LARC5053 History of Land Preservation: Rohwer Cemetery

This guide will assist students conduct background research for the HALS study of the cemetery located at the site of the Rohwer Japanese Internment camp.

Search Ebsco for Articles

Search Ebsco
Limit Your Results

Specialized Databases

Note on Controlled Vocabulary

Most searchers rely exclusively on keywords to retrieve records in databases. In many cases using keywords works well. If you wish to retrieve more precise results, try searching by the specialized terms of the database, also known as "controlled vocabulary," and often referred to as "descriptors." The order in which you enter your terms can matter as well. For example, often you can best search by author by typing the last name before the first name.

Introduction to Journal Articles

Although books are the dominant form of scholarship in the humanities, journal articles can provide excellent coverage of cutting-edge developments in the design disciplines. Articles appear in scholarly, trade, and popular periodicals, as well as newspapers.

Click here to see the video, "What is the Difference between a Magazine and a Scholarly Journal?"

Many assignments require students to limit their search to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. "Peer-reviewed," "scholarly," "academic,"and "refereed" are often used interchangeably to describe manuscripts that underwent expert review before publication.

HINT: Some databases such as Ebsco Academic Search Complete and ProQuest Research Library to the left will allow you to limit your search to scholarly journals.

Introduction to Book Chapters

Not all books contain a unified narrative from the beginning to the end of the text. Some are collections of essays, with each chapter having a unique title and author(s). These works share features with both books and journals. Like a book—unlike a journal—there is more lag time before publication. However, like a journal—unlike a book—catalogs do not trace the titles and authors of every chapter and researchers must use databases and indexes to search for chapters by a particular author or on a specific subject. If you have difficulty attempting to track down an essay or a chapter in a book, I am happy to help.

How Do I Get This Citation?

If you discover pertinent citations to journal articles in your online searches, use Find it! to track down your resources.

You also can search the name of the journal in the Library Catalog (the library catalog). This is your best option if you are working from a print bibliography.

If we don't own or subscribe to the material online, you can obtain rapidly many articles and chapters via the Libraries' ILL software, ILLiad.

Enter your ILLiad Username:

Enter your ILLiad Password:

Not yet registered for Interlibrary Loan? Sign up now.

Special Collections Librarian

Joshua Youngblood's picture
Joshua Youngblood
Contact:
MULN 130

Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Arkansas, History
University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656