Adding an Item in Omeka
Step 1: Adding an Item in Omeka
Log in at https://uarkstudentexhibits.omeka.net/admin/users/login.
From the dashboard, click “Items” and then the green “Add an Item” button.
Step 2: Adding an Item in Omeka
Fill out information for the following Dublin Core elements:
Title: Use the title of the item as shown online.
Description: write a brief description of the item.
Creator (if available)
Source: Collection title (collection number), Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.
Relation: Digital image originally appeared in [title of digital collection]. Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville. [link]
Date or date range
Rights: Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17). For additional information regarding publication of this item please contact the University of Arkansas Libraries Special Collections at 479-575-5577 or specoll@uark.edu.
Identifier: LOC call number or collection number
Step 3: Adding an Item in Omeka
Click the "Item Type Metadata" tab, to the right of the Dublin Core tab. Select the item type (or as close an approximation as makes sense)
Step 4: Adding an Item in Omeka
Click the "Files" tab to the right of the "Item Level Metadata" tab. Click "Choose file" Upload the item you have downloaded from the digital collections or scanned. If downloading an item from the digital collections, download the “large” option if available.
Step 5: Adding an Item in Omeka
Click the "Tags" tab, to the right of the "Files" tab
Using the “Subjects” listed for the item in the digital project, tag the item with subject, geographic, and personal name tags (as applies to each item). Type a tag into the “Add tags” box and click the “Add Tags button.” Once added, tags for the item will display under “All Tags” in green. From this screen, click the “Add Item” button on the right.
Step 6: Adding an Item in Omeka
Once you have added an item, you will be brought back to the “Items” home page. Repeat steps 2-7 to add all items related to your exhibit.