StaffGuide: Cataloging and Acquisitions

Microform Projects Policies and Procedures

Kinesiology Publications

Kinesiology Publications are a collection of microfiche theses and dissertations issued by the University of Oregon. They are reproductions of materials originally published in paper format, which means that the bibliographic description should be based on the original print publication using AACR2 chapters appropriate to that material. Data relating to the reproduction is placed in a secondary position, most notably the 533 field. Complete guidelines for cataloging reproductions can be found in OCLC Bibliographic Formats and Standards.

I. Searching for Bibliographic Records

Search OCLC for a matching microform record.

1. Determining a match In order to be a match, the record must first describe the same original print publication as the microform in hand, including author, title proper, date, etc. Secondly, it must match in several key areas of reproduction. Check field 533. You may use an existing microform record if:

• the form (microfilm vs. microfiche) matches the item in hand, and

• the reproduction publisher matches the item. The following differences are allowable:

• a difference in polarity (positive vs. negative)

• a difference in reproduction publication date

2. Matching microform record found. If there is a matching record, update the library’s holdings using the [F8] key and export the record ([F5]) to the library catalog. Then continue with step II. If there is more than one matching record, choose the best one for cataloging. If you are uncertain as to whether a record matches, or as to which is best, ask your supervisor.

3. No matching microform record found. If there is no record for a microform reproduction, but there is a record for the original print publication, create a new record referring also to the procedure “Deriving OCLC Records for Microform Reproductions.” If there is no print record at all, give to your supervisor.

II. Editing the Bibliographic Record

A. Fixed Field.

All fixed fields elements should reflect the original print version. Verify against Bibliographic Formats and Standards and correct as needed. The following are important elements:

Lang will normally be “eng” for English. For others, refer to MARC Code List for Languages.

Skip should match second filing indicator in 245.

Location main

CatDate fill in today’s date (omit this step when not blank)

Bib Lvl m

Mat Type: t manuscript language material (use for theses/dissertations)

Bcode3: x

Country: xx

B. 007. Expand and edit the field as needed. To do this, place the cursor in the field and [Ctrl][R].

Mat Catg h

Spec Mat e microfiche

Pos/Neg a positive (black text, white background) b negative (white text, black background)

Dimens m 4 × 6 in. microfiche

RedRange accept whatever is in the record (or default)

RedRatio accept whatever is in the record (or default)

Color b black and white

Emulsion u

Generatn c

BaseFilm u

Note: If there is no 007 field, you will have to add one. Key [Enter], then “y” for the the library catalog tag and “007” for the field.

Type “h” and [Ctrl][R], then fill in the subfields.

C. 008. Expand and edit the field as necessary. To do this, place the cursor in the field and type [Ctrl][R]. The following field is the only one you need to check:

FormItem b microfiche

D. 050/090 call number. These fiche should receive Library of Congress call numbers.

a. If there is already an LC call number in the record, search it in the library catalog to make sure the Cutter is correct for filing with our other call numbers. You may have to adjust the Cutter number. Also make certain there is a date corresponding to the date of the original thesis, followed by the letter “a” to indicate the item is a reproduction (e.g., 1992a).

b. If there is no LC call number, write “call #” on the printout and give it to your supervisor when you are done with other steps.

E. 1xx main entry. The record should have a 100 field. Search it in the the library catalog authority file and correct as necessary. You may also need to search the OCLC file and export a record. If there is no authority for the heading, give to your supervisor to establish it.

F. 245 title. Make sure title doesn’t appear to have any glaring misspellings and that the MARC coding is correct (i.e., there is a |c for the statement of responsibility, etc.). In addition:

• Make certain there is a |h with the GMD [microform].

• Also check the filing indicator and the “skip” element in the fixed field. For example:

245 14 The effect of forced physical education on bookish kids who hate sports already |h [microform] : |b a cross-cultural study / |c by Rosemary Lavender.

G. 246 variant title. The title on the header may not exactly match what is in the 245. This is fine, but add a 246 for a title on the header if it uses different wording. Compare the 245 and the fiche header carefully so you will catch any differences. The appropriate 246 format is:

246 1_ |i Title on fiche header: |a Blah blah blah blah

H. 260. This should consist solely of |c with the year of the thesis. For example:

260 |c 2003.

I. 300. The physical description should reflect the original print publication. Dimensions cannot be verified, but you can check and correct pagination and presence or absence of illustrations if you suspect an error. Also make sure the MARC coding is correct.

300 vi, 72 leaves : |b ill. ; |c 28 cm.

J. 440 series statement. Add the following series statement to all records:

440 0 Kinesiology publications

K. 5xx. Most notes describe the original print publication. Make certain the following are present in the record.

a. 502 thesis note. The format is:

502 Thesis (M.S.)–University of Southern California, 1977.

502 Thesis (Ph.D.)–University of Utah, 2002.

These theses were written at various institutions, and the University of Oregon is merely the distributor of the microfiche edition. Note that other degree abbreviations may be used.

b. 504 bibliographical references note. The note will take one of the following forms, depending on whether there is a single bibliography or the references are scattered throughout the thesis.

504 Includes bibliographical references (leaves 70-72).

504 Includes bibliographical references.

There is no need to view the fiche to verify which form is correct.

c. 533. This note describes the reproduction. Check to make certain it accurately describes the item in hand. Pay particular attention to the statement of polarity. The following are the subfields: |a Type of reproduction: Microfiche |b Place of reproduction: Eugene |c Publisher of reproduction: Kinesiology Publications, University of Oregon |d Date of reproduction. (Note that this will match the digits after “UO” on the fiche. For example, “UO 77” on the fiche translates to 1977 in |d. |e Physical description. Give the number of microfiche sheets, and also give the polarity if negative. For example:

1 microfiche : negative 2 microfiches |n Note about the reproduction.

This subfield may include the “UO” number on the fiche (e.g., "UO 03 202--UO 03 203."). Verify the information if present, but do not add. |7 Fixed fields for reproduction. If present, this information was converted from OCLC field 539 when the record was exported. Do not verify if present, and do not add if missing. A complete 533 field looks thus:

533 Microfiche. |b Eugene : |c Kinesiology Publications, University of Oregon, |d 2003. |e 1 microfiche : negative. |n "UO 03 117."

