Mobile Apps

A guide to mobile research tools

Icon Key

generic phone icon iPhone icon App for Android
works with most smart phones
app for iPhone and iPad
app for Android

ACM Digital Library

ACM Digital Library Logo

Android IconIphone IconThe ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library now makes an app available for Google Play and iOS (iPhone only).  The app allows you to read journal articles and conference papers on all aspects of computing and networked systems. 

To access the ACM Digital Library form your mobile device:

  1. Navigate to the full ACM Digital Library website.
  2. Create a personal account on the ACM website
  3. Install the ACM DL app onto your device: Google Play or iOS .
  4. Sign in to the ACM DL app with your ACM Web Account.

ACS Mobile

ACS Logoapp for iPhoneapp for Android

The ACS (American Chemical Society) has updated their app for  iOS and Android. And it's now free.  This app allows you to search, read, and save articles from almost 40 ACS research journals. Some of the new features include:

 

 

  • Automatic saving of abstracts for offline reading
  • A "Latest News" feed from Chemical & Engineering News Online
  • Interface to full-text article access (via UofA wireless or Library Virtual Private Networks)
  • Caching of full-text article PDFs for 48 hours to read offline
  • Sharing of links and snippets via e-mail, Facebook, Twitter and other options

To access our subscribed content, you will need to be connected to the campus wireless network or the  library VPN

Download ACS Mobile at the Apple iTunes Store or Google Play.

More about ACS Mobile

AIP iResearch app

AIP iResearch Logoapp for iPhoneThe American Institute of Physics (AIP) offers the iResearch app, an offline reader that enables users to save PDF files locally to their device and view them offline without a Wifi or cellular connection.

To use the iResearch app:

  1. While using a campus computer, create a personal AIP account by clicking the Register link on morst pages at http://scitation.aip.org.
  2. Download the app from the iTunes store.
  3. Browse by journal title to find articles you wish to save.
  4. If you are connected to the campus wireless or library VPN, you will be able to see the full article PDF.  Or, you may log in with your personal username and password.
  5. When viewing a PDF you wish to save to read offline, click the "Save Locally' link. 

AIP has also create an app to track the progress of articles under review, iPeerReview

AMS Mobile

works with most smart phonesAMS Logo

The American Mathematical Society (AMS) now offers device pairing for easy mobile access to content. Mobile pairing allows you to associate your tablet or phone with the UofA subscribed content so that you can access AMS publications even when not connected to the UofA network.  

To pair your devixce, visit the AMS site from your mobile device while it is connected to the campus via the UofA Wireless network or via library VPN

Click on the "Mobile Access" icon and follow the prompts.

More about AMS mobile

 

 

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews Mobileworks with most smartphonesThe Annual Reviews Mobile website provides access to articles from four dozen research reviews. After an authentication process, you will be able to read articles from the Libraries' subscribed titles.

To access full-text articles from journals that have been licensed by the UofA, simply visit http://www.annualreviews.org from your mobile device while connected to the UA wireless networks.  Your mobile device will be automatically paired with the UofA's subscriptions. The pairing will then enable you to access content while offsite for six months.  To renew your access, visit the Annual review web site again from the UA wireless network.

More about Annual Reviews mobile access.

APS Mobile

works with most smart phonesAPS LogoThe  American Physical Society (APS) has released a version of their journals optimized for mobile devices

When accssing APS journals from your mobile device, look for the "Go Mobile" button to change views. You can only access APS content while connected to the UofA Wireless network or via library VPN.  

View a list of APS titles that the Libraries subscribe to.

ArticleSearch

ArticleSearch Logoapp for iPhoneArticleSearch is a free iOS app that offers a search interface to results in Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search.  With the free version of the app, you can choose one additional article search engine, such as JSTOR, to add to your search results.  Additional search engines can be added by purchasing up to 3, up to 7 or unllimited versions of ArticleSearch. 

Numbers of results returned from each search engine are displayed within the app; once you choose a particular results set that you wish to access, you will be taken out of the app and into the native web site such as Google Scholar or JSTOR. 

We think it is really fun to shake our phone to clear search results and start over.  But we are easily amused. 

