RefWorks Exporting and Importing Instructions

Step-by-step instructions for getting citations out of library databases and into RefWorks

RefWorks Instructions

Many of our databases and ejournals can export records into RefWorks. We've listed step-by-step instructions below.

Don't see your database listed? You may still be able to create records manually in RefWorks. See our instructions for more information on creating new records in RefWorks.

ACM Digital Library

  1. View a citation you wish to save in full format.
  2. In the "Tools and Resources" box, click on BibTeX format under Export Formats.
  3. Click the download link.  Your file will be saved ina *.bib format. 
  4. To import the references, select BibTeX as the Import Filter and ACM Digital Library as the database.

Adam Matthew

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. View the full record of an entry you wish to save.
  3. On the top menu bar, look for the "Citation/Export" button. Clicking on it will pop up a Citation tool dialog box.
  4. Log in to RefWorks, if you are not already logged in.
  5. Your record should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

AIP: Scitation

  1. When viewing a citation you wish to export, choose "Export Citation" from the right menu.
  2. Choose RefWorks.
  3. A dialog box will appear from your browser. Save the file with its *.ref extension.
  4. Log into RefWorks, if you are not already logged in.
  5. Choose from the top menu, References > Import.
  6. Choose RefWorks Tagged format as the Format and Tagged Format as the Database.
  7. Your reference will be imported.

Alexander Street

To export multiple records:

  1. Click the Share button, below each entry. (The page will direct you to “Your List”. Navigate back to the search page to add more records.)

  2. Once you’ve got the records you wish to export, under the options panel on the left side of the page, click the export section.

  3. Select Refworks, and hit send.

  4. If it gives you the option to select Legacy or Proquest Refworks, select Legacy.

 

To export a single record:

  1. When viewing the full record, click the Cite or Share link below the video/music window to take you to “Your List”

  2. Choose the menu option for Export List.

  3. Choose Refworks.

  4. A new window will open. If it gives you the option to select Legacy or Proquest Refworks, select Legacy. Login to RefWorks, if you are not already logged in.

  5. Your references will be imported.

American Chemical Society

  1. When viewing the abstract of the article citation you wish to save, click the Download Citations link.
  2. Choose RIS as the citation format and click Download.
  3. A new window opens prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the download as an .RIS document in a folder or on the desktop.
  4. Login to your RefWorks account, if you have not already.
  5. Under the References drop down menu, select Import.
  6. In the Import/filter box, select ACS publications. In the Database box, select RIS format. Click the browse button under the Import Data from the following text file section. Attach the appropriate file, then hit the Import button. The citation will be imported. 

American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library

  1. Search for item desired. Under the result you want click the "Export to endnotes" link.
  2. The itme will save as an .ris file in your downloads folder.
  3. Log in to RefWorks if you haven't already done so. In Refworks select RIS Format as both the Import filter and Database. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. The item imports.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

  1. When viewing a full record you wish to save, click the "Get Citation" link on the right menu.
  2. Choose RefWorks.
  3. A dialog box will open from your browser; save the file to your computer.
  4. In RefWorks, choose References > Import.
  5. Choose ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) as the Import Filter / Data Source and Tagged Format as the Database.
  6. Your reference will be imported.

Annual Reviews

  1. Search for the desired item. In the full record of the item, click the Download link on the right menu.
  2. In a new screen, under the Citation manager or file format section, select RefWorks, then hit Download chapter metadata button.
  3. A new window will appear prompting you to log in to RefWorks if you haven't done so already. Once logged in, your citations should import directly into RefWorks.

ARTstor

  1. Select individual images by clicking them and using the navigation bar > Tools > Save citations for selected images or right-click the image and choose save citations.
    OR
    Open an image group and in the ARTstor navigation bar click Tools > Save citations for image group.
  2. To review what you've selected, click Tools > View and export citations. A new browser window will open displaying your saved citations as well as image thumbnails. Select the images you would like to export as bibliographic citations by checking the box above each image.
  3. Choose the option to export your records to RefWorks.
  4. Log into your RefWorks account when prompted.

