Classical Studies

Resources for researching the culture and history of ancient Greece and Rome.

New Resource: Oxford Classical Dictionary Online

Oxford Classical Dictional masthead

The Libraries are pleased to announce the acquisition of the new, online only "5th edition" of the essential Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD).  A comprehensive reference source covering all aspects of the classical world, including Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity, the OCD will help you get started on any Classical Studies topic. 

 

Welcome

drinking cup signed by Douris, showing school scenes.

Drinking cup signed by Douris, showing school scenes—and an early laptop.  Early 5th century.  Berlin, Staatliche Museen; image courtesy of the Beazley Archive, Oxford University. .

Welcome to a research guide for classical studies.  Here you will find suggested resources and tips for methods and approaches. 

Need help along the way?  Ask a librarian

Online Journals

Always check the library catalog for the most up-to-date and complete holdings.

Title Database Years
American Journal of Archaeology JSTOR Arts & Sciences II  1897 - [4 years ago]
  JSTOR Early Journal Content 1897 - 1922
American Journal of Philology JSTOR Early Journal Content  1880-1922
  JSTOR Arts & Sciences II 1880 - [5 years ago]
  Project Muse - Premium Collection    1996 -
Annual of the British School at Athens JSTOR Arts & Sciences V    1894 - [4 years ago]
  ProQuest Central    2008 - [1 year ago]
Antiquity Academic Search Complete  2001 -
Arethusa Project Muse - Premium Collection    1996 -
Classical antiquity JSTOR Arts & Sciences V 1982 - [4 years ago]
California Studies in Classical Antiquity JSTOR Arts & Sciences V    1968 - 1979
Classical Journal JSTOR Early Journal Content    1905 - 1922
  JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII    1905 - [4 years ago]
  Art Source    1995 -
Classical Philology JSTOR Early Journal Content    1906 - 1922
  JSTOR Arts & Sciences II  1906 - [4 years ago]
  JSTOR Complete Chicago Package  2003 -
Classical Quarterly  JSTOR Arts & Sciences II  1907 - [5 years ago]
  Cambridge Journals Online    2001 -
Classical Review JSTOR Arts & Sciences II  1887 - [5 years ago]
  Cambridge Journals Online    1998 -
Classical World JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII    1957 - [5 years ago]
  Project Muse - Premium Collection  2005 -
Classical Weekly JSTOR Early Journal Content 1907 - 1922
  JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII    1907 - 1957
Glotta JSTOR Arts & Sciences VIII  1909 - [3 years ago]
  ProQuest Central 2004 -
Gnomon JSTOR Arts & Sciences V    1925 - 2009
Greece & Rome JSTOR Arts & Sciences II    1931 - [5 years ago]
  Cambridge Journals Online  2001 -
Greek, Roman and Byzantine Studies ProQuest Central 1995 - 2002; 2004 - 2005
  Publisher Website [open access] 2001 -
Harvard Studies in Classical Philology JSTOR Early Journal Content    1890 - 1922
  JSTOR Arts & Sciences II    1890 - [3 years ago]
Helios Project Muse - Premium Collection    2007 -
  Academic Search Complete  2005 -
Hermes JSTOR Early Journal Content    1866 - 1869
  JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII    1866 - [5 years ago]
Hesperia JSTOR Arts & Sciences II    1932 - [5 years ago]
  JSTOR Complete Current Scholarship Collection  2002 -
Historia  JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII    1950 - 2010
  ProQuest Central  2008 - [2 years ago]
International Journal of the Classical Tradition JSTOR Arts & Sciences VIII    1994 - [5 years ago]
  Academic Search Complete    1994 - [1 year ago]
Journal of Hellenic Studies JSTOR Arts & Sciences II    1880 - 2011
  Cambridge Journals Online    2007 -
Journal of Roman Studies  JSTOR Arts & Sciences II    1911 - [5 years ago]
  Cambridge Journals Online    2005 -
Materiali e discussioni per l'analisi dei testi classic JSTOR Arts & Sciences VIII    1978 - [5 years ago]
Memoirs of the American Academy in Rome JSTOR Arts & Sciences V    1915 - [5 years ago]
Mnemosyne JSTOR Early Journal Content 1852 - 1862
  JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII    1852 - [5 years ago]
  Academic Search Complete    1996 - [1 year ago]
Papers of the British School at Rome JSTOR Arts & Sciences VIII    1902 - [5 years ago]
  ProQuest Central    2008 - [1 year ago]
Phoenix  JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII  1946 - [5 years ago]
  ProQuest Central    2002 - [1 year ago]
Phronesis  JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII  1955 - [5 years ago]
  Academic Search Complete  1991 - [1 year ago]
Quaderni Urbinati di Cultura Classica  JSTOR Arts & Sciences V    1966 - [5 years ago]
Revue de philologie, de littérature et d'histoire anciennes ProQuest Central 1996 - 1997; 2001-2013
Rheinisches Museum für Philologie JSTOR Early Journal Content  1832 - 1869
  JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI    1832 - [5 years ago]
Symbolae Osloenses Academic Search Complete    2000 - [18 months ago]
Transactions of the American Philological Association JSTOR Arts & Sciences II 1975 - [5 years ago]
  Project Muse - Premium Collection 2000 -
Zeitschrift für Papyrologie und Epigraphik JSTOR Arts & Sciences V    1967 - [5 years ago]
University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656