This is the "Finding Aquatic Biology Articles in Databases" page of the "Aquatic Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Aquatic Biology   Tags: aquatic ecology, ecology, water quality  

Supporting coursework & research in freshwater & saltwater ecological studies
Last Updated: Dec 22, 2011 URL: http://uark.libguides.com/ecobiology Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Aquatic Biology Articles in Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

The Best Databases for Aquatic Biology

Many of your assignments will require you  to find, read, and cite articles that really matter to the study of ecology . The databases that follow will help you accomplish just that.

  • ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts  Icon
    The most concentrated source of references to both freshwater & saltwater studies including aquatic animals, plants, microbes, and envirobnmental quality.
  • Biological Abstracts via Web of Knowledge  Icon
    Biological Abstracts is the oldest guide to the world's biological literature and is particularly good for the biology and ecology of fish and aquatic invertebrates, as well as the microbes, algae and plant life on which they depend. Once you get to the longer description of this database, click on the link entitled Biological Abstracts (Web of Knowledge) in the black bar at the top of the page.
  • Science Citation Index a Part of the Web of Science & Web of Knowledge  Icon
    This database covers several thousand of the world's most important journals in the major scientific research fields and in science-based professions. Particularly good for tracking down the complete citation to a reference about which you have only fragmented information. Once you get to the extended description of this database, click on Science Citation Index A Part of the Web of Science in the black box at the top of the page to get started.
  • Science Direct  Icon
    This is a searchable collection of articles, published in journals owned by Elsevier, the world's largest science publisher, including several of the very most important in areas of aquatic ecology. Those hits in your search that come up with boxes filled in green are available to you in full text.
  • BioOne  Icon
    BioOne is a searchable collection of full-text journals from important not-for-profit research societies in the life sciences. Many of these journals and their articles deal with aqautic ecology. You can start searching in the upper right hand search box right away without using a login & password.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    JSTOR is a searchable collection of full text articles 5 years old or older from some of the best not-for-profit scholarly journals, including hundreds in biological, aquatic, and ecological and evolutionary sciences.

Life Sciences Librarian & Science Coordinator

Profile Image
Tony Stankus
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
Mullins Library Room 223 E
e-mail is the very best way to contact me
Send Email
 
University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
Phone: 479-575-4104
Toll-free: 866-818-8115
Fax: 479-575-6656
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip