Research Guides: Data & Statistics Portal: Media and Communication

Media Data

Box Office Mojo
From IMDBPro - this source provides box office receipts (dailies, weeklies, etc) from national and international movies and companies. As well as top grossing films.
Eurostat - Digital Economy and Society
Mobile internet access, social media use, e-commerce, internet security, cloud services, digital skills and employment of ICT (internet communication technology) specialists just give you a small taste of the information and statistics you can find here.
FCC Databases
Explore granular search interfaces into more than 40 specialized FCC databases such as radio call signs and equipment authorization.
ITU - Data Dashboards
The International Telecommunication Union collects data from national telecommunication/ICT ministries and regulatory authorities: these include data on the fixed-telephone network, mobile-cellular services, Internet/broadband, traffic, revenues and investment; and prices of ICT services.
They also collect household ICT data collected from national statistical offices (NSOs): these include data on household access to ICTs and individual use of ICTs.
Media Cloud
Media Cloud is an open source platform for studying media ecosystems. By tracking millions of stories published online, their suite of tools allows researchers to track how stories and ideas spread through media. These tools are designed to aggregate, analyze, deliver and visualize information, answering complex quantitative and qualitative questions about the content of online media.
Net Data Directory
Find data sources related to topics such as access and infrastructure, advertising, APIs, apps, blocking, censorship, cybercrime, cybersecurity, e-commerce, mobile, online dating, phishing, web radio, web technologies, and many more.
Pew Research Center Internet and Technology
Pew Research Center News Habits and Media
Television Bureau of Advertising Research
TVB actively promotes local media marketing solutions to the advertising community and works to develop advertising dollars for the medium’s multiple platforms, including on-air, online and mobile. Data is available from specific studies as well as standard measures.
unctadSTAT
Under Digital Economy find and download data tables of information economy, such as ICT producing sector core indicators, share of ICT goods of total trade, trade flows by ICT goods categories, and more.
UNdata
Databases related to Media and Communication include: World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators.

Library Databases

MRI-Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: current 3 years. Provides information about consumer purchases of brands, product types, and media consumption. The data is drawn from MRI's Survey of the American Consumer, which focuses on demographic, product and media data.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1962- (some historical series are older). The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. The ICPSR archive offers a large number of data sets on social attitudes, opinions, and behaviors, as well as census and other statistical sources.
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Covers: Current. Provides detailed descriptions of companies and industries as well as market research data and forecasts from CFRA and Standard & Poor's financial publications in one convenient location. Company information includes a description of the company, stocks & bond issues, earnings estimates, dividend and split history and more. Look under Industries for The Industry Surveys, covering industry trends, forecasts, major players and market share data, key ratios, and statistics.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886, in addition to popular and trade magazines and newsletters. In addition to periodical literature, also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
New! Includes selected case studies and Harvard Business Review Ebooks!
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1971-. This business and trade database indexes and offers full text for U.S. and international academic and trade journals covering business and economic conditions, accounting, finance, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.