In 1997 Acquisitions requested that donors be acknowledged in the bibliographic records. Acquisitions puts flags in books marked BOOKPLATE. For Special Collections these are virtual bookplates (we no longer adhere actual bookplates inside the front cover of books). Regular processing will have a bookplate inside front cover. Titles are to be processed in the normal fashion with one exception: searching the InfoLinks subject authority file for donor or honoree information and adding that information to the bibliographic records. These names will be searchable in InfoLinks by a subject search for the name in direct order preceded by the word “Bookplate:” For example: Bookplate: J. Laurence Charlton.
1. Open the book to the inside cover where you will see the bookplate
For instance:
A gift by Sona and Thomas Hoisington
In memory of J. Laurence Charlton
For ARK COLL and SPEC COLL this information will be on PROCESSING INSTRUCTIONS flag provided by Special Collections.
2. Search each donor and/or honoree in the InfoLinks subject index. Precede the name with the word “Bookplate:” and type the name in direct order. For example:
Bookplate: J. Laurence Charlton
a. If you find a matching subject authority record, add to the bibliographic record a 690 heading (local subject field) for that donor/honoree. The 690 must match the 150 field in the corresponding subject authority record. For example:
690 Bookplate: Sona and Thomas Hoisington
690 Bookplate: J. Laurence Charlton
b. If no subject authority is found, establish a subject authority for donor/honoree access point.
i. Add to the bibliographic record a 690 field for each donor/honoree. Enter the name or names in direct order, preceded by "Bookplate."
ii. After completing the cataloging process, key in an authority record for these new local subject access points using the following procedures:
From Millennium Edit Functions, Catalog function, Choose: File, New Record, Authority Record.
Add New Record: Select template.
Select Subj: Subject Auth
The system will prompt you from the template for the SUBJ AUTH,
You may Insert the authorized form the local subject access (690 in bibliographic record) using the Insert function if not already prompted (Ctrl I).
Fill in the box for ACODE2 with d (for subject). Add the following fields as a minimum, the authorized for of subject (150, Name in direct order preceded by Bookplate:), see from form of subject (450, Name in direct order), locally created information (990 I), holdings symbol (040 AFU) and cataloger's initials (945).
Please note the indexes and tags for the subject authority, subject see from reference, and the cataloger's initials:
|
Tags and indexes: |
d |
SUBJ AUTH |
= |
150 |
(authorized subject form) |
|
|
e |
SUBJ S FRM |
= |
450 |
(see from subject form) |
|
|
y |
MARC |
= |
945 |
(cataloger’s initials) |
|
|
y |
MARC |
= |
990 |
(l (small letter L) for local) |
|
|
y |
MARC |
= |
040 |
(AFU) |
After you are satisfied with the information you have added, remember to SAVE the record (<CTRL><S>)
Completing Authority Workform on Paper Form BOOKPLATE:
AUTHORITY WORKFORM Used as: a s t 945_msk___Date_11/2006_
*First indicator value "2" invalid for 100, 400, 500 fields
*Second indicator value now valid for X30 field only
040 AFU
053 ________________________________________________________________________________
1_50 _____ _Bookplate: J. Laurence Charlton____________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________________________
4_50 _____ _J. Laurence Charlton______________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________________________
4___ _____ _________________________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________________________
5___ _____ _________________________________________________________________________________
667 _________________________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________________________
670 _________________________________________________________________________________
Bookplate: 09-20-06 msk ; 10-05-06