L. 6xx. Check the existing headings in the the library catalog authority file and correct as necessary. You may also need to search the OCLC file and export records. If there is no authority for a particular heading, or if the record has no 6xx fields, give to your supervisor.

M. 7xx. The record may have 7xx headings (with or without ‡t). Search the the library catalog authority file and correct as necessary. You may also need to search the OCLC file and export records. If there is no authority for a particular heading, give to your supervisor.

Q. 945. Add your initials.

III. Item Record(s) and Physical Processing

Currently, when there is more than one fiche sheet per thesis, the publisher places each sheet in a separate envelope. However, you should place all fiche in a single envelope and create one item record unless there are more than ten sheets. (This would be extremely rare.) If there are more than ten, place them in multiple envelopes of 10 sheets each (the last envelope may contain fewer), and create the corresponding number of item records. Retain discarded fiche envelopes for future use.

A. Itype 7

B. Location mficc

C. Status: - (if you have time to label and reshelve it soon. Try not to let materials sit around in Cataloging too long without a status of “b.”)

D. Barcode Insert the barcode number (tag “b”) in the item record. Apply the barcode label to the front of the envelope, in the upper right corner of the pocket portion of the envelope (under the exposed portion of the fiche).

E. IMessage If an envelope contains more than one sheet, insert a message field (tag “m”) with the number of sheets followed by the word “mfiche.” For example:

2 mfiche

F. Volume If there are more than ten sheets, insert a volume field in each item record created. Use the designation “sh.” and use the form of numbering found on the header. For example:

sh.1-10 sh.a-j

G. Label If there is not already a correct call number label adhered, print one and apply it to the upper left corner of the pocket portion of the envelope (under the exposed portion of the fiche). Note that if there is a “message” field in the item record, the information should appear on the label.

IV. Statistics and Final Processing

A. Record totals on the the Non-Books statistics sheet in the “OCLC” section under category “Microfiche.” Count one title per OCLC bibliographic record edited in the library catalog. Under “Pieces,” count each microfiche sheet, whether they are housed in one or multiple envelopes.

B. Place completed fiche on the “Microfilm/Microfiche” shelf in the hallway entrance to Technical Services.

kmk/dek 031103/rev. 060612; ccm rev. 3/13/2015

Deriving OCLC Records for Microform Reproductions

Many microform titles have OCLC records for their original print versions but not for the microform reproductions. Therefore, a new record must be created in OCLC for the microfiche or microfilm version (or very rarely, microopaque) and exported to the library catalog. The easiest way to do this is to “derive” a new record from an existing OCLC print record (or a record for another microform format). These records become a permanent part of the OCLC database, so accuracy is important. Note that ERIC microfiche are all cataloged on .b16666161, ERIC [documents on microfiche], so this procedure will never be used for such materials. Note that while ending punctuation is omitted in the library catalog, it is required in OCLC. Consult Yale University’s Ending Punctuation for Variable Fields for guidance.

I. Searching OCLC and Deriving

A. Search OCLC to make certain there is not already a matching microform record.

1. The following differences (check field 533) mean that the record is not a match:

a. Difference in form (e.g., microfilm vs. microfiche)

b. Difference in reproduction publisher (except a change in publishers between issues or parts of a serial or multipart item)

2. An existing microform record may be used if the difference is in polarity (positive vs. negative) or in reproduction publication date (is also found in field 533). If a match is found, catalog according to the procedure “Monograph Microform Copy Cataloging.”

B. If there is no matching record for the microform version, find the record for the corresponding print version or alternate microform version. If there are multiple print/microform records for the same title, choose the best record for deriving. Compare such bibliographic elements as the title proper, place of publication, publisher, date, and edition. The closer the match, the less editing you will have to do. If you are uncertain about which record to use, ask your supervisor.

C. Derive a new record as follows:

1. From the Connexion “Edit” menu, select “Derive” and “New Record.”

2. Choose “yes” to the prompt “Transfer fixed field values to new record?”

3. Edit the record in OCLC according to step III below .

II. Cataloging

Keep in mind that the record chosen for deriving may have had mistakes, so it is important to look for these as you catalog.

A. Fixed field. All elements should reflect the original print version with the exception of “Form.” Verify against Bibliographic Formats and Standards and correct as needed.

Type t manuscript language material (use for theses/dissertations) a language material (all other monographs)

ELvl I

Srce d

Lang Common codes are: eng (English); fre (French); ger (German); spa (Spanish); for others, refer to MARC Code List for Languages

Blvl m

Form if you are deriving from an alternate microform record, make certain you change this code a microfilm b microfiche c microopaque (i.e., microcard)

Conf 0 not a conference publication 1 conference publication

Ctry appropriate code from MARC Code List for Countries (should match 260) or “xx” for thesis/dissertation Cont m if a thesis. For other contents codes, see Bibliographic Formats and Standards.

GPub leave blank if not a government publication (including theses). Otherwise, consult Bibliographic Formats and Standards for codes.

LitF 0 non-fiction 1 fiction Indx 0 no index 1 index present

Desc a Ills leave blank if no illustrations. Otherwise, consult Bibliographic Formats and Standards for codes.

DtSt s single date t publication and copyright date

Dates should reflect 260 (that is, the original print publication); use letter “u” for each missing digit

B. 007. Note that if you are deriving from an alternate microform record, many of these codes will need to be changed. |a h |b d microfilm reel e microfiche g microopaque (i.e., microcard)3 |d a positive (black text, white background) b negative (white text, black background) |e d 16 mm microfilm f 35 mm microfilm l 3 × 5 in. microfiche or microopaque m 4 × 6 in. microfiche or microopaque o 6 × 9 in. microfiche or microopaque |f u |g b black and white |h a silver halide (shiny on one side and dull on the other) b diazo (shiny on both sides) |i c |j a For example:

h |b e |d a |e m |f u |g b |h a |i c |j a

See Bibliographic Formats and Standards for a full explanation of the 007 field.

C. 020. This field should contain only an ISBN assigned to the reproduction; delete the ISBN for the original print version or alternate microform version.

