RefWorks

This guide will present RefWorks to help with managing your sources as you research.

Comparing Citation Managers

Feature RefWorks icon RefWorks Endnote Web icon EndNote Basic* Zotero icon Zotero
Cost Paid by UA Libraries Paid by UA Libraries Free to all; extra storage paid by you
Platform         web-based; Mac or PC          web-based; Mac or PC   Browser plugin installed locally; works with Mac or PC and Firefox, Chrome, or Safari browsers 
Word Processor Integration Write-N-Cite
(Microsoft Word)
Cite While You Write
(Microsoft Word)
Word Processor Plugins
(Microsoft Word and Open Office/Libre Office)
What gets installed Just Write-N-Cite and RefGrab-It plugin Just Cite While you Write Program is installed as an add-on or standalone; must be installed on each device that you use
Database Export Instructions http://libraries.uark.edu/eresources/refworks.asp#import  http://libraries.uark.edu/eresources/endnote.asp#import n/a
External Databases Supporting Direct Export/Import RefWorks Direct Export Databases EndNote Databases Zotero Translators
Web-Browser Plug-in to Capture Information from Web pages RefGrab-It EndNote Web Capture Add an item icon
Boolean Searching AND; OR; NOT + for AND
() for grouping terms with OR
- for NOT
"" for grouping words in a phrase
AND is assumed; Use Advanced Search for more options
Collaboration Features RefWorks account: Multi-user access, Simultaneous editing of an account, Offers read-only access of the same data.
RefShare: Share their database (or folders) with members of their own institution and globally with any researcher having Internet access.
Collaborate with other EndNote Web users; read-only Share entire library or specific collection with other Zotero users by creating Groups.  
Maximum Records Unllimited 10,000 Unlimited
Citation Style Formats 3000+ predefined; customizable via Output Style Editor 3,700+ predefined; no customizable styles 2800+ predefined; users can create custom styles
Predefined Resource Types (Book, Journal, etc.) 31 45 41
Customizable Fields (Author, Title, Notes, etc.) 15 8 (under Generic reference type) Unlimited notes
Taking Notes    use 15 user-defined fields    use "Research Notes" field Unlimited notes
Attachments / Storage Unlimited; maximum size of any individual attachment is 20 MB.  Default user storage is 250 MB but that can be raised to 1GB on request 2GB Unlimited.  Up to 300MB storage is free additional storage can be paid for starting at $20 per year for up to 2GB
Generate citations from PDFs?    No No Yes
Generate citations from ISBNs or DOIs?    No    No Yes
Record Size Limit Notes and Abstract fields limited to 1 gigabyte All fields can contain 64KB Unlimited
Duplicate Management Exact record detection; Similar record detection; Deletion functionality Exact record detection; Deletion functionality

Title, DOI, and ISBN fieldsare compared; can delete or merge duplicates

Internally Search External Databases Yes Yes No
ResearcherID Synchronization No Yes No
RSS Feed Integration Integrated RSS feed reader No No
Export Formats 7 7 13
Database Backup/Restore Options Full database backup: Revert to a previous library that even maintains folder organization. Can also be used to share references with another user.  Backup: Export all references to a file in EndNote format.
Restore: Import with EndNote filter.
NOTE: Not a true backup. Grouping information is lost.
Automatic sync with Zotero cloud
Mobile Device Application RefMobile - for mobile and smart phones, PDAs No Third-party apps only
Alumni Access?   Yes    No    Yes, not tied to the UofA

 

 *For a comparison chart of different EndNote versions see: http://endnote.com/support/faqs/endnote-compare


Modified from the University of Wisconsin, Madison Citation Managers Comparison: http://www.library.wisc.edu/citation-managers/comparison.html

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656