BioOne

  1. Search for desired item. Select article by checking the box next to each item.
  2. To export, click on the "Download to Citation manager" link.
  3. On the new screen, select what information you want to include when you export (Citation for the article, Reference for the article, etc) then hit the Download article citation data button.
  4. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file as an .ris document to a local directory.
  5. Log in to RefWorks if you haven't already done so.
  6. Select RIS Format as the Input source and as the database. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, and hit the Import button. The citation will be imported.

ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers)

  1. When viewing a citation you wish to export, choose "Download Citations" from the left menu.
  2. Choose RefWorks and check Direct Export.
  3. Log into RefWorks, if you are not already logged in.
  4. Your reference will be imported.

Compendex

  1. To do a direct export, select Download from the search results page.
  2. Select RefWorks direct import and click on Download.
  3. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.


OR

 

To save to a text file select the Detailed Record option from the search results Page.

  1. Select the Download button.
  2. Select Plain text format and click on Download.
  3. Using your browser's Save As function, navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file.
  4. Select Text as the file type.
  5. Click Save.
  6. To import the references, select EI Engineering Village 2 as the Import Filter and select the appropriate database. 

CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly

  1. In most CQ databases, look for the link to Cite Now! This will pop open a small window with the document citation formatted in APA, Chicago, MLA, or BlueBook style.
  2. You will also see a pull-down menu that will allow you to Export the citation to RefWorks. Choose that option.
  3. A new RefWorks window will open. If you are not already logged in to your RefWorks account, log in.
  4. Your reference will be automatically imported into your RefWorks account.

Credo Reference

For Multiple Records:

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. On the results page, select the entries that you want to export by clicking the Save icon to the left of each search result. You can also select items to export when viewing the full-text entry. Click the Save box to the entry heading.
  3. On the top menu bar, click "Saved Results" which appears at the top of every page.
  4. In the Action box, select Export to RefWorks and click the Go button.
  5. Log in to RefWorks, if prompted.
  6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder



For Single Record Export:

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. On the results page, click on the name of the entry that you want to export to see the full record.
  3. At the top of full-text entry, look for Sahre / Export option on the action menu.
  4. Choose RefWorks.
  5. Log in to RefWorks, if you are not already logged in.
  6. Your record should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Ebsco

  1. From the search results page, add the references you want to import to your Folder by clicking Add to Folder.
  2. Click the Folder View when you are ready to export.
  3. Mark the items you wish to export and then click the icon for Export.
  4. To do a direct export, select Export directly to RefWorks.
  5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.

OR

  1. To save your references to a text file, click the Export icon as your delivery option.
  2. Select the file format for "Generic bibliographic management software."
  3. Using your browser's Save As function, navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file.
  4. Select Text (*.txt) as the file type.
  5. Click Save.
  6. To import the references, select EBSCOhost as the Import Filter and select the appropriate database. If you do not see your database listed, try the filter for Academic Search Premier. 

FirstSearch

  1. From your search results mark the references you want to import and click Export.
  2. To do a direct export, select RefWorks in the Export to: section.
  3. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.

OR

  1. To save to a text file, select Text File in the Export to: section.
  2. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the download as a Text (.txt) file to a local directory.
  3. To import the references, in select OCLC Firstsearch as the Import Filter and select the appropriate database. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. The citation will be imported. 

Gale

  1. Mark records you wish to save, then choose View Mark List on the left menu.
  2. Choose Print or Email, then Email the records to yourself (citation, abstract, or full-text formats ok).
  3. Retrieve the records from your email. Copy and paste the body of the message into a document.
  4. Save the document as a plain text (.txt) file.
  5. To import the references, select Gale / InfoTrac Web as the Import Filter and Gale InfoTrac the database.

