Mobile Apps

A guide to mobile research tools

The Best Mobile Research App?

Ask a Librarian

But what's the best mobile research app of all?

It's your librarians, of course! Remember that you can call us, email us, or text us for research help:

  • local: 479-575-6645
  • toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • email: refer@uark.edu
  • text: 479-385-0803

After hours? Librarians are available to help you through our chat service, 24/7.

Icon Key

generic phone icon iPhone icon App for Android
works with most smart phones
app for iPhone and iPad
app for Android

ARTstor Mobile

ARtstor Mobile logoworks on most mobile device browsersapp for AndroidARTstor has recently released an app for Android, in addition to their mobile site.

All 1,000,000+ images from the ARTstor Digital Library are now accessible to registered ARTstor users on their mobile devices. These mobile versions provide read-only features such as searching, browsing, zooming, and viewing saved image groups.

The grooviest feature? ARTstor Flashcard View allows you to test your knowledge by viewing the image without textual information, and then flipping the image to reveal the image record (see example below).  Great way to study for that art lecture exam. 

To access any of these mobile versions, you will first need to create an account at the full ARTstor site from any computer connected to the campus network.

Thereafter, you can navigate to the mobile site at http://mobile.artstor.org or use the Android app and log in with your ARTstor login and password.

More about ARTstor Mobile

Use ARTstor mobile to study for art exams

Crystal Bridges Museum

Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art Logoapp for iPhone

The Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art has recently release a mobile app for iOS that provides high-resolution images of selected works from the collection, gallery audio tours, and general museum information. The app can be downloaded for free at the iTunes store.

works with most smart phonesYou can also search the Crystal Bridges Museum Library through the UofA's mobile catalog site

Alexander Street Music and Video

VAST Aacademic Video llogoworks with most phonesThis Fall, you can access thousands of video collections from Alexander Street's VAST: Academic Video Online collection. This multidiciplinary collections covers topics such as Architecture, Art, Business, Counseling and therapy, Dance, Economics, Education, Ethnic studies, Ethnography, Health, History, Humanities, Law and public safety, LGBT studies, Literature, Opera, Philosophy, Political science, Psychology, Religion, Science, Theatre, and Women’s studies. Video types include newsreels, field recordings, demonstrations of specific techniques, archival footage, interviews, and documentaries.

VAST Academic Video Online is part of a suite of resources from Alexander Street Press and is cross searchable with streaming music databases such as Classical Music Library and American Song Online.

 

Classical Music Library LogoOne of the coolest features of Alexander Street's music and video interface is that you can send music tracks or videos to your phone for later listening or viewing. 

When viewing an album, track, or video that you wish to access via your Send to Mobile buttonmobile device, look for the send to mobile icon . Click the icon and you will have the option of sending a text message to you phone with a link to the track; capturing a short link to enter directly into your browser, or scanning a QR code to access the track.

Alexander Street Semd to Mobile options

 

New to QR codes? Many smart phones have the ability to scan a QR (Quick Response) codes; a special type of barcode embedded in a print or online publication. Scan the QR code with your phone, and you will be redirected to the track or album online.

JoVE Mobile Options

JoVE logoapp for iPhoneapp for Androidworks with all mobile devices

JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal.

 

The Libraries currently subscribe to JoVE Biology.

JoVE has released a mobile site, as well as apps for Android and iOS. To use any of these services, you will first need to create a personal account on JoVE from a computer connected to the campus network.  After that, you can use your personal login to access JoVE from anywhere. 

Naxos Jazz

Naxos logoapp for iPhoneThe NML (Naxos Music Library) Jazz App lets you access more than 100,000 jazz tracks.  NML is available as an iOS app from the iTunes store. 

The Naxos Jazz app will allow you to listen to playlists already created on the Naxos web site. You can create personal playlists or listen to those your instructor has created for your class.

To use the NML Jazz app:

  1. Visit  the full Naxos Music Library site at http://0-uarkfayetteville.naxosmusiclibrary.com.library.uark.edu/jazz
     
  2. Navigate to the Playlists tab and sign up for a Student/Member Playlist Account. You will receive a confirmation e-mail to the e-mail address you used to sign up. Click the link in the e-mail to confirm your account.
     
  3. The login you created for your Student/Member Playlist Account will be your login for the app as well.
     
  4. Any playlist in your personal folder or the general UofA institution folder  will be available, in addition to Naxos-created playlists. You can also browse and stream the full NMLJazz site--from New Releases and Recent Additions to any old recording from any label--anytime, anywhere.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos logoapp for iPhoneapp for AndroidThe NML (Naxos Music Library) App lets you access more than 40,000 CDs (more than 580,000 tracks) of all kinds of music, including classical, jazz, blues, world, folk, and even spoken word. NML is available as an iOS app from the iTunes store or as an Android app from the Android Marketplace.  

The Naxos app will allow you to listen to playlists already created on the Naxos web site. You can create personal playlists or listen to those your instructor has created for your class.

To use the NML app:

  1. Visit  the full Naxos Music Library site at http://0-uarkfayetteville.naxosmusiclibrary.com.library.uark.edu/

  2. Navigate to the Playlists tab and sign up for a Student/Member Playlist Account. You will receive a confirmation e-mail to the e-mail address you used to sign up. Click the link in the e-mail to confirm your account.

  3. The login you created for your Student/Member Playlist Account will be your login for the app as well.

  4. Any playlist in your personal folder or the general UofA institution folder  will be available, in addition to Naxos-created playlists. You can also browse and stream the full NML--from New Releases and Recent Additions to any old recording from any label--anytime, anywhere.

For more info on using Naxos Muisc Library, check our Naxos User Guide and Naxos Faculty Guide.

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656