Research Guides: AAST 10003: Introduction to African and African American Studies: Government Documents

U.S. Government Publications and Collections

A Guide to Countries
These guide brings together information from diverse documentary and archival sources on aspects of the United States' diplomatic relations with a variety of countries.
Human Rights Reports
(U.S. Department of State)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series
The Foreign Relations of the United States series represents the official documentary record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Browse this series by volume or by presidential administration.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1817-1980. The 'Serial Set' refers to the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
govinfo This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, including the Congressional Record, Hearings and Reports, the US Code and CFR, and the Budget. Use the advanced search page to select specific government publications or government offices. Most documents date back to the 1990s.

The American Presidency Project- University of California-Santa Barbara
This digital archive contains thousands of documents on the presidency including party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library Research Guides
Includes links to Security Council and General Assembly Resolutions by session, as well as describing research tools for specific topics or organizations.

World Development Report Online This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1978-. Produced on an annual basis since 1978, The World Development Report (WDR) is the World Bank's major analytical publication. Each year addresses a different topic, ranging from agriculture and the environment to economic growth and international trade. A part of the World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository (OKR).
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1960-. This data collection from the World Bank contains over 550 time-series indicators for 208 countries and 18 country groups, offering mapping, charting and data export formats. Included are more than 5 sets of country tables, covering specialized topics such as social indicators, economic indicators, education, and population projections. In addition, it provides some quick reference tables on GNI per capita, country classifications etc.