Gale Artemis

  1. When viewing a chapter or article you wish to cite, click the "Citation Tools" link on the top menu.
  2. A new window opens. In the section labeled "Export" choose RefWorks, then hit the Export button.
  3. Log into RefWorks, if you are not already logged in.
  4. Your reference should be automatically imported into your account

Gale NewsVault

  1. View the full record for an article you wish to save.
  2. Choose the CITE Icon on the top menu bar.
  3. A new window will open.
  4. Under the options for "Export to third-party software, choose RefWorks and click Export.
  5. Login to RefWorks, if you are not already. The citation will be imported. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

  1. Log in to your RefWorks account first; doing this will help when exporting the citation.
  2. When viewing a chapter or article you wish to cite, click the "Citation Tools" link to the right of the screen.
  3. A new window opens. In the right menu, choose RefWorks.
  4. A new window opens. You will be prompted to login to RefWorks if you are not already logged in.
  5. Your reference should be automatically imported into your account

Google Scholar

To set this feature up in Google Scholar:

  1. From the Google Scholar search page, click on the Settings link (small gear icon in upper right-hand corner) under the down arrow menu.
  2. Select the Bibliography Manager.
  3. Select Show links to import citations into and select RefWorks from the drop-down.
  4. Click Save.


To initiate a direct export to RefWorks:

  1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar
  2. Each record displayed will have an Import into RefWorks link. Clicking on the
    link will launch the RefWorks login page.
  3. Once you log in, you are brought automatically to the Edit view of the reference.
  4. If you do not wish to edit the record, you can navigate to any other area of RefWorks.
  5. Your record is stored in your Last Imported Folder.

Highwire

When viewing a single article...

  1. Look for the Download to citation manager link on the right menu.
  2. Under Citation Manager Formats, choose RefWorks.
  3. A new window will open. Log into your RefWorks account, if you are not already logged in.
  4. Your citation will be imported.

 

For multiple articles ...

  1. Mark the records you wish to save by checking the box next to each
    record.
  2. Click the "Download to citation manager" link at the bottom or top of the page and click Go.
  3. A new page appears with your selected articles. On the right menu click the link "Download all" citations to my reference manager.
  4. Under Citation Manager Formats, choose RefWorks.
  5. A new window will open. Log into your RefWorks account, if you are not already logged in.
  6. Your citations will be imported.

IEEE Xplore

  1. Mark the items you wish to save and then click the "Download Citation" button at the top of the page.
  2. A new window opens. Choose Citation or Citation with Abstract, and select RefWorks format and click the Download citation button.
  3. A new window should open for RefWorks; log in and your citations should be automatically imported.



If you are off-campus or unable to use direct export:

  1. Mark the items you wish to save and then click the "Download Citation" button at the top of the page.
  2. Choose Citation or Citation with Abstract and select BibTex format and click the Download citations button.
  3. Save your citation to a .txt file.
  4. To import the references, select BibTex format as the Import Filter and BibDex as the database.

Ingenta

  1. View the full record for the article you wish to save.
  2. On the right side of the page under Tools, click the "Export options" link.
  3. Select EndNote.
  4. Save the file to your computer. It will have an *.RIS extension.
  5. To import the references, in RefWorks choose References > Import from the top menu bar.
  6. Select RIS Format as the import filter and RIS format as the database.
  7. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button.

Index Arkansas

  1. Mark the records you wish to export by clicking the Save Record button to the left of each record.
    Important: be sure and click the Save button on each page.
  2. When you have completed searching, click on the View Saved button on the top of the screen. Review your record set.
  3. To export items, under Format of List choose Full Display and under Send List to select Send to local disk. Hit the Submit button.
  4. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the download as a Text (.txt) file to a local drive.
  5. To import the references, select Innovative Interfaces Innopac as the Import Filter and select Arkansas Publications Index as the database. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. 

Institute of Physics: IOP

  1. View the full record for the item you wish to export.
  2. Beneath the abstract, change the export format to RefWorks (Direct Export) and click the button to Export citation and abstract.
  3. In the new screen under Choose export format, choose Refworks Direct Export, then hit the Export Results button.
  4. A new screen appears prompting you to log in to RefWorks if you haven't already done so. Once you've logged in the item is imported into your account.



You can also save citations as .RIS files.

  1. In the Export results box, under Choose export format, select RIS format.
  2. A new window will appear prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file to a local directory as an .RIS file .
  3. Log in to RefWorks, if you haven't done so already.
  4. To import the references, select RIS Format as the Import Filter and as the database. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. The item imports.