D. 050/090. Microfilm and microfiche titles receive Library of Congress call numbers. Should you ever receive microcards, you should ask your supervisor. a. If there is a Library of Congress call number (050/090):

• Search it in the library catalog to make sure the Cutter is correct for filing with our other call numbers. You may have to adjust the Cutter number.

• Make certain the date has a letter “a” after it (e.g., 1992a). b. If there is no LC call number, write “call #” on the printout and give it to your supervisor for a decision.

E. 1xx main entry. The record will usually (but not always) have a 100, 110, 111, or 130 heading. These should be searched in the OCLC authority file and corrected as necessary. You should also search the library catalog and export an authority record as needed. If there is no authority for the heading, give to your supervisor to establish it before proceeding.

F. 245. The 245 contains the title of the original print version. If you suspect there is a problem with the title (typo, etc.), view the item and correct as needed.

• Check the second filing indicator and correct as needed.

• Make certain 245 contains GMD “|h [microform],” which comes right after |a, and right before any punctuation separating |a from subfields |b or |c. For example:

245 00 Issues in education in Asia and the Pacific |h [microform] : |b an international perspective.

G. 246. Generally verify and correct any 246 fields pertaining to the original print publication. Add a 246 for the title on a fiche header or microfilm container if it is significantly different from the 245. For example:

246 1 |i Title on microfiche header: |a Band of prophets 246 1 |i Title on microfilm container: |a Travels with my donkey

H. 250. This should reflect the original print (not the microform) publication. If the edition of the microfilmed item does not match the edition statement in the bib record, correct it. (See Bibliographic Formats and Standards for complete criteria.)

I. 260. All publication information pertains to the original. Generally accept as found, although if you suspect an error (typo, etc.), view the item to verify/correct. Also, for microfiche, make certain that the date in 260 |c matches the date printed in the right-hand corner of the fiche header. If it doesn’t, show it to your supervisor.

J. 300. Again, all information describes the original print publication. You will have to trust the dimensions, but pagination and presence or absence of illustrations can be verified and corrected. Also make sure the MARC coding is correct.

K. 4xx/8xx. Give series statements reflecting the original print publication in 440 or 490 1/830 fields. If there is a series statement for the reproduction, give it in field 533 |f, and also make an 830 series added entry. Refer to “Series Authority Procedures for Copy Cataloging” for complete series instructions.

L. 5xx. Most notes describe the original. Read through them and correct any typos or other errors you find. Also add the following: a. 533 note describing the reproduction. Note that if you are using an alternate microform record, you will need to replace the 533 information. Pay particular attention to the statement of polarity. The following are the subfields: |a Microfilm Microfiche |b Place of reproduction. If none, give as [S.l.] |c Publisher of reproduction. If none, give as [s.n] (Note that if both place and publisher are unknown, the two abbreviations are enclosed in a single set of brackets.) |d Date of reproduction. If unknown, give a questionable or incomplete date in brackets. For example: [1985?] [198-?] [19--?] (Note that if publisher and date or place, publisher, and date are unknown, the information is enclosed in a single set of brackets.) |e Physical description. For fiche, give the number; for film, give number of reels and dimensions (i.e., film width). Also give polarity if negative (precedes dimensions). For example:

3 microfiches : negative 2 microfilm reels : negative ; 35 mm |f Series statement/numbering for the reproduction.

Enclose in parentheses and separate numbering with space ; space. For example: (CIHM/ICMH microfiche series ; no. 00123) Make an 830 series added entry for the reproduction series. Here are examples of complete 533 fields: 533 Microfiche. |b Paris, France : |c Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, |d 1994. |e 3 microfiches : negative. 533 Microfilm. |b Fayetteville, Ark. : |c University of Arkansas, |d 1986. |e 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm. (polarity not given for positive microforms) 533 Microfiche. |b [S.l. : |c s.n., |d 198-?] |e 5 microfiches : negative.

M. 539. This field need not be added if you are deriving from a print record. However, if you are using an alternative microform record, you must either verify the information in an existing 539 field or delete it. To verify the field, see Bibliographic Formats and Standards.

N. 6xx Subject Headings If there are no subject headings (600, 610, 650, or 651 fields) in the record, or the record appears to have one or more wrong headings, give to your supervisor. Otherwise verify form of entry for each heading in the OCLC authority file and correct as needed. Also search the library catalog and export authority records as necessary.

O. 7xx. The record may have 700, 710, 711, or 730 headings (with or without ‡t). Verify form of entry for each heading in the OCLC authority file and correct as needed. Search the library catalog and export authority records as necessary.

P. 945. Add your initials.

Q. 949. Add a 949 if needed to overlay an existing the library catalog record. For example: 949 *recs=b;ov=.b12345678;

R. Update holdings in OCLC using the [F8] key.

S. Export the record to the library catalog using the [F5] key.

III. Item Record(s) and Physical Processing

Note: Item record and physical processing issues for microopaques (Itype 18 and location “micro”) have yet to be resolved. In the rare case that you might get these materials, ask your supervisor, who will in turn consult with the Head of Periodicals.

A. Microfiche. Place all fiche for a given title in a single envelope and create one item record unless the bibliographic work consists of several volumes or there are more than ten fiche sheets. If the work consists of multiple volumes, place the fiche for each volume in a separate envelope and create the corresponding number of item records. If there are more than ten sheets for a work or volume, place them in multiple envelopes of 10 sheets each (the last envelope may contain fewer), and create the corresponding number of item records. (Sometimes an extra envelope is also necessary for the title header to be legible.)

1. IType 7 microfiche

2. Location mficc microfiche (monograph) mficm mini microfiche

3. Status: - (if you have time to label and reshelve it soon. Try not to let materials sit around in Cataloging too long without a status of “b.”)

4. Barcode Insert the barcode number (tag “b”) in the item record. Apply the barcode label to the front of the envelope, in the upper right corner of the pocket portion of the envelope (under the exposed portion of the fiche).

