Rice Research and Practice

AgNIC site for rice research and practice.

CSES, HORT, AECT, PLPA, HESC Agriculture Librarian

Necia Parker Gibson's picture
Necia Parker Gibson
Contact:
Mullins Library 220N
Bell Engineering 3188
office number 479-575-8421
neciap@uark.edu

Email is the best way to contact me. neciap@uark.edu

Some hours in Bell Engineering 3188; I will also come meet you there by appointment.


Text a librarian:479-385-0803

I do consultations via Skype as well as face to face. Email me for an appointment.
479-575-8421
Skype Contact

Contact Us

Necia Parker-Gibson, Agriculture librarian

neciap@uark.edu

479-575-8421

Rice Statistics

Grain Stocks, World Markets and Trade

 

Provides information on grain market news.

 
 

Includes information on US rice production, US exports and imports, US rice prices, California rice production, cost of production, US rice consumption, and rice nutrition. 

NASS Cropscape Data Layers

Presents crop specific digital data layers, suitable for use in geographic information systems applications. Currently, the Cropland Data Layer Program encompasses Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Mississippi, Missouri Boot Heel, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Wisconsin, with the focus of producing both digital categorized geo-referenced output products using imagery from the Thematic Mapper (TM) instrument on the Landsat 5 and the Enhanced Thematic Mapper (ETM+) on the Landsat 7 satellite. 2003 is the latest available.

FAPRI International Grains Model

Includes statistics on rice trade, world import and export, prices, rice supply, and distribution for various countries. 

FED/STATS

 IRRI World Rice Statistics

This is a gateway to statistics of over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.

Louisiana Rice Statistics 1999-

 

Contains information on rice varieties grown in Louisiana, the acreage of rice grown and its distribution by parish for the past several years.  

 

Dynamically generates a map of chemicals use in the US, provides statistics on agricultural chemicals use by year and by commodity 

USDA ERS Rice Outlook Report

Provides information on supply, use, prices, and trade for rice, including supply and demand prospects in major importing and exporting countries. Contains information on U.S. rough, milled, and long-, medium-, and short-grain rice.

Rice Stocks: 1995 –

This quarterly full-text report presents the most current estimates of rough and milled rice stocks by position (on and off-farms) and by states and U.S.; stock by length of grain classes for six major producing states (Arkansas, California, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Texas).  

Rice Yearbook

Provides information on U.S. rice production, supply, disappearance, trade, and price data. Includes state acreage, yield, and production data; U.S. and world price series; and price support program statistics. It also contains world supply and use estimates.

 

This publication contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States, as well as selected international data.The Abstract is also a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. NOTE! this publication is no longer published by the Federal government. The statistics here may be outdated. They may be available in more current form from your library.

The Agricultural Marketing Service includes five commodity programs--Dairy, Fruit and Vegetable, Livestock and Seed, Poultry, and Cotton and Tobacco. The programs provide standardization, grading and market news services for those commodities, enforce federal laws like the Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act and the Federal Seed Act and oversee marketing agreements and orders, research and promotion programs, and purchase of commodities for federal food programs.

USDA Economic Research Service

 

 

The Economic Research Service (ERS) is the main source of economic information and research from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. ERS's timely research and analysis provide public and private decision makers with the information they need to conduct business, formulate policy, or learn about the farm, rural and food sectors. 

USDA Foreign Agricultural Service

The Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) works to improve foreign market access for U.S. products, build new markets, improve the competitive position of U.S. agriculture in the global marketplace, and provide food aid and technical assistance to foreign countries.  

The system contains nearly 2,500 reports and datasets. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Available titles include both current and historical data. Many of the current titles are available via email subscription.

 

 

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656