ITER

For single records

  1. View the record details (eye icon) for the item you wish to save to RefWorks.
  2. Click the option for RefWorks.
  3. A new tab or window will open. You will be prompted to login to your RefWorks account, if you have not already done so.
  4. Your record will be saved to your RefWorks account.


For multiple records

  1. Mark records that you wish to save by clicking the eye icon and then the option to mark.
  2. Click the Marked Records tab.
  3. Select the records you wish to export and choose the send to RefWorks option.
  4. A new tab or window will open. You will be prompted to login to your RefWorks account, if you have not already done so.
  5. Your records will be saved to your RefWorks account.

JSTOR

  1. JSTOR allows you to save article citations, but not the full text of articles. Your citation will include a link back to the full text article.
  2. Select the citation/s you want by clicking the box next to each item. To save all of them, click the Select/unselect all box at the top of the page.
  3. Click the "Export" link in the Citation Tools group at the top of the results page.
  4. In a new screen, under Select a format, click on the RefWorks link.
  5. A new window will open prompting you to log in to RefWorks. Once you have logged in, your citations will be imported.

Knovel

  1. View the chapter or book you wish to export to RefWorks. Write down the page numbers of the sections you need to cite.
  2. On the left hand side of the page, click the Gear button.
  3. Choose Create Citation
  4. A new window opens providing the citation to the book. To cite sections in the book, type in the desired page numbers.
  5. Select Refworks from the drop down menu.
  6. A new window opens, you will be prompted to log into RefWorks,if you have not already logged in.
  7. The item is imported into RefWorks.

Learn Tech Lib

  1. Click on the title of an article or paper to view the full record.
  2. Click the icon for Citation and choose RefWorks Direct Export.
  3. A new RefWorks window will open. If you are not already logged in to your RefWorks account, log in.
  4. Your reference will be automatically imported into your RefWorks account.

LexisNexis Academic

Note that not all documents from Lexis Nexis Academic have full bibliographic citations. In some cases, broadcast transcripts or other non-newspaper documents will be imported into RefWorks with that document type. Use the "Global Edit" function to change fields on a large number of citations at one time.

  1. When viewing an individual documents or list of documents, click the "Export Bibliographic References" icon (looks like an open book) in the upper right-hand corner.
  2. Choose the current document, all documents, or a range of documents, choose Export using RefWorks, and click the Export button.
  3. A RefWorks window will open. Log in to your individual RefWorks account, if you have not already done so.
  4. Your references will automatically be imported into your RefWorks account.

Library Catalog

  1. Mark the records you wish to export by
    - checking the box next to each record and clicking the Save Selected Button
    -saving all records on a browse page
    -marking an individual record in the full record display
    Important: be sure and click the Save Selected link on each page when working with groups of records
  2. To export your selections, click the View Marked Records at the top of the page.
  3. Choose EndNote/RefWorks format and select Send to local disk, then click Submit.
  4. Follow your browser's prompts to save the file to the location you prefer. Note that the exact prompts may be different in Internet Explorer, FireFox, or other browsers. Save the download as a Text (.txt) file in a local directory. The default name of the file is "export.txt."
  5. To import the references, select Innovative Interfaces (Endnote/RefWorks Format) as the Import Filter and select University of Arkansas as the database.

Alternately,, use the Search Online Databases tool inside RefWorks to search the library catalog and import references directly from the catalog.

MathSciNet (AMS Version)

  1. Save individual citations by clicking the Clipboard button below each citation.
  2. Review your marked citations by clicking the View Clipboard tab.
  3. Select format Citations (BibTeX) and click Save Clip.
  4. Using your browser's Save As function, navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file and save the file in the text (.txt) format.
  5. To import the references, select BibTeX as the Import Filter and MathSciNet as the database.

Morgan and Claypool Synthesis Library

  1. Select the items you want to export by checking the box/es to the left of each item.
  2. At the top of the page, click the "Download to Citation Manager" link.
  3. in the new screen, select RIS as the format and hit the "Download lecture metadata" button.
  4. Save the file to your local computer; it will have an *.RIS extension.
  5. Log in to your RefWorks account, if y ou are not already logged in.
  6. From the top menu, choose References > Import.
  7. Choose RIS as the format and database and browse to find the file you saved.
  8. Import your references.

