LARC5053 History of Land Preservation: Rohwer Cemetery

This guide will assist students conduct background research for the HALS study of the cemetery located at the site of the Rohwer Japanese Internment camp.

Special Collections at the University of Arkansas

Getting Started

Here is a general approach for finding and using the various materials available in Special Collections.

  1. Pick a topic -- Identify the people, historical topics, and institutions that you will be researching and the type of material you hope to consult.
  2. Search for resources -- Utilize the Library catalog, topic guides, and finding aids to identify which collections will be most suitable for your research purposes.
  3. Refine your research -- Begin to narrow your research by refining the materials you will need to access based on what will be the most useful with the time you have available.
  4. Request materials -- Decide on manuscript boxes and folders, books, theses and dissertations, maps, or other items you would like to request, keeping the policies and procedures of the Special Collections Reading Room.
  5. Obtain research copies -- Either photograph in person or request duplication of materials as needed, including copies and scans of maps and photographs.
  6. Cite your work -- Keep track of the manuscripts, images, ephemera, and published works you spend time with. Creating citation lists as you go along, either with software like Zotero or the hard way--writing them yourself--will help you organize your thoughts and save you time and frustration later.

What is a Finding Aid?

A finding aid describes the arrangement and contents of a manuscript collection. While many of the Special Collections find aids are available online, not all of them are. In addition to reference works and research guides, finding aids are available in print format in the Special Collections Reading room.

Manuscript collections can vary in size from one folder or box of correspondence to large collections consisting of hundreds of boxes containing letters, unpublished writings, official documents, video, audio, and photographic materials, and personal collections of books and other published materials. Knowing what sorts of things are in a collection and where to find them is essential to successful research.

Lists on the Special Collections website describe collections with complete finding aids, or descriptions, online.You can search the available finding aids and descriptions alphabetically or by subject.

Other Manuscript Collections

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656