5. IMessage In the case of microfiche, if the envelope contains more than one sheet, insert a message field (tag “m”) with the number of sheets followed by the word “mfiche.” For example: 2 mfiche

6. Volume If the work consists of several bibliographic volumes, add a volume field to each item record created. For example: v.1 If there are more than ten sheets for a work or volume, insert a volume field in each item record created. Use the designations “sh.” and/or “v.” as appropriate. For sheet numbers, use the form found on the header. For example: sh.1-10 sh.a-j v.1 sh.1-10 v.1 sh. a-j

7. Label If there is not already a correct call number label adhered, print one and apply it to the upper left corner of the pocket portion of the envelope (under the exposed portion of the fiche). Note that if there is a “message” field in the item record, the information should appear on the label.

B. Microfilm. Create one item record for each microfilm reel/box.

1. Itype 6

2. Location mfilm

3. Status - (if you have time to label and reshelve it soon. Try not to let materials sit around in Cataloging too long without a status of “b.”)

4. Barcode Insert the barcode number in the item record and place the barcode label on the microfilm box. To do so, hold the film box with the title/call number facing you. Turn the box so the call number faces left. Then place the label in the upper right corner of the side of the film box facing you now .

5. Volume If there is more than one reel of microfilm for a title, insert a volume field in each item record. Microfilm boxes often have a reel number, but dates or other information may also be found. Generally always include the reel number if present, because it is the most helpful for locating the box on the shelf. Also add other information if it will help the user determine which reel is needed. The guiding principle is to use what is on the box, although standardization is necessary when the boxes vary greatly. If you are uncertain, ask your supervisor. Use the designation “reel,” not “roll.” Consult “Standard Abbreviations for Item Records” as needed for other designations, and observe the following conventions for entering the data:

a. Since these are monographs, place item records in order from earliest to latest.

b. Always use the following abbreviations for months and seasons, using upper and lower case as shown. Ja January F February Mr March Ap April My May Je June Jy July Ag August S September Oc October N November D December Spr Spring Sum Summer Fall Fall Win Winter

c. Do not leave a space after volume designations ending in a period. For example: v.1 but reel 1

d. Use a leading “0” for single digit dates (e.g., Ja 07).

e. Use four digits for years (e.g., 1986). The following are examples: reel 23 reel 1 ser.1 Ja 01 1775-Ap 25 1797

6. Label If there is not already a correct call number label adhered, print one and apply it on the “spine” side of the box bearing the title label. Place it so no information is covered, trimming the label as needed. Then place clear tape over the call number label.

IV. Statistics

A. Newly-acquired materials. Record totals on the the Non-Books statistics sheet in the “originals” section of the appropriate category (microfiche, microfilm, or microcard). Count one title per OCLC bibliographic record created. Under “Pieces,” count each physical unit (reel of microfilm, microfiche sheet, or individual microcard), whether they are housed in the same or separate containers.

B. Previously-cataloged materials. If the title already has a call number label, it was previously cataloged and counted. Search for a shelflist card and convert if found. On the Recataloging form under “Recatalogued NonBooks,” locate the correct format (microfiche, microfilm, microcards, ERIC microfiche), and count one title per OCLC record created. Also record that same number under “Orig OCLC Records” under “Other/Misc.”

kmk/dek 050610/rev. 070618

Monograph Microform Copy Cataloging

Most microforms we catalog are reproductions of materials originally published in paper format. Complete guidelines for cataloging reproductions can be found in OCLC Bibliographic Formats and Standards. However, the main point is that the bibliographic description should be based on the original print publication using AACR2 chapters appropriate to that material. Data relating to the reproduction is placed in a secondary position (most notably the 533 field). Publications issued originally in microform are much more rare in our library. Such materials are cataloged according to AACR2 chapter 11, where complete guidelines may be found. ERIC microfiche are all cataloged on .b16666161, ERIC [documents on microfiche]. The ED number is entered (minus prefix) in the volume field of the item record. If you receive a microopaque (i.e., microcard), ask your supervisor.

I. Searching for Bibliographic Records

If the microfilm or microfiche is a new acquisition, skip to step I B. If the item already has a call number, this means the title was previously cataloged, although not necessarily in the library catalog. First search the shelflist, and pull the card if found.

A. Searching the library catalog. Search for the record in the library catalog using a title or call number search. (The title in the 245 and that on the fiche header might not match exactly.) For reproductions, if you find an the library catalog record with a 533 field, and the form (microfilm or microfiche) matches, go on to Step II. For original microform publications, the title, publication information, edition, and physical description must match.

B. Searching OCLC. If you do not find a matching record in the library catalog (or the title is a new acquisition), search OCLC.

1. Determining a match

a. Microform reproductions. In order to be a match, the record must first describe the same original print publication as the microform in hand, including title proper, place of publication, publisher, date, and edition. Secondly, it must match in several key areas of reproduction. Check field 533. You may use an existing microform record if:

• the form (microfilm vs. microfiche) matches the item in hand, and

• the reproduction publisher matches the item. (Exception: a change in publishers between issues or parts of a serial or multipart item is allowable.) The following differences are allowable:

• a difference in polarity (positive vs. negative)

• a difference in reproduction publication date

b. Original microform publications. In order to be a match, the record must describe the microform in hand, including title proper, place of publication, publisher, date, and edition.

2. Matching microform record found. If there is a matching record, update the library’s holdings using the [F8] key and export the record ([F5]) to the library catalog. Then continue with step II. If there is more than one matching record, choose the best one for cataloging. If you are uncertain as to whether a record matches, or as to which is best, ask your supervisor.

3. No matching microform record found. If there is no record for a microform reproduction, but there is a record for the original print publication, create a new record according to the procedure “Deriving OCLC Records for Microform Reproductions.” If there is no print record at all, give to your supervisor. If there is no microform record for an original microform publication, give to your supervisor.