NASA Astrophysics Data System: ADS

  1. Mark the items you wish to export by clicking the checkboxes or click the button labeled "Select all Records."
  1. At the bottom of the results list, look for the option "Retrieve the above records in other formats or sort order."
  1. Choose "RefWorks Format" and "Load into RefWorks." You can also specify the sort order your citations should be exported in.
  1. Click Retrieve selected records.
  2. On the next page, you will have the option to Export to RefWorks. Click this button to open a new window where your results will be imported into RefWorks (be sure to turn off any pop-up blockers).

Nature

  1. Search for the desired item. Go to the full record.
  2. Article Tools section on the right side of the page click the "Export citation".
  3. Save the download to a local directory; the file will save as an RIS (.ris) document.
  4. Log in to RefWorks if you haven't done so already. Select RIS format as both the Import/filter and Database. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. The item is imported to RefWorks.

NewsBank: America's News

  1. Search for the desired item. Select the article(s) you want by checking the box next to each item.
  2. Click the "Bibliography/Export" link on the right side of the page.
  3. In the new screen, under To a Citation Management tool section, click the RefWorks Direct button.
  4. A new window appears, and the citations are imported into RefWorks.

Ovid

For Direct Export:

  1. Select the references you want to export by checking the boxes.
  2. Click on the Export link at the top of the page.
  3. Under the Export to section, select RefWorks from the drop down menu.
  4. Select Complete Reference in the Fields to display section then hit the Export Citation/s button.
  5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.
  6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


To Manually Save and Export Records:

  1. Select the references you want to export.
  2. Click on the Export link at the top of the page.
  3. Under the "Export to" drop down box, select the .txt format.
  4. Click the Export Citations button.
  5. A new window opens prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file to a local drive as a Text (.txt) file.
  6. Log in to RefWorks, if you haven't done so already.
  7. Select Ovid as the Import filter and Your journals @Ovid as the Database.
  8. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. The item is imported.

Oxford African American Studies Center

  1. Search for the desired item. Go into the full record for the item.
  2. When viewing an article that you would like to capture the citation for, click the "Cite" button at the top left of the page.
  3. A new window will pop up with citation examples, as well as links to export your citation.
  4. Under Download to Citation Management Software, click the RefWorks link.
  5. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file in a local directory; save it as an .ris file.
  6. In RefWorks, choose RIS Format as the Import Filter and as the database name. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. The item imports. 

Oxford Art Online / Oxford Music Online

  1. Search for the desired item. Open the full record of the item.
  2. To export an item, click the "Cite" link at the upper right of the article.
  3. A new screen appears showing examples of how to cite the item. Click the Export a citation link below the citation examples.
  4. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file as a Text file (.txt) and save it to a local directory.
  5. In RefWorks, choose RIS Format as the Import Filter and as the Database. Browse for the appropriate text file, attach it, then hit the Import button. The item imports.

PhilPapers

  1. From the search results, click the link to Export a citation.
  2. Choose Reference Manager format.
  3. Save the file.
  4. To import the references, select RIS Format as the Import Filter and Reference Manager as the database.

PLOS

  1. Search for the desired item. Open the full record of item.
  2. On the right side of the screen in the mint colored box, click on the "Download citation" link.
  3. A new screen displaying your citation appears. Select RIS as the format in which to download the citation.
  4. A new window opens prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the download to a local directory; the file will save as an RIS (.ris) document.
  5. Log in to Refworks. Under the Import action, select RIS format as both the Import/filter line and the Database line. Browse for the appropriate, attach it, then hit the Import button. The item is imported.

Project Muse

  1. Conduct your search. In the results browse screen you can click the button to SAVE ALL CITATIONS or view a full record for an individual citation and click the Save Citation link to the right of the screen.
  2. When you are ready to export, click the Saved Citations link at the top of any page.
  3. Option 1 is a direct export to RefWorks. Click that.
  4. A new window opens prompting you to log in to Refworks, if you are not already logged in.
  5. Once in, the items are imported.

