This is the "Home" page of the "Mobile Apps" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mobile Apps   Tags: techguide  

A guide to mobile research tools
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://uark.libguides.com/mobile Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Mobile Apps

Library Mobile Apps

On the go but need to know? Use your smart phone, iPad, or other mobile device  to find journal articles, save citations to your bibliography, and more. These library resources are only a thumb-click away (just please don't do research and drive).

Trouble connecting from your phone? Try our new VPN connection for library resources.

 

Icon Key

generic phone icon iPhone icon App for Android
works with most smart phones
app for iPhone and iPad
app for Android
 

Web of Science

Web of Knowledge Mobile

works with most smart phonesNew!The Web of Science platform citation databases has now become a mobile-optimized site. There is no longer a separate mobile version. 

To use Web of Science on your mobil device, you may find it easier to create a personal account .

 

 

 

 

  1. Go to http://webofknowledge.com from an on campus computer. 
  2. Click Sign In along the top navigation
  3. Click Register to create a new account You will be asked to enter your email address to verify that an account does not already exist for you.
  4. If an account does not already exist, you will be prompted to fill in the User Registration page.
  5. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
  6. You are required to log in to Web of Science  from an IP authenticated computer or device every six months to verify you are an authorized user.
 

New and Featured: ProQuest Mobile (Beta)

ProQuest Logoworks with most smart phones

ProQuest has recently introduced a new mobile interface for most of its research databases at the URL: http://0-m.search.proquest.com.library.uark.edu.

The default search includes all 17 ProQuest databases licensed by the UofA Libraries, but you can click the "databases" button to limit your search. 

Mobile access includes a link to login to your personal ProQuest research account, where you can save searches and articles form session to session or export results to RefWorks. 


More about ProQuest Mobile Beta

 

Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture

works with most smart phonesEncyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture LogoThe Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture has released a mobile version of their web site at http://m.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/


Here you can search and browse encyclopedia entries by time period, topic, ethnicity, gender, or keyword. 

The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture (EOA) is a project of the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies at the Central Arkansas Library System (CALS) in Little Rock, Arkansas. As of 2013, the site offers more than 3,200 entries and more than 4,200 pieces of media.

 

 

New and Featured: Chronicle of Higher Education Mobile

works with most smart phonesIPad App Chronicle of Higher Education Logo

The Libraries are pleased to announce that our institutional subscription to the Chronicle of Higher Education now includes mobile access for all current students, faculty, and staff.

First, create a personal account at Chronicle.com from an on-campus computer using your uark.edu email address. 

Thereafter, you can access the Chronicle on your mobile device in several ways:

  1. From youriPad -- Download The Chronicle’s iPad editions at no cost to you.
  2. From your smart phone or tablet using the device’s Web browser, log in with the account you created using your uark.edu email address.
  3. From any computer, from any location in the world -- Direct access to Chronicle.com from any remote location without having to go through the Lilbraries' proxy server.  Just log in with the account you created using your uark.edu email address.

Already have a personal account?  If you forgot your credentials visit http://chronicle.com/myaccount/login/forgotpassword/. for help.

 

 

New and Featured: Lexis Nexis Academic

works with most smartphonesLexis Nexis Academic Logo

 

Lexis Nexis Academic has a simplified search interface optimized for mobile devices. Just point your web browser to

http://0-www.lexisnexis.com.library.uark.edu/hottopics/lnacademic/mobile/

Search results are displayed on the full Lexis Nexis site; results can be emailed for easier reading on your mobile device. 

 

New and Featured: Mango Mobile

Mango Mobile LogoAndoird appiPhone appMango Language Learning now offers mobile apps so that you can take your tutorials with you anywhere. Mango offers step-by-step web tutorials for dozens of different languages as well as courses on learning English for for speakers of Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Greek, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Turkish, and Vietnamese. Lessons cover vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, and culture in real-world situations; Mango makes learning fun. 

Mango has released custom apps for both iPhone / iPad and Android.  To download these:

  1. Visit Mango from your computer. 
  2. Create a personal account to track your progress.
  3. Once you have created your personal account, visit the Mango mobile page from your  phone to download the app.

More information can be found on the Mango mobile site

Web Services Librarian

Profile Image
Beth Juhl
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
216C Mullins Library
479-575-4665
bjuhl@uark.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Classics
Favorite Books:
 
University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
Phone: 479-575-4104
Toll-free: 866-818-8115
Fax: 479-575-6656
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip