Film Reviews are generally short in length and intended for a general audience. The intent of a film review is to help determine whether or not a movie should be seen.

Film criticism gives a scholarly treatment of a film and may present discuss historical context, theory, or technical analysis. These often appear years after a film is released.

When searching journal literature it is important to determine:

1. The release and production dates of the film
2. What type of information you may be looking for 

 Why do I need to know the Film release and production dates?

Journal articles will discuss a film anytime after a film begins production. A flurry of activity often accompanies the initial release of a film. Likewise databases provide indexing for specific periods of time. You can save some steps by looking at the dates which accompany database entries on the Libraries' website.

Narrowing down the type of information

Specific databases will focus on specific aspects of filmography - film scripts and writing, photography and set dressing, review articles... Look for a database that reflects the kind of research you are doing.

Finding Reviews

Most databases will allow you to key in the word review or reviews to locate review literature. Check the drop down menus - some databases will allow you to search an index specifically created for reviews!

Have an old film - here is a strategy you can use!

Film title Chaplin's The Kid

• Check IMDB or reference encyclopedias for dates for the film (answer = January 21, 1921)
• Look at databases which might cover the time period for the film opening - in this case Reader's Guide Retrospective -  for potential articles
• For a New York Times review - Try New York Times Historical Edition or look in the New York Times Index  (REF AI 21 .N44) for the year of the film. Look under "moving picture" in older editions and "motion pictures" in more recent volumes.

• Identify date, page, and column of article. In this instance there are two articles - one from January 22, 1921 on page 9 and column 2 and one on February 7th on page 8 and column 2 .
• Ask the Help Desk for the New York Times microfilm (F 128.1 .N48) and view the film!

For The Times (London) - Look at the index to The Times (REF AI 21 .T46) for the year of the film. Look under "Cinematograph."  The Times on microfilm is available in the Periodicals Department at DA675 .T5

When looking for other aspects of film such as the use of film to portray a social condition or the impact of film viewership on kids, don't forget that databases exist for Sociology, Psychology, History, and other disciplines.

Check out our Databases A-Z list, then sort by Subject.