Mobile Apps

A guide to mobile research tools

The Best Mobile Research App?

Ask a Librarian

But what's the best mobile research app of all?

It's your librarians, of course! Remember that you can call us, email us, or text us for research help:

  • local: 479-575-6645
  • toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • email: refer@uark.edu
  • text: 479-385-0803

After hours? Librarians are available to help you through our chat service, 24/7.

Icon Key

generic phone icon iPhone icon App for Android
works with most smart phones
app for iPhone and iPad
app for Android

Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture

works with most smart phonesEncyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture LogoThe Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture has released a mobile version of their web site at  http://m.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/


Here you can search and browse encyclopedia entries by time period, topic, ethnicity, gender, or keyword. 

The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture (EOA) is a project of the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies at the Central Arkansas Library System (CALS) in Little Rock, Arkansas. As of 2013, the site offers more than 3,200 entries and more than 4,200 pieces of media.

 

Britannica Mobile

Britannica Logo

optiimized for iPhoneBritannica Mobile allows  you to search and browse a subset of Encyclopaedia Britannica content from your phone.  The site at http://m.eb.com is open to all and does not require authentication.  While optimized for iPhone, the site seems to work well with most phones. 

My Knovel to Go

app for iPhoneapp for Android

My Knovel To GoKnovel, the collection of engineering and technical handbooks and manuals, has released an app for Android and iOS (iPads only).  My Knovel to Go allows you to save documents from the  Knovel database to be read at a later time on your tablet.

 

How it works:

  1. First, access the Libraries' subscription to Knovel
  2. Create a personal account on Knovel by clicking the My Knovel link. 
  3. Once you are logged into your My Knovel account, search for content. Save any items you might wish to read later to your My Knovel To Go link on the left menu. 
  4. Download the free app for Android or iOS
  5. Log into the app with your My Knovel credentials, and access the content you previously saved. 

Wikipedia Mobile

Wikipedia Logoworks with most smart phonesYes, even librarians use Wikipedia—judiciously. For quick facts, dates, and bibliographies it can be very useful.  The mobile version of the English-language site can be found at http://en.m.wikipedia.org/

app for iPhoneapp for Android

Wikipedia is also available as a free app at the iTunes store and on the Android Market. 

 

 

Wolfram|Alpha Mobile

Wolfram|Alpha Logo

worls with most smart phonesWolfram|Alpha isn't exactly an encyclopedia, and it isn't exactly a search engine.  The brainchild of Stephen Wolfram, this utilty allows you to compute answers from information gleaned from the web.  It is especially useful for measures and conversions, mathematics and computing, and numeric sequences such as population, stock prices, or exchange rates over time.  

Wolfram|Alpha is free and you can find the mobile site at http://m.wolframalpha.com/.  Definitely bookmark-worthy! 

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656