Starting August 1st, 2017, University Libraries is switching over from Desk Tracker to LibInsights for recording data like reference and directional questions, instructional sessions, guest logins, etc. While initially the forms in LibInsigths mirror what has been set up in Desk Tracker, some of the input and output functionality is much more robust in LibInsights.
For the quick-start guide, please watch the 6:30min video below:
If the video does not play, try link here.
For Selectors / Research and Instruction:
If you had an account in Desk Tracker, you should have an account in LibInsights (Inform Kathleen Lehman if you don’t!) If you never had a Desk Tracker account, but think, “I’d like to track data in LibInsights,” let Kathleen know. We can create way more forms (unlimited, in fact), so if there is something you’d like to track that doesn’t have a dataset yet, Kathleen know.
For those of you who pull statistics from Desk Tracker, we will have those accounts until October, so you’ve got some time to pull out whatever data you want to have/keep. Obviously, at the very least, you’ll need to pull the stats from July to have for FY18 reporting.
If anyone has questions about all this, please contact the User Experience Librarian.
Head of User Services
Thank you for your flexibility (and your sense of adventure )!
Weekday Opening Procedures
First Floor: Performing Arts & Media, 104, 102, 123, 129, Special Collections
Third Floor: 372A, 372B (both sides), and group study rooms (386, 387, 391, 392, 303a,b,c)
Fourth Floor: 472A, 472B (both sides), Government Doc. office, 487, 486, 401/Graduate Study Area
Weekend Opening (Saturday & Sunday):
Note* make sure you have a Building master key with you, so as to avoid being locked out.
One hour before closing:
15 minutes before closing:
10 Minutes until closing:
Note, on days that differ from our normal schedule of operations and Friday – Saturday the lights remain off and alarm set.
One hour before closing:
30 Minutes before closing:
15 Minutes before closing: (Employee at desk)
10 Minutes until closing:
Last 1-15 minutes after closing
Note: whoever is on duty that will be responsible for setting the building’s motion sensor alarm and, must exit on the West end of the library to set building alarm.
Closing the East Desk
Start the following closing procedures at least 5mins before desk is to be closed to ensure enough time to do everything properly. The East Desk closes Weekdays at midnight 12am, Weekends at 15 mins before the building (normally 5:45pm).
5 minutes until closing:
*If any items are still out be sure to inform those at the main desk to expect items.
*Any items that don’t belong at the east desk place on the book truck to bring to the main desk
User Services staff are primarily responsible for building security - they conduct rounds as scheduled and monitor patron activity, observing policy infractions, maintenance issues, security issues, and reminding patrons of policies as needed. They are designated as contacts for the University police as needed, and assist with emergency situations as required. They open and close the library on a regular basis. In addition, they are assigned departmental tasks such as processing forms, updating records, etc.
Throughout the day at scheduled times or as needed security rounds will be conducted.
Walk each floor of the Library checking:
That all equipment and each area of the library are being used according to purpose / designated use.
Locking rounds are conducted from 5:45pm – 6:15pm every Sunday – Thursday. Locking rounds are used to secure the office space and departmental doors that are used during day operation hours (7am – 5pm), in order to keep unauthorized personal from entering said areas. There are also areas and doors to be checked for proper patron use or be secured, i.e. group study rooms and areas alike. The following lists the guidelines to be followed and the doors to be secured during locking rounds.
Note: The two Evening Desk Assistants (EDA1 & EDA2) usually alternate rounds. One day, EDA1 will do the 6, 9, and 10:30 rounds, and EDA2 will do the 7:30, 12, and closing rounds. The following shift they switch.
Locking Rounds (Steps)
Doors to be secured during Closing Rounds:
Key components to Locking rounds:
Note any problems in Desk Tracker.
Mullins Library has four different security systems. None of the systems interface with each other. The four systems are the Special Collections system, the daytime perimeter system, the interior door system, and the motion detection system.
The maintenance and observation of the library alarm systems are very important. Whenever an alarm is sounding it is important to verify and check the location of the alarm, to apprehend a perpetrator (either by checking oneself or by calling the campus police), and to reset the alarm. In addition if alarms are sounding after library hours, the User Services Librarian and the Head of Special Collections (when appropriate) should be notified.
