RefWorks

This guide will present RefWorks to help with managing your sources as you research.

The New RefWorks

Some of you may be seeing the following choice when you go to export references into your RefWorks account

Choice of Legacy Refworks or new RefWorks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A beta version of the new RefWorks is now available! The product is still evolving and new features are being added, so we are sticking with the legacy version for a bit longer.  If you decide to try it out, here are a few VERY IMPORTANT THINGS to remember:

  • You can keep your legacy RefWorks account along with an account in the new RefWorks while you test it out.
  • If you start a MS Word document using the legacy RefWorks and Write-N-Cite, you won't be able to finish it in the new version.  So make sure to finish all documents before you commit to the new version.
  • If you transfer your records from the legacy RefWorks into the new RefWorks, this cannot be reversed.  So be certain that you want to do this, and that you are not currently working on any Word documents in the legacy RefWorks.
  • New RefWorks has an add-in for MS Word 2016 that will replace Write-N-Cite.  It works with some versions of Office 2013, Office 2016, and later.  The Write-N-Cite for Mac users is not yet available.

If, after reading the above VERY IMPORTANT THINGS, you decide that you would like to switchover to the new RefWorks, you can find import instructions below for moving your references and folders from the legacy RefWorks to the new RefWorks.  Remember, this step cannot be reversed.

Login to legacy RefWorks

Login to New Refworks

About this Guide

refworks logo

 

This guide provides the resources to help build your own citation database using RefWorks.

  • After creating your personal RefWorks account, you may access it directly when on campus.
  • Off campus? you may be asked for the Group Code
    You can login with your UARK username and password on this page to see the group code. 
    After inputting the group code, simply login with your personalogin and password.

Refworks Help and Handouts

RefWorks Youtube channel -Legacy RefWorks  

   Provides over 40 helpful videos on using RefWorks.  Includes the basics as well as more advanced features.

RefWorks Quick Start Guide

    A pdf useful for getting started with RefWorks.

New RefWorks Youtube channel

   Provides many useful videos on using the New RefWorks.

 

RefWorks also holds training webinars which are available to all users.  Feel free to sign up for one on your own here.

Connect to RefWorks

 

Find RefWorks in our list of databases, by title.  Or by using the Databases tab:

 

University libraries home page on databases tab

 

Importing from legacy RefWorks into new RefWorks

To create a new RefWorks account:

  1. Go to http://refworks.proquest.com and click the “Create Account” link.
  2. Fill in your information making sure to use your institutional email address (you can’t sign up with @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, etc.).  Using your institutional email address will help us know whether you are entitled to an institutional account (with all the benefits mentioned above!).

Once you activate your account (you'll receive an email with a link to complete the registration process), you’ll get access immediately and can get started managing your documents.

You can bring your RefWorks data into the New RefWorks from within your New RefWorks account via Import references.

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656