ProQuest

  1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.
  2. On the top menu bar, choose Save or Save / Export.
  3. Choose the option fro RefWorks.
  4. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open; you will be prompted to login if you have not already logged in.
  5. Your references will be imported into your account.

ProQuest: Early English Books Online

  1. Search for the desired item. Select it by checking the box next to the item.
  2. At top of the results list, on the toolbar with Home, Marked list, Search history, and Help, click the Marked list link.
  3. A new window opens and your citation appears. At the top of the screen, click the "Download records" button.
  4. A new window opens. Select the Direct export to RefWorks link and the item is automatically imported



You can also download the citation as a Text (.txt) file and save it to your computer.

  1. After clicking the "Download records' button and going into the new window, select Download to EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager.
  2. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file to a local directory as a Text (.txt) file.
  3. Log in to RefWorks. Select RIS format as both the Import filter and Database. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. The item is imported.

ProQuest Ebook Central

  1. When viewing a full book record, look for the Cite Book option on the right menu.
  2. A window will open.
  3. Under Export Citation, choose RefWorks.
  4. A new RefWorks window will open, and you will be prompted to login if you have not already done so.
  5. The record for the book volume will be imported into your RefWorks account.

PubMed

  1. Mark the records for saving or exporting.
  2. Click on Send To, select File,
  3. Under Format, select MEDLINE, then Create file.
  4. Save the file in *.txt format to your computer.
  5. To import the references n RefWorks, select References > Import from the top menu bar.
  6. Select NLM PubMed as the Import Filter and PubMed as the database.
  7. Your references will be imported.

Readex: Archive of Americana

  1. Search for the desired item and view the full record.
  2. Click the link "Export Citation" on the upper right of the document viewer.
  3. You will be promoted to save the citation as an *.RIS file.
  4. Log into RefWorks, if you are not already logged in.
  5. In RefWorks, choose RIS Format as the Import Filter and Reference Manager as the Database. Browse for the appropriate file, attach, then hit the Import button. The items import.

Reaxys

  1. Conduct a search in Reaxys.
  2. Click the Citations tab, and mark the reference(s) you want to export.
  3. Click the Output icon, and select Literature Management Systems. Identify your choices for Output range and Output contains. Then, click OK.
  4. In the Output Citation Results window, click Download.
  5. Save the file to your local computer. It will have an *.RIS extension.
  6. Login to RefWorks.
  7. Under References, select Import.
  8. Under Import Filter/Data Source, select RIS Format.
  9. Under Database, select Reaxys.
  10. Under Select Text File, click Browse to locate the saved text file.
  11. Next, under Import Into Folder, specify the folder where you want to import your citation(s).
  12. Click Import to save the references into your folder in RefWorks.

Sage Encyclopedias

  1. Search for the desired item. In the results window on the left hand side there is a green box. At the top right of that box click on the "Cite" link.
  2. A new window opens displaying how to cite the item in different style formats. Below that under the section "Download citation," select Refworks.
  3. A window comes up asking you to find, save, or cancel. Save the citation to a local directory; the document will save as an RIS (.ris) document.
  4. Log in to Refworks. To import, select RIS format as both the Import/filter and Database. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. The item is imported to Refworks.

ScienceDirect

  1. Search for the desired item. Mark the items you wish to export by checking the boxes next to them.
  2. Click the "Export" link at the top of the page.
  3. In the new screen under Export format, select RefWorks Direct Export and hit the Export button.
  4. A new window opens prompting you to log in to RefWorks if you haven't done so already. Once logged in, the references are imported into your account.

SciFinder

  1. Mark the citations you wish to save.
  2. Click on Export link at the right side of the page.
  3. Under Citation export format, select RIS format then hit the Export button.
  4. A new window opens prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file to a local directory. The file will save as an .RIS file.
  5. Log in to RefWorks if you haven't already done so. Select RIS format as the Import filter and the database.
  6. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. The item is imported.