Want access to the full text of articles you discover through ArticleSearch?  There are a number of ways to make sure your mobile device have access:

  • Connect to the campus wireless network or library VPN.
  • For Google Scholar results:
    1.  Navigate to the Scholar Preferences gear icon in the top right corner of the page. 
    2. Under Library Links, search for University of Arkansas, Fayetteville - Find it! at UofA and select that option. 
    3. This will allow Find it! links to display in your Google Scholar search results. 

  •   For JSTOR results:New!
    1.  Use the Login button in the upper right corner
    2. Choose Login via Institution and University of Arkansas. 
    3. You can also create a personal JSTOR account from a campus computer that will allow you to login on your mobile device, no matter what network you are using. 

More about ArticleSearch

arXiv.org Mobile

arXive Logo

app for iPhoneapp for AndroidarXiv, the collection of preprints and shared research in physics, mathematics, computer science, and related fields, has several apps that allow you to check the latest papers from your phone.

The arXiv mobile app, developed by mathematician Greg Landweber, is free on iTunes and at the Android Market.  Supported versions are also available for a small fee. 

ASCE Mobile

ASCE Mobile works with most smart phonesJounals and conference proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)  are now available in a format  optimized for mobile devices. 

The ASCE site will automatically detect your mobile device and redirect you to the new interface.

You must be connected to the UofA Wireless network or via library VPN to access subscribed content.

View a list of ASCE journals and conference proceedings that the Libraries subscribe to.

 

 

BioMed Central Mobile

works with most smart phonesBioMed central  Logo

BioMed Central (BMC), an STM (Science, Technology, and Medicine) publisher of 254 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals, now supports access from mobile devices, such as smartphones and tablets.

When accssing BMC journals from your mobile device, you will be redirected to a streamlined mobile-friendly version. You can also save articles for  reading offline. 

More about BMC Mobile.  

 

BioOne Mobile

BioOne Logo

works with most smart phonesThe BioOne library of life sciences ejournals has developed a mobile interface, which can be accessed at http://www.bioone.org/.

When a user with a supported device directs their browser to bioone.org they will be served the mobile site. All unsupported devices and tablets are shown the full site—only supported devices will be able to access the mobile site.

To access our subscribed content, you will want to pair your mobile device.  To do so:

 

  1. From a campus computer, visit https://www.bioone.org/pairdevice
  2. If you have an existing MyBioOne account, enter your email address and password. If you are a new user, get started by creating an account.
  3. Click "Obtain Pairing Code" and make a note of the case-insensitive pairing code that displays, which is valid for 5 minutes.
  4. Visit the site on your mobile device, tap the Settings icon, and select the Device Pairing option.
  5. Enter the pairing code and tap Verify Code.

You can get more info from the BioOne Pairing Guide (PDF). 

Chronicle of Higher Education Mobile

works with most smart phonesIPad App Chronicle of Higher Education Logo

The Libraries are pleased to announce that our institutional subscription to the Chronicle of Higher Education now includes mobile access for all current students, faculty, and staff.

First, create a personal account at Chronicle.com from an on-campus computer using your uark.edu email address. 

Thereafter, you can access the Chronicle on your mobile device in several ways:

  1. From youriPad -- Download The Chronicle’s iPad editions at no cost to you.
  2. From your smart phone or tablet using the device’s Web browser, log in with the account you created using your uark.edu email address.
  3. From any computer, from any location in the world -- Direct access to Chronicle.com from any remote location without having to go through the Lilbraries' proxy server.  Just log in with the account you created using your uark.edu email address.

Already have a personal account?  If you forgot your credentials visit http://chronicle.com/myaccount/login/forgotpassword/. for help.

 

Ebsco Databases

works on most smartphonesThe EbEbsco Logosco interface now automatically detects mobile devices and offers an interface optimized for smaller screens.  Ebsco databases you can find articles on general topics (Ebsco Academic Search) or on specific subjects such as agriculture (AGRICOLA and CAB Abstracts), business (Ebsco Business Source Complete), education (ERIC), history, (Historical Abstracts), literature (MLA International), nursing (CINAHL), and psychology (PsycINFO).

iPhone appAndoird appEbsco has also released custom apps for both iPhone / iPad and Android.  To download these:

  1. Visit any Ebsco database from your computer. 
  2. At the bottom of the screen, click the link to Ebscohost iPhone and Android Applications.
  3. You will be prompted to enter your UARK email address. 
  4. Access the email instructions from ephost@epnet.com on your phone.  
  5. Choose the app you would like to install. 
  6. Return to the email and tap the authentication key which will authorize your device to access the UofA Ebsco databases.
    Be sure to click the authentication key within 24 hours of receiving the email;otherwise, you will have to download a new key by requesting a second email. 
  7. The authentication will expire after 7 months and you will need to go through the email process again. 