II. Editing the Bibliographic Record

A. Fixed Field. For reproductions, all fixed fields elements should reflect the original print version. For original microform publications, the fixed field should describe the microform edition. Verify against Bibliographic Formats and Standards and correct as needed. The following are important elements:

Lang verify and correct. Common Codes Are: eng (English); fre (French); ger (German); and spa (Spanish). For others, refer to MARC Code List for Languages

Skip should match second filing indicator in 245 Location main

CatDate fill in today’s date (omit this step when not blank)

Bib Lvl m (if “s,” give to the head of the Serials Cataloging Unit)

Mat Type: t manuscript language material (use for theses/dissertations) a language material (all other monographs)

Bcode3: x Country: appropriate code from MARC Code List for Countries (should match 260) or “xx” for thesis/dissertation

B. 007. Expand and edit the field as needed. To do this, place the cursor in the field and [Ctrl][R].

Mat Catg h

Spec Mat d microfilm reel e microfiche g microopaque (i.e., microcard)

Pos/Neg a positive (black text, white background) b negative (white text, black background)

Dimens d 16 mm microfilm f 35 mm microfilm l 3 × 5 in. microfiche or microopaque m 4 × 6 in. microfiche or microopaque o 6 × 9 in. microfiche or microopaque

RedRange accept whatever is in the record (or default)

RedRatio accept whatever is in the record (or default) Color b black and white

Emulsion a silver halide (shiny on one side and dull on the other) b diazo (shiny on both sides)

Generatn c BaseFilm a Note: If there is no 007 field, you will have to add one. Key [Enter], then “y” for the the library catalog tag and “007” for the field. Type “h” and [Ctrl][R], then fill in the subfields.

C. 008. Expand and edit the field as necessary. To do this, place the cursor in the field and [Ctrl][R]. The following field is the only one you need to check: FormItem a microfilm b microfiche c microopaque Note: In some older records, “FormItem” may be missing. If this is true, expand the “MARC Leader” line and look at REC TYPE. If the code is “n,” change it to “a,” and the correct elements should then display when you expand the 008 (see attached).

D. 020. This field should contain only an ISBN assigned to the reproduction or original microfilm publication. Delete any ISBNs for the original print version.

E. 050/090 call number. Most microfilm and microfiche titles receive Library of Congress call numbers. There are a couple exceptions: ERIC microfiche are cataloged together under the local call number (tag “z”) ERIC, and should you ever receive microcards, you should ask your supervisor.

a. If there is a Library of Congress call number (050/090):

• Search it in the library catalog to make sure the Cutter is correct for filing with our other call numbers. You may have to adjust the Cutter number.

• Make certain the date has a letter “a” after it (e.g., 1992a), unless the item is an original microform publication.

b. If there is no LC call number, write “call #” on the printout and give it to your supervisor when you are done with other steps.

F. 1xx main entry. The record will usually (but not always) have a 100, 110, 111, or 130 heading. These should be searched in the the library catalog authority file and corrected as necessary. You may also need to search the OCLC file and export a record. If there is no authority for the heading, give to your supervisor or establish it.

G. 245 title. Make sure title doesn’t appear to have any glaring misspellings, and that the MARC coding is correct (i.e., there is a |c for the statement of responsibility, etc.). In addition:

• Make certain there is a |h with the GMD [microform].

• Also check the filing indicator and the “skip” element in the fixed field. For original microfilm publications, the chief source of information is the title frame, defined in AACR2 as “a frame containing written or printed material not part of the subject content of the item,” and “a frame, usually at the beginning of the item, bearing the full title and, normally, publication details of the item.” If the title is taken from another source, transcribe the title in square brackets, and give the source in a note. For original microfiche or microopaque publications, the chief source is normally the title frame. However:

• if there is no title frame or if the information there is insufficient, treat the eye-readable data printed at the top (the “header”) as the chief source of information, or

• if the title on the header appears in a shortened form but appears in a fuller form on the accompanying eye-readable materials or the container, treat the accompanying eye-readable materials or the container as the chief source of information. In this case, make a note giving the source of the title proper. If the title is taken from any other source, transcribe it in square brackets, and give the source in a note.

H. 246 variant title. For fiche, the title on the header may not exactly match what is in the 245. This is fine, but add a 246 for a title on the header if it uses different wording. Compare the 245 and the fiche header carefully so you will catch any differences. The appropriate 246 format is: 246 1_ |i Title on fiche header: |a Blah blah blah blah For all microforms, add 246 entries if the container or other sources bear different titles.

I. 250. For reproductions, this should reflect the original print (not the microform) publication. The edition of the microfilmed item must match the edition statement in the bib record. Edition statements may also apply to original microform publications. Prescribed sources for this field are the title frame, rest of the item, and container, and information taken from other sources must be transcribed in square brackets.

J. 260. For reproductions, this should reflect the original print (not the microform) publication. You can normally trust the information in the bib record, but look to make sure the MARC coding is correct. Also, for microfiche, make certain that the date in 260 |c matches the date printed in the right-hand corner of the fiche header. If it doesn’t, show it to your supervisor. For original microform publications, the 260 describes the microform edition. Prescribed sources of information for this field are the title frame, rest of the item, and container. If you take the information from accompanying eye-readable material or another source, transcribe the elements in square brackets.

K. 300. This field is for the physical description of the item. 1. For reproductions, the 300 should reflect the original print (not the microform) publication. You will have to trust the dimensions, but pagination and presence or absence of illustrations can be verified and corrected. Also make sure the MARC coding is correct. 2. For original microform publications, this field will contain the microform details. The following are the subfields: |a Extent. Give the number of physical units followed by the appropriate term: microfiche(s), microfilm reel(s), microopaque(s). |b Other physical details. If the microform is negative (white text, black background), it should be indicated, as should the presence of illustrations. |c Dimensions. If the dimensions of a microfiche are other than 10.5 × 14.8 cm., the height × width should be given in centimeters. The width of microfilm should be given in millimeters, and the height × width of a microopaque should be given in centimeters. |e Accompanying material. Record the details of significant accompanying materials in 300 |e. (For less important materials, a note is usually sufficient.) This subfield is proceeded by a “+” sign. For example: 300 3 microfiches : |b negative, ill. + |e 1 guide (30 p. : ill. ; 22 cm.) 300 1 microfilm reel ; |c 35 mm.

L. 4xx/8xx series statement. For microform reproductions, series statements apply to the original print publication.6 For original microform publications, series statements apply to the microform edition. The prescribed sources of information are the title frame, rest of the item, and container. Series statements from other sources should be transcribed in square brackets. Refer to “Copy Cataloging for Monographs: Phase 2” for complete series instructions.

