Streaming Media Resources

This guide provides information about the online media resources in the University Libraries

About This Guide

This guide provides general information on streaming media resources and describes the types of streaming media content available at the University of Arkansas. Since the spring of 2014 the university libraries has acquired a number of streaming media databases through subscription to meet the increasing demand for online media information. Tens and thousand videos across disciplines have become available for U of A students and faculty to use at anytime from anywhere. Three major resources that consist of teh core of our streaming video resources:

  • VAST: Academic Video Online -- offering a comprehensive collection of  more than 22,000 documentaries and education videos in 24 subject areas. Unique sub-collections include Theatre in Video, Opera in Video which we used to subscribe invidually.  
  • Kanopy Streaming Service currently offering 12,652 feature films, documentaries, and educational videos. Kanopy's film collection is strong with international films, supported by such suppliers as Criterion Collection and Janus Films, Kino Lorber, Film Movement, Music Box Films, and First Run Features.
  • Naxos Video Library offering more than 1,800 full-length videos of live classical music concerts, operas, ballets and documentaries from the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists as well as films featuring movie celebrities

Additionally U of A Libraries provides streaming video service for online courses. the library works with several services to obtain licenses for feature film streaming.

This guide also lists sources where you can find open access streaming videos such as:

The U of A Libraries delivers streaming videos to courses through Blackboard platform which host locally streamed content and manages the authenticantion of the authorized users for videos streamed to the course pages.

Where to See a List of All the Streaming Media Resources

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656