HIST 4613: Colonial America, 1600-1763

This guide is designed to assist students in Colonial America, 1600-1763, with suggestions for secondary resources and primary source databases.

How to Use Microfilm

Social Security Workers Using Microfilm

Image credit: SSA History: http://www.ssa.gov/history/ssa/usa1964-3.html

It's easy to be intimidated by the microfilm scanners but there is no need to be. Just ask a library staff member for help and be sure to bring a flash drive to save your page images.

How to use our microfilm scanners.

Specific Papers to Consider

Collections of Papers

How to Find Newspapers - By Title

Use the Journal search tab in OneSearch or try WorldCat for papers not held by the University Libraries. Records for newspapers will tell you where to find current paper issues and older years on microfilm. Some newspaper records can be quite complicated, as newspapers may have many title or publication changes.

Finding Newspapers by Place of Publication

Arkansas Papers

  • Search in OneSearch under place name as keyword, example
    • United States Arkansas [county] [city]
    • "United States Arkansas Benton Bentonville"
    • Place quotes around the phrase for more exact searching
    • Be sure to LIMIT your search to Material Type = newspapers
       
  • For Arkansas newspapers outside our collection,  Brendel, Shirley J. Arkansas Newspapers. Fayetteville, AR: University Libraries, 1987, has a list by county.
  • You can also search records at the Arkansas State Archives to view their newspaper holdings by county and city (limit to Record Type = Newspapers)

Other U.S. Papers

  • Search in OneSearch under place name as subject, e.g.,
    • United States [state] [county] [city]
    • United States Oklahoma Muskogee
    • United States Georgia Fulton Atlanta
  • Be sure to LIMIT your search to Material Type = newspapers

International Newspapers

  • Try OneSearch with place name and keyword newspapers, e.g.
    • (london or britain) and newspapers
  • Be sure to LIMIT your search to Material Type = newspapers

Outside our Collections

For newspapers outside our collection, try WorldCat or use a printed catalog such as:

  • Newspapers in Microform. 3v. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1973‐. Lists newspapers held in U.S. libraries by country, state, and city.
  • Arkansas Union List of Newspapers. Fayetteville, AR: University Libraries, 1993. (Note that this list does not include foreign newspapers).

Finding Newspapers by Date of Publication

For papers outside of Arkansas or outside of our collection, you can browse the date indexes in:

Brendel, Shirley J. Arkansas Newspapers. Fayetteville, AR: University Libraries, 1987.

Lathern, Edward Connery. Chronological tables of American Newspapers, 1690 1820. Worcester, MA: American Antiquarian Society.

You will then have to check OneSearch to see if we own those newspapers. Note that these tools may list titles not in our library.