More information can be found on the Ebsco support site

Emerald Library

Emerald Logoworls with most smart phonesThe Emerald Library of management journals now offers a mobile site at http://www.emeraldinsight.com/mobile/

To access subscribed journals on that site, you must be using the UA wireless network, be logged in though our proxy server, or the library VPN

app for iPhoneEmerald also has an app for iOS devices, which must be accessed through the library VPN.  

Gale Databases

Gale Access My Library

 

app for iPhoneapp for AndroidThe Gale Access My Library app allows you to search popular databases such as Literature Resource Center and Gale Virtual Reference Library from an iPhone, iPad, or Android device. 

 

To use the Access My Library app:

  1. Download the free app from iTunes store or Google Play.
  2. Choose Arkansas and find  University of Arkansas Libraries in the navigation menu.
  3. Enter your uark.edu email address to have an access password emailed to you.
  4. Enter the access password and then choose Access Library.
  5. Choose Gale Databases  to see a list of available databases, including Literature Criticism Online, Business Insights: Essentials, and more.
  6. Choose Gale eBooks to see a list of electronic references works, including hundreds of works on authors and literature.

Google Scholar

Google Logo

works with most smartphonesThere is not a dedicated app for Google Scholar.  When accessed with a mobile device, the site does optimize for mobile. While you can use the general Google mobile app to locate some scholarly materials, there is no way to limit your search results to Google Scholar.

The ArticlesSearch app for iOS searches Google Scholar and displays the number of search results; you can then navigate out of ArticleSearch and into the full GoogleScholar site. 

Some additional third-party research organizer apps, such as Papers ($9.99) or Mendeley include search options for Google Scholar.  But these lack an easy way for you to authenticate as a member of of UofA community for remote access to subscribed content.

Maybe you have found a better app and can recommend it to us?  In the meantime, you can access the full Google Scholar site from your phone's browser.  Be sure to use our proxied link to view Find it! links and full text:

http://0-scholar.google.com.library.uark.edu

Highwire Mobile

Highwire Logoworks with most smartphonesHighwire Press hosts hundreds of journals from many different publishers, including PNAS, Science,  Sage and Oxford titles, the Journal of Biological Chemistry, Pediatrics, and more.

 More than 70 journals on Highwire are completely free to read while many others offer free access to journals after a year or two. 


Highwire journals are optimized for mobile; when you visit a Highwire title with your mobile device, you will be redirected to the mobile version of the page. While some content is free to all, ou will need to be connected to the campus wireless network or the library VPN to view our subscribed content.

IEEE Xplore

works with most phones

IEEE Xplore logoIEEE Xplore Mobile provides a free search of all IEEE Xplore documents directly on your mobile device. You can view up to 10 article abstracts per search.

If you authenticate through the proxy server, or if you use the UA wireless network or library VPN  to connect to IEEE Xplore, you will be able to read PDFs on your phone. Otherwise, you can send the article links to your e-mail address to be read on a computer on the campus network.

IOP Science Express

app for iPhoneIOP MobileThe Institute of Physics' IOP Science Express app allows you to view and download the latest papers to appear in IOP-owned journals. The app offers up to 20 free downloads each month.  You can also search for articles published by IOP over the last two years, and email information about selected articles to yourself or a colleague; links allow you to access the full text of an article from your computer on the UofA network.

To access our subscribed content, you will need to be connected to the campus wireless network or the  library VPN

Download IOP Science Express  at the Apple iTunes Store.

IOP also offers the free Physics World Newsflash app for iOS.  This app allows you to read and share the latest news stories from the Physics World site.  There is also an app to read the full Physics World, but it requires an individual membership to the IOP.

Find out more about IOP Mobile:

JSTOR Mobile

JSTOR Logoworlks with most smartphonesJSTOR has released an updated interface that automatically formats content optimized for mobile devices. 

