Zotero

Collecting, organizing, and citing your references

Make Zotero even More Magical

Tips and Tricks from Zotero.org

  • Press ”+” (plus) on the keyboard within the collections list or items list to expand all nodes and ”-” (minus) to collapse them.
  • The date fields will automatically convert “yesterday”, “today”, and “tomorrow” into the respective dates.
  • More...

Tips from the Chronicle of Higher Education's ProfHacker Blog:

  • Hold the Shift key while dragging and dropping an entry to create an in-text citation
  • When using a PDF reader in Firefox, and when you have a Zotero note highlighted, you can right click and send highlighted text directly to the note. 
    Source: comments section: http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/zotero4027/60409?cid=wc&utm_source=wc&utm_medium=en

2008 blog post on 12 must-know Zotero tips and techniques

Find it! and Zotero

Find it!You've probably seen the Find it! button that allows you to locate the full text of an article online. Zotero allows you to use the same feature.

To set up Zotero to access the Find it! server, click the gear button on the Zotero toolbar and choose Preferences. At the bottom of the preferences window, paste this url into the "Resolver" box:

http://library.uark.edu:4550/resserv

Then click OK. Once you've set this up, you can click the Locate button on any citation you're viewing to search for the item online.

Preferences settings for Find it!

Indexing PDFs

It's easy to add PDFs to your Zotero library and automatically import their citation info.

First, enable PDF indexing on the Search tab of Zotero's preferences.  Zotero will download and install a small plugin.

Next, just drag your PDF files into the Zotero pane.

Right-click the PDFs and choose "Retrieve Metadata for PDFs."  Zotero will retrieve their citation data from Google Scholar and turn them into citeable items with PDF attachments.

If Zotero can't find a match on Google Scholar, don't worry -- you can still save the citation from another catalog or article database, then drag the PDF onto the citation to make it an attachment.

Adding items by ISBN, DOI, or Other Identifier

Search by IdentifierHave the book in front of you and want to add it to your Zotero library without having to search for a citation?

If you have a book's ISBN, an online article's DOI or PMID number, just click the magic wand button: "Add item by identifier." Type in the book or article's number, and Zotero will automatically download its information and save it to your library.

Creating Annotated Bibliographies

Step 1: Download and Install the Appropriate Style

Zotero supports annotated bibliographies in 2 styles:

To use these styles, you must first download them from the Zotero Style Repository. Click the links to install.

Zotero Style Repository

Step 2: Annotate your References

Gather the references into a folder / collection  and add annotations by using the Extra: field. 

Annotate records in the "Extra" field.

Step 3: Select the Items for your Bibliography

Right-click on the folder / collection name and choose Create a Bibliography from Collection

You can also select specific items in a folder / collection to create a bibliography from with Create a Bibliography from Items.

Right-click to create a bibliography

Step 4: Select a Bibliography Format.

Choose Chicago or APA annotated styles (the styles you istalled in step 1).  Be sure to choose the Bibliography output mode. For us in MS Word or other word processors, you will want to use the RTF output option.  

Choose bibliography style

Your bibliography should output with annotations.

Annotated bibliography created by Zotero

Annotate your PDFs

Adding notes to your web page captures is so cool; it would be neato to do that to your PDFs. 

You can't edit PDFs directly in Zotero but there are a couple of third-party apps you might want to chek out:

  • Mac Users
    • Skim is a free annotating tool for OS X and above
    • PDFpen for Mac is a more robust editor, cost starts at $59.95

  • Windows Users
  • Mobile Users
    • iAnnotate is an app for both iOS and Android

Qnotero: Quck Access to your PDFs

Qnotero Mobile AppQnotero is a Windows / Linux (no Mac) program that lives in your system tray and provides easy access to your Zotero references and PFFs.  Search by Author and/ or Year of Publication. If a PDF file is attached to a reference you can open it directly from within Qnotero.  

 

 

 

 

 

Zotero + RefWorks + EndNote

It's easy to move citations between Zotero and  RefWorks or EndNote Web

All three programs  can read and write a standard citation file format called RIS, which means references can be converted back and forth with a few clicks.

PDFs and other attachments do not export between programs, however; only citation information.

Zotero to RefWorks

To save your Zotero library for importing into RefWorks, click the Zotero button that looks like a gear and choose "Export Library." Choose RIS as the file type and pick a filename.

In RefWorks, click "References" and then "Import." Click the "Choose File" button and select the file you just exported from Zotero. Set Import Option to "Reference Manager (RIS)" and click Import.

RefWorks  to Zotero

To export your Refworks library for use in Zotero, click "References" and then "Export." Set the output style to "Bibliographic Software (Endnote...)" and save it as a text file.

In Zotero, click the button that looks like a gear and choose "Import." Just double-click the file you exported from RefWorks. The new references will be added to a collection named "Imported" followed by the date and time.

Zotero to EndNote

To save your Zotero library for importing into EndNote, click the Zotero button that looks like a gear and choose "Export Library." Choose RIS as the file type and pick a filename.

In EndNote Web, click "Collect" and then "Import References." Browse to your saved file. Set Import Option to "RefMan (RIS)" and click Import.

EndNote to Zotero

To export your EndNote Web library for use in Zotero, click "Format" and then "Export References." Set the output style to "RefMan (RIS) Export" and save it as a text file.

In Zotero, click the button that looks like a gear and choose "Import." Just double-click the file you exported from EndNote. The new references will be added to a collection named "Imported" followed by the date and time.

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656