LARC5053 History of Land Preservation: Rohwer Cemetery

This guide will assist students conduct background research for the HALS study of the cemetery located at the site of the Rohwer Japanese Internment camp.

Select Titles for Background History on Japanese Internment in Arkansas

These published work will provide historical context and background information on the history of Arkansas and the story of Japanese Internment Camps in the state. There are numerous published works to consult that are not included here.

By searching the subject terms "Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation," you will find more than 100 books, videos, manuscript collections, and government documents in the Library Catalog.

Getting Started Researching

Japanese American Internees on Trucks in ArkansasThe Libraries hold hundreds of records that relate to the internment of Japanese-Americans during World War II. By searching the subject terms "Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation" in the Library Catalog you will find more than 100 books, videos, manuscript collections, and government documents in the Library Catalog.

The Libraries also provide access to numerous databases that allow you to find a variety of primary and secondary sources covering nearly every aspect of the topic. Please consult the page "Databases and Indexes" in this guide to locate further resources.

Manuscripts in Special Collections

The Special Collections Department houses several collections of unique materials related to the internment of Japanese Americans in Arkansas during World War II. The collections include photographs, scrapbooks, official correspondence, publications produced by internees, diaries, and manuscripts detailing life and work at both Jerome and Rohwer internment camps. Listed here are collections most relevant to the study of the Rohwer Internment Camp in McGhee, Desha County, Arkansas.

Camp Newsletters and Other Publications

Materials from Other Repositories Available at the University Libraries

Some Relevant Government Documents

Select Web Sites

Here are few of the best websites and internet resources on the history of Japanese Internment.

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656