To access library content from your mobile device, you have sevreal options:

  • authenticate with your UARK username and password by using / bookmarking our proxied link
  • set up an individual JSTOR account from a computer signed into the campus network.
  • choose "Get Access" from the top menu bar and then "Login via Institution." 
    • Look for University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.
    • You will be prompted for your UARK username and password. 

More about JSTOR... 

Lexis Nexis Academic

works with most smartphonesLexis Nexis Academic Logo

 

Lexis Nexis Academic has a simplified search interface optimized for mobile devices. Just point your web browser to

http://0-www.lexisnexis.com.library.uark.edu/hottopics/lnacademic/mobile/

Search results are displayed on the full Lexis Nexis site; results can be emailed for easier reading on your mobile device. 

Liebert for Mobile

works with most smart phonesMary Ann Liebert Logo

Mary Ann Liebert journals, including Astrobiology and Tissue Engineering, now available in a format  optimized for mobile devices

For easy access to subscribed content, you can pair your mobile device to the site by creating an account on the full Mary Ann Liebert web site from a campus computer and obtaining a pairing code. 

 

 

Nature Mobile

Nature Logoworks on most smart phones

Update: The Nature family of journals now offers mobile-optimized versions of all their sites. Your mobile device should be automatically redirected to mobile versions of journal sites.  You can access subscribed content by:

 

app for iPhoneThe Nature family of journals also offers an updated iOS app that allows researchers to access the latest articles and news stories from Nature, Nature News, and Nature Communications. You can browse abstracts from other Nature journals by adding them under the "Subscriptions" icon. 

The Nature app allows anyone to see news and opinion articles; all other articles will only offer an abstract in the app itself. You can access subscribed content by navigating to the full site, http://nature.com, while  logged logged in to the UA wireless network or the library VPN.

Within the app, you can save articles for later reading; these articles will also be available under the "Saved" tab when you log into your account on the full Nature.com web site. 

To use the Nature Mobile app, faculty and students will first want to register for a personal Nature account while on campus. Once your personal account has been created, you can use those credentials to log into the Nature iPhone app.

More information about the Nature Mobile App.

NRC Research Press

NRC Logo Mobile

works with most smart phonesThe National Research Council of Canada publisher, NRC Research Press, now offers the RP Mobile platform for viewing and searching journal content.  The Libraries subscribe to or receive about a dozen journals from NR, including titles such as Botany and the Canadian Journal of Forest Science.  

 

 

To make full use the mobile platform, you should pair your mobile device with the site.

  1. Go to http://nrcresearchpress.com from an on-campus computer.
  2. Click Register  along the top navigation bar and create a user account.
  3. Navigate to https://www.nrcresearchpress.com/action/mobileDevicePairingLogin
  4. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active and enter your username and password for the account you just created.
  5. You will receive a mobile pairing code, which you can input when you visit the site from your mobile device.
  6. Pairing lasts for 30 days, after which you must request a new pairing code.

More about RP Mobile

ProQuest Mobile (Beta)

ProQuest Logoworks with most smart phones

ProQuest has recently introduced a new mobile interface for most of its research databases at the URL: http://0-m.search.proquest.com.library.uark.edu.

The default search includes all 17 ProQuest databases licensed by the UofA Libraries but you can click the "databases" button to limit your search. 

Mobile access includes a link to login to your personal ProQuest research account, where you can save searches and articles form session to session or export results to RefWorks. 


More about ProQuest Mobile Beta

PubMed Mobile

PubMed Handhelds Logo

works with most smart phonesPubMed Mobile offers a simplified interface to the National Library of Medicine database of millions of article citations and abstracts from thousands of biomedical journals.

PubMed Handheld allows you to search PubMed as well as askMEDLINE, a consumer health reference source, and the PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) database.

app for iPhoneapp for AndroidThere is also a third-party app, PubMed on Tap, available for purchase at the iTunes store as well as a free Android app, PubMed Mobile, at the Android market. 

You can browse the full suite of mobile sites from the National Library of Medicine at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mobile/.

PubReader

PubMed central Logo

works with most smart phonesPubReader is a new service from PubMed Central / National Library of Medicine that simplifies article reading for tablets and other handheld devices. 

The simplified PubReader view is available for any article that is available in full-text HTML form in PubMed Central (PMC).  PubReader is not available for older articles that are only in PDF format. 