The Special Collections System and Motion Detection System
There is an alarm on the doors leading to Special Collections on Level 1. The alarm can only be turned off with the switch in the Head of Special Collection's office. When checking these doors, do not push--check by eyesight for the latch between doors. If you accidentally trip the alarm, enter the Special Collections Department to disarm the alarm. The switch is located next to the light switch within the unit head's office.
If the alarm is sounding for no apparent reason call University Police Department immediately and contact the User Services Librarian; if unavailable, contact the Head of Special Collections.
The Special Collections Division has its own motion detection system which is armed when the rest of the library is open for business. If the alarm is sounding for no apparent reason, call University Police Department immediately and contact the User Services Librarian; if unavailable, contact the Head of Special Collections.
The Daytime Perimeter System
The daytime perimeter system provides a door alarm and delayed exits from the building. If someone were to attempt to use one of these doors, the door would remain locked for 15 seconds. An alarm will sound at the doors and the panel at the Circulation Desk will indicate which door is triggered. The door alarms are triggered as long as a red light is displaying on the door handle and the switch on the panel at the Circulation Desk is in the upright or locked position. The doors are noted on the panels. The perimeter alarm does not alert the University Police Department. The map which follows diagrams the location and numbers of the perimeter doors.
Two additional doors are on the perimeter system but are not perimeter doors. The door connecting the Walton Reading Room to Technical Services and the door from the south fire escape into Technical Services are both connected to the Circulation Desk panel.
To reset a door or to turn off a door alarm, insert a general master or alarm key in the lock on the door handle and turn the key clockwise until a green light is showing (some doors the light is broken, so after resetting door check back). Be sure that the switch on the panel at the Circulation Desk is in the upright or locked position, the horn silence button is in the upright on position and the violation reset is reset to the upright latch position.
To provide access through one of these doors, be sure that the switch on the panel at the Circulation Desk is turned to the unlocked position. To provide momentary access (5 seconds), insert a master key in the lock on the door handle and turn the key clockwise until the light blinks red. To provide maintained access, insert the master key in the lock on the door handle and turn the key counter-clockwise until the red light is showing.
The Interior Door System
Fire exit doors and the door leading to Technical Services from the Walton Reading Room are attached to this system. If a person uses these doors, an alarm will sound at the door. No alarms sound at the Circulation Desk. Persons entering these fire exits are only able to exit on the lobby level.
To turn off the alarms, a key is needed. The fire exits are armed when the button window displays a red circle. A silver/clear/white circle indicates that the exit is not armed and no alarm will sound. The doors should also be permanently locked from the inside. (We do not currently arm the Walton Reading Room door).
The fire exits on the North and South sides are not alarmed; however, individuals who enter these doors are not able to exit on floors other than the lobby level. In the North exit, a person may exit by either being released by another individual or by breaking the glass on the exit door. If a person exits through the South fire escape, the alarm is activated at the Circulation Desk panel for the perimeter system.
The Motion Detection System
The library has installed a motion detection system. The system determines whether individuals are moving through the different zones pre-selected within the library. This system is linked to the University Police Department and will alert them to the fact that a person is in an armed area and in which zone of the library they are located. As the system detects persons in many zones within the library, the system is off during the hours in which the library is open. As the Special Collections Department is on a separate security system, its motion detection system is not armed or disarmed by the User Services Department.
The keypads which disarm and arm the system are located in the West vestibule near the exit doors and at the top of the tunnel inside Shipping and Receiving. If you are approved to arm or disarm the system, you will be given a password by the Facilities Manager. Sharing the password is grounds for immediate dismissal. Persons who have questions or needs regarding the motion detection system should be referred to the User Services Librarian and / or the Facilities Manager.
The system is armed when a red light is present on the wall unit panel. A green flashing light indicates movement in zoned areas of the library. A zone alarm cannot be activated if there is movement in the area. When arming an area, an individual has 60 seconds to leave the area before the alarm is triggered and University Police are notified.
There is a switch at the top of the Shipping/Receiving tunnel that enables deactivation of the Shipping/Receiving and Automation zones of the motion detection system. This switch does not deactivate the entire library motion security system. The switch is located at the top of and inside the tunnel. This switch works independently of the main motion detection control panels in Shipping and the West Entrance.
When the main detection control panels are disarmed: The key switch is disabled.
When the main detection control panels are armed:
To reset the alarm – if accidently setoff - [be sure that you have noted the zone in which movement occurs before re-setting the system]
To arm the alarm - [at closing]
To turn off the Alarm - Press <Reset>