RefWorks

This guide will present RefWorks to help with managing your sources as you research.

Export References from Library Databases

Many library databases offer a way to save and export references directly to your RefWorks account.

In other cases, you may need to save your references to a file and then import that file into your account. 

You can find detailed instructions on our web site for exporting and importing citations from most library databases. 

  1. When you are viewing a link to a library database on our web site, click the More info or ? link  to see more information about that resource.

    Click the More info link for additional details about that resource

  2. On the details page for that database, you may see a link to RefWorks Exporting and Importing.

    Details page for a database

  3. Click the link for RefWorks Exporting and Importing and the specific instructions for that database will appear.

    RefWorks instructions for a database

Direct Export

Direct Export is the easiest way to add references to your account.

View our list of export instructions by database. 

In most cases, you will:

  1. Mark or save the references you wish to add to your account
  2. Look for a button or link to export or save your marked records
  3. Choose the option to export directly to RefWorks
  4. Log in to your RefWorks account, if you are not already logged in
  5. Your references will be automatically placed in the "Last Imported" folder, unless you designate another destination.

Direct Export tips:

  • Be sure that popup blockers are turned off or that you allow individual popups to open from the database vendor.
  • Watch for RefWorks windows that may open / already are open in other windows or tabs.
  • When off-campus, some direct exports may not function properly.  Instead, try saving the references to a file and importing them manually.

Manually Importing References

Manually exporting references from a database and then importing them to your RefWorks account takes a few extra steps -- but it is still much easier than typing out a long list of citations. 

Exact instructions will vary by database, but the general procedures will be:

  1. Mark or save the references you wish to add to your account
  2. Look for a button or link to export or save your marked records
  3. If direct export to RefWorks is not available, you will save your references to a file. 
    The format of the file can be .txt, .ris, or another specified in our instructions.
  4. Log in to your RefWorks account, if you are not already logged in
  5. Navigate to References > Import.
  6. Select the Import Filter / Data Source and Database as indicated in our instructions
  7. Browse to Select the Text file that you saved. 
  8. Choose the folder where you would like to send the references (they will also be placed in the Last Imported folder).

Manual Import Tips:

  • Be sure to follow the instructions and save the file in the correct format. 
  • Remember the name of the file and where you saved it.

                                                      Import drop down menu                                                          

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656