PubReader works in most browsers.  Just click the PubReader link from the article citation view or the formats view.

PubReader link example PubReader link example

 

 

 

 

 

Sage Mobile

Sage Logo

works with most smart phonesSage journals are now available via an interface optimized for mobile.  When mobile users access a subscribed Sage journal from the UofA campus network or through the library's proxy server, they are automatically redirected to the mobile site. 

Users can request a mobile voucher to authenticate their device for future visits.

SciFinder Mobile

SciFinder Logo

works with most smart phonesSciFinder, the research interface for articles and patents on chemistry, biochemistry, and related fields, offers a mobile interface that keeps you up-to-date on the latest research, from any location.

With SciFinder Mobile you can perform many of the same functions you use in the full web version:

  • Explore by Research Topic
  • Explore by Substance ID
  • Explore by Author Name
  • Explore by Company Name
  • Review Keep Me Posted Alerts
  • Review Saved Answers

To use SciFinder mobile, you will first need to register for a personal SciFinder account using your uark.edu email address.  More about Scifinder registration.

After creating your SciFinder account, use your mobile device to navigate to http://scifinder.cas.org/mobile and log in with your personal account. 

SciFinder Mobile does not provide links to full text articles. 

Science Mobile

Science Mobile Logo

The Android IconIphone IconScience Mobile app for iPhone and Android allows you to read summaries and abstracts from Science, Science Signaling, and Science Translational Medicine; read career advice from Science Careers while searching for and applying to jobs; listen to Science Podcasts; and read the latest news and blogs from ScienceNOW.

From the app, you can email links to research articles in order to access the full text. Remember to proxify any URLs so that they will work for you from off-campus.

Science Direct Mobile

Science Direct logoworks on most phones and tabletsScience Direct journals published by Reed Elsevier are now available optimized for mobile devices wthout the use of a specialized app. 

To use the new mobile interface, just point your device's web browser to the main Science Direct page or choose a journal or book link from our catalog

Once authenticated, you will be able to search across the entire Science Direct collection and to access subscribed content from your mobile device.  You can also save articles from subscribed journals to your device for offline reading. 

ScienceDirect Mobile Screen

SpringerLink Mobile

app for iPhoneSpringer LogoSpringer has launched the SpringerLink mobile app for iOS.  

In addition to providing access to journals and book series subscribed to by the University Libraries, this app offers save and share functions, personalized notifications, and advanced searching.  When viewing a citation to subscribed or free content, users have the option to view the HTML or PDF version of the article in the Safari browser. 

To access our subscribed content, you will need to be connected to the campus wireless network or the  library VPN

Taylor and Francis Mobile

Taylor and Francis LogoThe works with most smartphonesTaylor and Fancis website is optimized for mobile devices.  The UofA Libraries subscribe to more than 200 Taylor and Francis journals. 

You can authenticate your device for use with Taylor and Francis journals by means of a voucher:

 

 

  1. Visit https://www.tandfonline.com/action/mobileDevicePairingLogin from a campus computer.
  2. If you have a T&F account, login.  If you are a new user, you will need to register for an account.
  3. Click Obtain passcode and make a note of the case-insensitive pairing code that displays, which is valid for 5 minutes.
  4. Visit the site on your mobile device, tap the Settings icon, and select the Device Pairing option.
  5. Enter the pairing code and tap Verify Code.

View more mobile help at the Taylor and Francis site

Web of Science

Web of Knowledge Mobile

 

works with most smart phonesThe Web of Science platform citation databases has now become a mobile-optimized site. There is no longer a separate mobile version. 

To use Web of Science on your mobil device, you may find it easier to create a personal account .

 
  1. Go to http://webofknowledge.com from an on campus computer. 
  2. Click Sign In along the top navigation
  3. Click Register to create a new account You will be asked to enter your email address to verify that an account does not already exist for you.
  4. If an account does not already exist, you will be prompted to fill in the User Registration page.
  5. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
  6. You are required to log in to Web of Science  from an IP authenticated computer or device every six months to verify you are an authorized user.

 

The RefScan iOS app from Thomson Reuters lets you scan a DOI (digital object identifier) with your phone to look up the full citation in Web of Science.  From there, you can add the citation to your EndNote account with a few easy clicks.  More about RefScan.

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656