M. 5xx. These fields contain notes about the item.

1. Reproductions. Most notes describe the original print publication. Read through them and correct any typos or other errors you find. Also add or verify the following note:

a. 533. This note describes the reproduction. Check to make certain it accurately describes the item in hand. Pay particular attention to the statement of polarity. The following are the subfields: |a Microfilm Microfiche |b Place of reproduction. If none, give as [S.l.] |c Publisher of reproduction. If none, give as [s.n] (Note that if both place and publisher are unknown, the two abbreviations are enclosed in a single set of brackets.) |d Date of reproduction. If unknown, give a questionable or incomplete date in brackets. For example: [1985?] [198-?] [19--?] (Note that if publisher and date or place, publisher, and date are unknown, the information is enclosed in a single set of brackets.) |e Physical description. For fiche, give the number; for film, give number of reels and dimensions (i.e., film width). Also give polarity if negative (precedes dimensions). For example: 3 microfiches : negative 2 microfilm reels : negative ; 35 mm |f Series statement/numbering for the reproduction. Enclose in parentheses and separate numbering with space ; space. For example: (CIHM/ICMH microfiche series ; no. 00123) Here are examples of complete 533 fields: 533 Microfiche. |b Paris, France : |c Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, |d 1994. |e 3 microfiches : negative. 533 Microfilm. |b Fayetteville, Ark. : |c University of Arkansas, |d 1986. |e 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm. (polarity not given for positive microforms) 533 Microfiche. |b [S.l. : |c s.n., |d 198-?] |e 5 microfiches : negative. If microfiche dimensions are present in older records, they may be left as found.

2. Original microform publications. All notes pertain to the microfilm edition. They may contain information about the nature and scope of the material, statements of responsibility, edition and history, language, intended audience, etc. For the complete list of applicable notes, consult AACR2 Chapter 11. There should not be a 533 note.

N. 539. Accept as found in the record (only applies to reproductions).

O. 6xx. If the record has no 6xx fields (600, 610, 650 _0), notify your supervisor. Otherwise, check the existing headings in the authority file and correct as necessary. You may also need to search the OCLC file and export records. If there is no authority for a particular heading, give to your supervisor.

P. 7xx. The record may have 700, 710, 711, or 730 headings (with or without ‡t). These should be searched in the the library catalog authority file and corrected as necessary. You may also need to search the OCLC file and export records. If there is no authority for a particular heading, give to your supervisor or establish it.

Q. 945. Add your initials. If there are already initials in the record, type / and your initials at the end.

III. Item Record(s) and Physical Processing

Note: Item record and physical processing issues for microopaques (Itype 18 and location “micro”) have yet to be resolved. In the rare case that you might get these materials, ask your supervisor, who will in turn consult with the Head of Periodicals.

A. Microfiche. Place all fiche for a given title in a single envelope and create one item record unless the bibliographic work consists of several volumes or there are more than ten fiche sheets. If the work consists of multiple volumes, place the fiche for each volume in a separate envelope and create the corresponding number of item records. If there are more than ten sheets for a work or volume, place them in multiple envelopes of 10 sheets each (the last envelope may contain fewer), and create the corresponding number of item records. (Sometimes an extra envelope is also necessary for the title header to be legible.)

1. IType 7 microfiche 21 ERIC microfiche

2. Location mficc microfiche (monograph) mficm mini microfiche

3. Status: - (if you have time to label and reshelve it soon. Try not to let materials sit around in Cataloging too long without a status of “b.”)8

4. Barcode Insert the barcode number (tag “b”) in the item record. Apply the barcode label to the front of the envelope, in the upper right corner of the pocket portion of the envelope (under the exposed portion of the fiche).

5. IMessage In the case of microfiche, if an envelope contains more than one sheet, insert a message field (tag “m”) with the number of sheets followed by the word “mfiche.” For example: 2 mfiche

6. Volume If the work consists of several bibliographic volumes, add a volume field to each item record created. For example: v.1 If there are more than ten sheets for a work or volume, insert a volume field in each item record created. Use the designations “sh.” and/or “v.” as appropriate. For sheet numbers, use the form found on the header. For example: sh.1-10 sh.a-j v.1 sh.1-10 v.1 sh. a-j

7. Label If there is not already a correct call number label adhered, print one and apply it to the upper left corner of the pocket portion of the envelope (under the exposed portion of the fiche). Note that if there is a “message” field in the item record, the information should appear on the label.

B. Microfilm. Create one item record for each microfilm reel/box.

1. Itype 6

2. Location mfilm

3. Status - (if you have time to label and reshelve it soon. Try not to let materials sit around in Cataloging too long without a status of “b.”)

4. Barcode Insert the barcode number in the item record and place the barcode label on the microfilm box. To do so, hold the film box with the title/call number facing you. Turn the box so the call number faces left. Then place the label in the upper right corner of the side of the film box facing you now .

5. Volume

If there is more than one reel of microfilm for a title, insert a volume field in each item record. Microfilm boxes often have a reel number, but dates or other information may also be found. Generally always include the reel number if present, because it is the most helpful for locating the box on the shelf. Also add other information if it will help the user determine which reel is needed. The guiding principle is to use what is on the box, although standardization is necessary when the boxes vary greatly. If you are uncertain, ask your supervisor. Use the designation “reel,” not “roll.” Consult “Standard Abbreviations for Item Records” as needed for other designations, and observe the following conventions for entering the data:

a. Since these are monographs, place item records in order from earliest to latest.

b. Always use the following abbreviations for months and seasons, using upper and lower case as shown. Ja January F February Mr March Ap April My May Je June Jy July Ag August S September Oc October N November D December Spr Spring Sum Summer Fall Fall Win Winter

c. Do not leave a space after volume designations ending in a period. For example: v.1 but reel 1

d. Use a leading “0” for single digit dates (e.g., Ja 07).

e. Use four digits for years (e.g., 1986). The following are examples: reel 23 reel 1 ser.1 Ja 01 1775-Ap 25 1797

5. Label If there is not already a correct call number label adhered, print one and apply it on the “spine” side of the box bearing the title label. Place it so no information is covered, trimming the label as needed. Then place clear tape over the call number label.

