Secondary and primary sources for women in present-day and historical Africa
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2013
Contact your librarians:
Cambridge History of Africa
Call Number: online and MAIN DT20 .C28
Publication Date: 1970-
A scholarly study by experts, from prehistory to 1975. Very useful for bibliographies of secondary and primary sources.
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara
Call Number: REF DT351 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Call Number: REF GN307 .E53 1991
Encyclopedia of African History
Call Number: REF DT20 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2005
African Folklore: An Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
Call Number: REF BL2462.5 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
Call Number: REF GT507 .E54 2010
Publication Date: 2010
10v. Volume 1 covers Africa.
International Encyclopedia of sexuality
Call Number: MAIN HQ21 .I68 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
Call Number: REF HQ 16 .E53 2003
Publication Date: 2004
2v. Organized by culture, such as Igbo, Samburu, etc.
- International Historical Statistics
3v. Most cover 1750 - 2000; volumes treat Africa and Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Ref HA4675 .M55 2003, HA1107 .M5 1998, and HA175 .M55 2003.
- Lexis Nexis Statistical Insight - Now ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides tables from and indexing for to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and state government agencies.
- Women of the World: Sub-Saharan Africa
GOVREF-CENSUS C 3.2:W 84/5
This series treats women in various regions of the world, offering statistics on health, education, income, and more.
- The World's Women: 2010
This is the fifth and latest in a series from the United Nations that covers "demographics, health, education, work, violence against women, poverty, human rights and decision-making."
- Population Council
Extensive collection of demographic reports; use their search engine to locate specific topics or regions.
- FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the U.N.
Reports and statistics on food and diet, crops and animal husbandry, farming organization, land tenure, and more.
- WHO: Women's Health
The World Health Organization's site for reports on women and public health. Leads to a separate site for the African region.