Hospitality

Some resources for Hospitality Innovation

CSES, HORT, AECT, PLPA, HESC Agriculture Librarian

Necia Parker Gibson's picture
Necia Parker Gibson
Contact:
Mullins Library 220N

Email is the best way to contact me. neciap@uark.edu

I've set my office phone to forward to my cell phone. We'll see how that works.

I'm working from home starting 3/16/2020 until further notice. Email or use the text number below. If you want me, particularly, ask for me.

Text a librarian: 479-385-0803

For students, faculty, and staff I will:
Answer your questions via email, phone or Skype or Facetime (until we are back to face to face).
Recommend databases for your topic.
Meet individually to work out your topic or discuss research strategies.

For faculty, I will:
Provide in-person library instruction tailored to your class, or tailored research guides to your class, with some lead time.

Meet with your students individually or in small groups.
Track down tricky citations. Purchase books and other materials, as funds allow.

I do consultations via email, Skype or Facetime (as well as face to face, when we can again).
Email me for an appointment.
479-575-8421
Website

Selecting resources

What kind of information do I need, how much, and in what format?  

  • If you are looking for a definition, a bit of information, or a discrete fact, then an encyclopedia, handbook or dictionary might do the trick. Many are available as electronic encyclopedias, handbooks or dictionaries. We also have a resource that stacks together a bunch of these resources, called Credo. Give these a try for reliable, credible information.
  • If you need magazines or newspapers, ProQuest Central, Ebscohost Academic Search Complete, and Nexis Uni (was Lexis Nexis Academic) include many of them.  
  • Select a database by choosing your subject from the list of databases under Databases by Subject. For example, clicking on Agriculture generates a list including Agricola, CAB Abstracts, Web of Science, and others.

NOTE: some topics show up in more than one database! Articles about food security will show up in Food Science and Technology Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Criminal Justice Abstracts, and CINAHL, as well as in ProQuest Central, and others.

  • Many of the databases will allow you to limit your search to "peer reviewed" or "scholarly" articles. Most often, these will be of better quality and more in-depth than magazine or newspaper articles.
  • Many of our databases allow you to limit your search to citations that have the full text of the article attached.

  • When using any database provided by the Libraries, the user is responsible for observing the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code). Students, faculty, and staff should understand the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

How Long Does Research Take?

How long the research process takes varies by:  

  • the nature of the assignment
  • how well the topic is covered in 'the literature'* (i.e.,the published work on a topic, including reference books, books, journal articles, and other sources)
  • what's available in our library or in other libraries if you borrow materials
  • the length of time allotted for the assignment
  • the expertise of the researcher (i.e, what you know about the topic).

Things to keep in mind:  

  • Start early so that you can revise your strategy or your paper if necessary. Starting early also allows more time to be creative in your approach (Taylor, et al., 1966).
  • Some topics will have a huge amount of material available, while some will have little. 
  • If you need background material, subject encyclopedias may give more specific detail.
  • Conducting research normally takes longer than you expect. 

Frustration and backtracking are a normal part of the process. However, reference librarians can show you strategies that can save you time and help you do your research more effectively. Ask at the Desk, through Ask-a-librarian, by phone 575-6645, text to 479-385-0803479-385-0803 or email refer@uark.edu for assistance. 

You can use the Research Paper Wizard (also called Hogworthy) to help plan the sequence and find sources. 

Working on a Comm 1313 or Engl 1013 assignment?