Springer

  1. Select the record of the item you want to export. On the right side of the record, click the Export Citation button.
  2. In the new screen under the Select format area, select RefWorks RIS format.
  3. A new window will appear prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the download as an RIS (.ris) file to a local directory.
  4. Log in to RefWorks.
  5. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
  6. Select RIS Format as the Import/data source and the database.
  7. Browse to find the appropriate file, attach it, and hit the Import button.
  8. Your records will download into the Last Imported Folder.

Taylor and Francis

  1. Check the boxes in the results list next to the citations you wish to save and then choose the menu option under Choose an action to "Download Citation."
    OR - click the Download Citation link beneath a single article abstract.
  2. On the Download Citation page, choose RefWorks Direct Export.
  3. A new window will open. You will be prompted to log into RefWorks if you have not already.
  4. Your references will be imported. 

TRID: Transportation Research and International Transport Research Documentation

  1. From your search results, click the items you wish to download.
  2. Choose the Marked records link at the top right of the screen.
  3. Choose Save.
  4. Download the records using "RIS" format, the fiel will have an *.RIS extension.
  5. In RefWorks, select References > Import from the top menu bar.
  6. Select RIS Format as the Import Filter and RIS Format as the database.
  7. Import your references.

WorldCatOrg

For single items:

  1. View the full record for the item.
  2. Click the Cite / Export link.
  3. Chose the Option to Export to RefWorks
  4. A RefWorks session window will open and you will be prompted to log into RefWorks, if you are not already logged in.
  5. Your selected reference will be imported.

For multiple references:

  1. Create a WorldCat.org personal account, if you have not already done so, at http://www.worldcat.org/account/?page=register.
  2. Mark the records you wish to save by clicking the checkboxes, or select all on any page.
  3. Select a list from the pull-down menu to save your records to. Private lists can only be seen by you when you are logged in; public lists can be shared with others by means of an emailed link.
  4. When you have finished selecting records, Select "My WorldCat" from the top menu and then select "My Lists."
  5. In the Citations view select the "Export to RefWorks" option.
  6. A RefWorks session window will open and you will be prompted to log into RefWorks, if you are not already logged in.
  7. Your selected references will be imported.

Web of Knowledge

  1. From the search results page mark the records you wish to export and click the Add to Marked List button.
  2. Click on the Marked List link at the top of the screen to review your selections.
  3. On the Marked List page are 3 steps. Step 1 is to choose which records to export, Step 2 is to select which record fields to export ("content items") and Step 3 is to choose to export to RefWorks.
  4. Click on the Export to RefWorks option.
  5. The export process will automatically start. Do not close your browser or click the Return button until processing completes.
  6. When processing completes, a new page or tab with the the RefWorks Login will open.
  7. Enter your log in name and password to access your RefWorks account and import your marked records automatically.


Or, you may save records and import them manually:

  1. From the search results page mark the records you wish to export and click the Add to Marked List button.
  2. Click on the Marked List link at the top of the screen to review your selections.
  3. Check the fields you wish to export and under Select an option choose Field Tagged format, then hit the "Save to file" button.
  4. To import the references into RefWorks, select Thomson Reuters as the Import Filter and select the appropriate database. Browse for the appropriate file, attach it, then hit the Import button. 

Wiley

When viewing a single article or chapter...

  1. Look for the Article Tools link on the right menu.
  2. Choose "Export Citation for this Article."
  3. A new window pops up.
  4. Choose RefWorks as the format and Citation + Abstract.
  5. A new window will open. Log into your RefWorks account, if you are not already logged in.
  6. Your citation will be imported.

 

For multiple articles or chapters...

  1. Mark the records you wish to save by checking the box next to each
    record.
  2. Click the "Export Citation" button at the bottom or top of the page.
  3. In pop up window, select RefWorks from the format drop down menu and chose the Citation or Citation + Abstract
  4. A new window opens prompting you to log in to RefWorks if you haven't already done so. Once logged in, the items are imported into RefWorks.

ZMath

  1. Click the BibTex button for an item you wish to save.
  2. Save the resulting web page as a text file, it may have a *.bib extension.
  3. In RefWorks, choose References > Import.
  4. Choose BibTex as the Import Filter and Zentralblatt Math as the database.
  5. Your reference will be imported. 
University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656