear the code from the record after it has been sent.)
  • If a series authority record needs to be deleted from our local file, send it to the Database Maintenance Unit.  To keep our local authority file in sync with Backstage, we will need to notify them.  (The Database Maintenance Unit will set the BCODE3 to “d” and ACODE1 to “s” for “Send to Backstage.”  Staff will then delete the record after notification has been sent.)

 

Local Subjects and Collections

Continue to create Sierra authority records for local collection names and local subjects (departments, advisors, bookplates, etc.). These headings are entered in 690 fields in bibliographic records, and we chose not to have Backstage process 690 headings. There is therefore no need to send these authorities for secondary matching.  As needed, these authority records may be deleted without notifying Database Maintenance.

 

Vendor Authority Records (for US Documents and Law Library only)
  • If we receive authority records for a set of bib records that will be sent for ongoing Backstage processing (e.g., Marcive), then authority records should not be loaded.  Backstage will supply matching authorities when the bib records are processed.
  • If a set of records will not be sent to Backstage, then any accompanying authority records may be loaded.  The authorities do not need to be sent to Backstage.

 

CONTENTdm Authority Records
  • We will continue to use Sierra to document headings for our digital projects.  Provided the heading is not also used in Sierra, create an original authority record, making certain to add ASUPPRESS “n” and a 667 note of “CONTENTdm ([project name]).”  We will not send these to Backstage.  As needed, these authority records may be deleted without notifying Database Maintenance.
  • If the heading is also used in Sierra, instead follow the procedures in "Name Authority Records" above.

Bibliographic Record Procedures

 

These procedures will enable us to gather bibliographic records to send to Backstage for quarterly authority processing.

 
New Cataloging

These records will be collected using the CAT DATE and 945 in the record, the same as for cataloging statistics.

 

Recataloging
  • Editing in OCLC and Overlaying the Sierra Record

Any time you overlay an existing Sierra bibliographic record, add your initials in a 955 field (Innovative tag “v”).This, along with the “Last Updated” date, will be used to flag the record for sending out to Backstage for the next quarterly processing cycle.This is necessary, because overlaying a bib record will wipe out all the linked data subfields in $0 and/or $1, as well as any other Backstage upgrades. (Even if the original Sierra record was not processed by Backstage, it’s likely this new record should be.)

  • Editing in Sierra

Any time you add or change a heading in a record, enter your initials in a 955 field (Innovative tag “v”).

 

RDA Fields

Our basefile processing included RDA enrichment, and this will not be part of our ongoing Backstage service.  Therefore, any records you export from OCLC or edit in Sierra must have the following elements:

  • An 040 |b eng (the language of the cataloging agency, not of the item).
  • Appropriate |e relationship designators in 1xx and 7xx fields.
  • Fields 336-338.  (You can set up macros in both OCLC and Sierra to insert these.)
  • Field 264.  (Convert field 260 even though we chose not to have Backstage do this in batch.)
  • For media materials (as applicable):
    • Field 344
    • Field 346
    • Field 347
    • Field 348
    • Field 380
    • Field 382
    • Field 546 |b Staff notation (scores only)

 

DEK 190218/190319

Authority Record Procedures

 

Name Authority Records (excluding ETDs)
  • Do not export name authority records
  • Do not edit or create original name authority records locally; send edited or new NACO records to Alyssa
  • Do not delete name authority records; send to-be-deleted records to Rose

 

ETD Name Authority Records
  • Create original EDT authority records in Sierra and mark the record ACODE1 "s"
  • Do not delete ETD records; send to-be-deleted records to Rose

 

Series Authority Records
  • Only export series authority records that need to be edited for local decisions
  • When editing a series authority record, add a |5AFU to each field that is added or modified, add the 990 field to the record, and mark the record ACODE1 "s"
  • Create original series authority in Sierra and mark the record ACODE1 "s"
  • Do not delete series authority records; send to-be-deleted records to Rose

                         

Local Subjects and Collections
  • Create authority records in Sierra; records may be deleted

     

Vendor Authority Records (for US Documents and Law Library only)
  •  Bib records sent for Backstage processing, authority records should not be loaded
  •  Bib records not sent for Backstage processing, authority records may be loaded

 

CONTENTdm Authority Records
  • Create original authority records in Sierra
  • Add ASUPPRESS “n” and add a 667 note “CONTENTdm ([project name])”
  • Records may be deleted

Bibliographic Records

 

New Cataloging
  • Add your initials to the 945 field (using Innovative tag “v”)

 

Recataloging –or– Editing Headings
  • Add your initials to the 955 field (using Innovative tag “v”)

 

RDA Fields (all records must have the following fields)
  • 040 |b eng
  • Appropriate |e relationship designators in 1xx and 7xx fields
  • Fields 336-338
  • Field 264 (convert field 260)
  • Media materials (as applicable)
    • Field 344
    • Field 346
    • Field 347
    • Field 348
    • Field 380
    • Field 382
    • Field 546 |b Staff notation (scores only)

 

DEK 190218/190319

          

   

 

Loading ...

General Authority Work

Loading ...

Name Authority Work

Loading ...

Series Authority Work

Loading ...

Database Maintenance

Loading ...
University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656