IV. OCLC Holdings

If you did not export the record from OCLC in step I B, check to see if our holdings have been updated in OCLC. Call up the OCLC record by typing “*[number]” in the “Command Line Search” box. If the display does not read “Held by AFU” in the first line of the record, type [F8] to update our holdings. The message should change from “No holdings in AFU” to “Held by AFU.”

V. Statistics

A. Newly-acquired materials. Record totals on the the Non-Books statistics sheet in the “OCLC” section of the appropriate category (microfiche, ERIC microfiche, microfilm, or microcard). Count one title per OCLC bibliographic record edited in the library catalog. Under “Pieces,” count each physical unit (reel of microfilm, microfiche sheet, or individual microcard), whether they are housed in the same or separate containers.

B. Previously-cataloged materials. If the title already has a call number label, it was previously cataloged and counted. Search for a shelflist card and convert if found. On the Recataloging form under “Recatalogued NonBooks,” locate the correct format (microfiche, microfilm, microcards, ERIC microfiche), and count one title per OCLC record created.

kmk/dek 031103/rev. 06060611 Expanded MARC Leader and 008 Field

Copy Cataloging of OECD Monograph Microfiche

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) microfiche have been awaiting cataloging for some time. They should be fairly straightforward copy cataloging, but bring any problems to the Cataloger. The records have already been exported from OCLC to the library catalog, though the OCLC record may not have been tagged. The fiche will be shelved in the cabinets with the University of Oregon phys ed thesis fiche (and other monograph fiche) so they may circulate.

Bibliographic Records

1. Call up the record in the library catalog with a title search. The title in 245 and that on the fiche header may not match exactly, so you may have to get creative when you do this. Make sure that the record has a 533 field (if not, it may not be the record for the fiche version, and you should search OCLC for a new record).

2. Fixed Fields: Change Location to Amain@ Change BCODE3 to Ax@ Fill in Cat Date Make sure that Bib Lvl is Am@ and Mat Type is Aa@

3. 008 Expand this field (F for Full screen edit, place cursor at 008, hit Ctrl + X to expand). FormItem should be Ab@ for microfiche (it is located in about the center of the expanded 008 display). This is important.

4. 040 should be AFUA

5. 090 (call number): If there is no call #, write Acall #@ on printout and give it to the Cataloger when you are done with other steps. If there is a Library of Congress call # (090), do a call # search in the library catalog to make sure the Cutter is OK for filing with our other call numbers. You may have to adjust the Cutter number ($b of 090; see Cutter Numbers procedure if you need a review) to make things file correctly. The date in the call # should have a letter Aa@ after it (e.g., 1992a) 6. 245 (title) Make sure there is a $h with the GMD [microform]. Make sure title doesn't appear to have any glaring misspellings, and that the MARC coding is correct (i.e., there is a $c for the statement of responsibility, etc.) The title on the fiche header may not exactly match what is in the 245. This is usually fine, but consider adding a 246 for a title on the header if it uses different wording. Compare the 245 and the fiche header carefully so you will catch any differences. The appropriate 246 format is:

2461_$iTitle on fiche header:$aBlah blah blah blah

If you are unsure, ask the Cataloger.

7. 260, 300:These should reflect the original (not the microform) publication. You can trust the information in them, but look at these fields to make sure the MARC coding is correct. Do make sure that the date in 260$c matches the date printed in the right-hand corner of the fiche header. If it doesn=t, show it to the Cataloger.

8. 440/490 (series statement): Do a title search in the library catalog to see if there is an authority record for the series statement. If find an authority record for the series title, make sure that the series statement in the bib record matches it. A matching series statement may be in either 440 or 830 (if it is in 830, there should be an accompanying 490. See either the videos cataloging procedure or the monographs unit procedures on series statements for more information). A 490 by itself is a mistake! The record should contain either a 440 by itself or a 490/830 pair. Either 440 or 830 should have indicators _0 (blank, zero), the series title, space, semicolon, $v and the volume/part numbering: Not every series is numbered, so don=t be disturbed if there is no $v at all. If there is no the library catalog authority record for the series title, do a search in the OCLC AF. A sca ti (scan title) search will pull up series titles. If you find a record that seems like an exact match (the OECD should be mentioned somewhere in the authority record), export it, and make sure that the statement in the bib record matches it. The Cataloger will double-check series work.

9. 533 should be present with the usual information pertaining to the microform publication: 533 Microfiche.$bPlace of publication :$cPublisher,$dyear of publication.$e# of microfiche ; other physical details. 533 Microfiche.$bParis :$cOECD,$d1992.$e5 microfiche ; 11 x 15 cm. [Technically, it is not necessary to include the size of the microfiche if it is standard fiche sizeB11 x 15 cm. (Or 10.5 x 14.8 cm). However, the size may be included in older records, and it is hardly worth the trouble to remove it from the record]. Show the record to Kate if there is no 533! 9. Subject headings. If the record has no 6xx fields (600, 610, 650, etc.), notify the Cataloger.

10. 7xx (& 1xx) If there are entries for authors in 100, 110, 700, 710, etc., check for authority records as you do for videos and other materials. **There should be an author added entry 710 field for the OECD as follows: 710 2_ Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Yes, the As@ (European) spelling of Aorganization@ is correct. There is an authority record for the OECD in the library catalog, so as long as the bib record=s 710 matches this heading exactly, you do not need to search for it. However, you will need to search when the 710 is for a sub-group of the OECD; for example: 710 2_ Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.$bAir Management Policy Group. When doing an author search for this subgroup, you will have to type out most of the name, e.g. A Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Air Management...@ This is quite a hassle, but necessary.

