Research Guides: Finance &amp; Economics Research: Banking

Publications

Banking Exchange
Banking Exchange is a new information resource for bankers that builds on a deep background of banking knowledge and contacts. Banking Exchange encompasses a website, magazine, roundtables, seminars, and more.
American Banker
American Banker is the essential resource for senior executives in banking and financial services, keeping its users updated on vital developments and focusing sharply on their most important concerns — innovation, transformation, and disruption; technology, regulation, and reform. Financial industry professionals turn to American Banker, every day and throughout the day, to stay maximally informed — drilling down on complex issues, keeping up with breaking news, and downloading research and data. Paid subscribers and registered visitors engage deeply with an authoritative community of analysts, practitioners and innovators through opinion content, research panels, social media, and live events.
Credit Union Magazine
We are recognized as the most influential financial services trade association. We make sure policymakers and regulators know why credit unions are the best financial services choice for Americans. Advocacy lies at the heart of everything we do for our members.
Independent Community Bankers of America
Independent Banker is the ICBA's award-winning monthly magazine, recognized as the number one source ICBA members rely on for community banking news.
Central Banking
Coverage on areas of financial stability, monetary policy, economics, governance, reserves, currency, and more.

International Resources

Bank for International Settlements (BIS) - The Basel Committee on Banking Supervision
The BIS functions as a bank for the central banks of the major industrialized countries, including the United States. Established in 1974, the Committee reports to the Central Bank Governors of the Group of Ten Countries—Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Sweden, the United Kingdom, and the U.S—plus Switzerland. "The Basel Committee on Banking Supervision provides a forum for regular cooperation on banking supervisory matters. Its objective is to enhance understanding of key supervisory issues and improve the quality of banking supervision worldwide."
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF's website offers the texts of all their complementary publications, as well as news releases, country publications, fund rates, standards and codes and a "what's new" column.
Federal Reserve Board - Structure and Share Data for U.S. Banking Offices of Foreign Entities
Quarterly Federal Reserve Board report on the assets, loans, and deposits of all foreign bank offices in the United States and, separately, those of California and New York.
World Bank Development Indicators
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

Regulatory Bodies

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve
The Federal Reserve Board regulates the availability of funds (money supply), maintains a nationwide check-clearing system, regulate private banks, bank holding companies and state-chartered banks that belong to the Federal Reserve System, and issues regulations relating to consumer credit protection.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
FDIC insures deposits, examines and supervises financial institutions.
Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA)
The FHFA regulates Fannie Mac, Freddie Mac, And the Home Loan Bank System.
Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC)
Called the "administrator of national banks", the OCC charters, regulates and supervises national banks "to ensure a safe, sound and competitive banking system that supports the citizens, communities and economy of the United States." As of 2011, the Office of Thrift Supervision was also integrated into the OCC.
SEC - Security and Exchange Commission
National Credit Union Administration (NCUA)
The NCUA is an "independent federal agency that regulates, charters and supervises federal credit unions."
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Created by Congress, the CFPB provides consumers with information and resources to educate them about financial service providers and they enforce consumer financial protection laws.

Laws and Regulations

Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute - Banking: An Overview
A not-for-profit group focused on making the law accessible and understandable to all. Provides an overview of how banking law is organized in the U.S. and links to federal and state statutes, regulations and judicial decisions of interest.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) - Law, Regulations and Regulated Acts
A "compilation of banking-related material... [including] the FDIC Act, FDIC regulations, FDIC Advisory Opinions, FDIC Statements of Policy, and a selection of banking-related materials issued by other agencies."
U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) - Banks and Banking: Code of Federal Regulations, Title 12, Parts 1 to 1899
From the U.S. Government Printing Office, a version of Title 12 (Banks and Banking) you can browse by parts; also simple search available.
The United States Congress - The Committee on Financial Services
Banking and financial services bills, summaries, hearing transcripts, markups, meetings, press releases, rules, and comprehensive full text reports are all available here
Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) - OCC Regulations
The OCC is the primary regulator of banks chartered under the National Bank Act and federal savings associations chartered under the Home Owners Loan Act of 1933. Before codification in Title 12, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency publishes its rules in the Federal Register; access the most recent publications here.
Compliance Alliance - Federal Banking Regulations
Provides links to laws and regulations explanatory pages, organized by specific regulator: description of regulation and links to further guidance available eon each specific page.
Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition)
Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act
Passed in 2010, the stated aim of this legislation is, "To promote the financial stability of the United States by improving accountability and transparency in the financial system, to end "too big to fail", to protect the American taxpayer by ending bailouts, to protect consumers from abusive financial services practices, and for other purposes."

Federal Reserve

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis - ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data (ALFRED)
As described on their own page, ALFRED provides access to " vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time."
FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) is a unique project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis’ Center for Economic Documents Digitization (CEDD), which seeks to preserve the nation's economic history through digitization. Further, FRASER® contributes to the long-standing mission of the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis: to provide timely and convenient data to scholars, analysts, students and interested observers "of the U.S. econom
Economic Research - Federal Reserve Economic Database
Download, graph, and track over 700,000 US and international time series from over 90 sources
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis - Fed in Print
Indexes all economic research published by the Federal Reserve Banks, 1965 to current. The print version has been replaced by the free web version which has a powerful search engine and links to full-text.

University Libraries

Research Guides

Finance & Economics Research

Publications

International Resources

Regulatory Bodies

Laws and Regulations

Federal Reserve