11. 945 Add your initials Item Records I Type: 7 Location: mficc Status: - (if you have time to label and reshelve it soon. Try not to let fiche sit around in Cataloging too long without a status of Ab@) I to insert a field, B for barcode; stick barcode on envelope, scan it in. If the envelope contains more than 1 fiche, insert a message field, AM@, and type in the number of fiche (e.g., A2 fiche@). All the fiche for one title (1 bib record) should be in 1 envelope (unless using an extra envelope is necessary for the header title display to be legible). If you have extra envelopes, set them aside. If there are extra pieces of paper in the envelopes (e.g., old order slips, etc.), throw them away. Print a call # label and apply. There is no need to write or stamp Athesis@ (or anything else) on the envelope. OCLC Tagging It is probably easiest here to work from the printout, or to copy and paste the OCLC number 4 from the the library catalog bib record display. The OCLC record number is field 001 and can be called up in OCLC by typing #[number]. If the display does not say AHELD BY AFU@ near the upper left, type Au@ and the F11 to update our holdings. The message in the upper left should change from ANO HOLDINGS IN AFU@ to AHELD BY AFU.@ Statistics These fiche count as Anew@ cataloging, so count them on a monographs-non-books statistics sheet (rather than the Arecataloged@ sheet) in the MicroficheBOCLC copy section. In the title section, count each bib record once. In the vol. section, count the total number of fiche. This may be greater than the number of bibliographic or item records, if some envelopes contain multiple fiche! The best thing to do is to mark each one on the sheet as you go along, rather than depend on the the library catalog count of bib or item records. If you exported or set up any authority records while cataloging, be sure to count those as appropriate (be sure to separate series authority from name authority).

kmk12/01 

Afro-American Rare Book Collection Microfiche 8/02

These items SHOULD have records in OCLC. They are cataloged like other reproductions on microfiche, such as the OECD fiche. A few points:

1. Searching OCLC for records. Most of these books have been printed and reproduced more than once, so be sure to get the correct OCLC record. We want one that has “Afro-American rare book collection” in the series (830 or 440) and “Microfiche. $b Denver : $c Information Resources Division, Kistler Data Management” as the publication information in the 533 note. You may use a sca ti search, author/title derived search, etc., but this is an instance where OCLC keyword searching may be helpful. To do this, you must specify what field a word comes from, after the command “fin” (find). For instance: fin se rare and se book and se principle and au scott Looks for the words “rare” and “book” in the series fields, “principle” in the title fields, and “scott” from the author fields. This combination gets you the correct record for The lost principle by John Scott. You don’t have to use words from both author and title, just whatever seems best. Do use the series keywords to make sure you are getting the correct series. Hint: choosing unusual keywords usually gets more precise results.

2. Editing the record. Check the usual fields, being especially attentive to:

Form: b 007 h $b e $d a $e m $f b--- $g b $h a $i c $j a

090 see below (#4)

100 Check the authority files in the library catalog and OCLC and export records as necessary.

245 Must include $h [microform] (and, of course, the title must match the title on the fiche)

533 Microfiche. $b Denver : $c Information Resources Division, Kistler Data Management, $d 1977. $e 3 cards ; 10.5 x 15 cm. -- $f (Afro-American rare book collection).

830 Contains the series statement: Afro-American rare book collection. However, the volume numbering will be changed–instead of a number (“v. 15"), we will use the author’s last name (“Ade, George”) in subfield v. There should be a period at the end of the field. See #4 below for more information.

830 0 Afro-American rare book collection.

945 your initials

3. Tag (update) the record in OCLC and export it.

4. Item records. Warning!! This is unusual! This set is being treated as an “analyzed” series, which means that although they have separate bib records, they have the same call number, and there is also a single bib record for the whole set that affects the individuals. This means there are some unusual details for both item records and call numbers.Call numbers. Each individual bib record has two 090 fields.

The first is for the call # “stem”: 090 E185.5 $b .A34

The second is for the call # with the volume numbering: 090 E185.5 $b .A34 Ade, George

Whoa! Yes, that volume number looks weird. Since this series isn’t really numbered (the volume numbers in the 830 in the OCLC records were made up by the catalogers), we are using the authors’ names as the “volume.” You can take this straight off the fiche header, but you may shorten the name somewhat if necessary (“Coleman, Lucretia” instead of “Coleman, Lucretia H. Newman”). If you have questions, or if there are two names conflicting with each other, consult the Cataloger.

Item records. The item records for analytics must be created on the set record (in this case .b1418977x) and then linked to the individual record (the one you are putting the two call number fields into).

Create the record as normal, with I Type = 7, location = mficc, barcode, message with # of fiche in the envelope, etc. (do put all fiche for one volume in 1 envelope if possible–we can put up to 10 fiche in 1 envelope).

Then link the record: while the item record is in front of you, hit X to link input the .b number of the individual record answer Y for yes if the correct bib record displays a message will appear in the item record: ALSO LINKED TO BIB RECORD .b[etc.] It is easy to delete links so don’t panic if you find you’ve linked to the wrong record.

5. Labels, etc. Create labels for these fiche (try to put all fiche of one volume into one envelope) and apply. Kate will check and they will be re-shelved.

6. Statistics. These count on the Recataloged sheet, under NonBooks, in the Microfiche box. Count 1 title for each bib record and 1 volume for each sheet of fiche. Also count any authority records you export or set up.

kmk08/16/2002

Monograph microfiche that are already cataloged but were living in the Serials microfiche drawers:

1. Make sure the fiche is a monograph and not a serial. Look at the item location code in the library catalog: if it is mficc it is a monograph. Proceed with step #2. If it is mfiche it is a serial. Return the fiche to Multimedia Services and drop it in the “fiche to be reshelved” box next to the fiche readers. You can look at this through the “public” version of the library catalog if you like—the location code will display at the bottom of the screen. It looks a little different, but it may require less typing if you want to search them all in a batch. PER MFICHE-THESES is for monographs. PER MIFICHE is for serials.

2. Check for an item record. If there is none, add a new one. If there is one (all of them should already have it), check the following fields: Itype = 7 Location – mficc Status = - (unless you need to keep it for a long time to process; then use “b”) Apply the barcode and insert the barcode field. Insert a message (“m”) to list the number of fiche in the envelope if there is more than one.

3. Make sure the call number on the fiche envelope shows the correct location. It should say mficc at the top of the call number. Anything else (microfiche, mfiche, avmfch) is incorrect and must be crossed out and replaced with mficc. You may print out new labels if you like, or you can simply use a fine-tipped pen and VERY NEATLY cross out the incorrect location code and write in mficc at the top of the call number.

4. Count these, not on a formal statistics sheet; just count each fiche once on a sheet for Kate. She wants to keep track of how many of these fiche we had to “transfer” from the serial to the monograph drawers.

5. Put on the Periodicals shelf to be re-shelved. 

Loading ...
University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656