Horticulture: Some Resources

CSES, HORT, AECT, PLPA, POSC, FDSC, AMPD, HESC Agriculture Librarian

Necia Parker Gibson's picture
Necia Parker Gibson
Contact:
Mullins Library 220N

Email is the best way to contact me. neciap@uark.edu

I've set my office phone to forward to my cell phone. We'll see how that works.

I'm working from home starting 3/16/2020 until further notice. Email or use the text number below. If you want me, particularly, ask for me.

Text a librarian: 479-385-0803

For students, faculty, and staff I will:
Answer your questions via email, phone or Skype or Facetime (until we are back to face to face).
Recommend databases for your topic.
Meet individually to work out your topic or discuss research strategies.

For faculty, I will:
Provide in-person library instruction tailored to your class, or tailored research guides to your class, with some lead time.

Meet with your students individually or in small groups.
Track down tricky citations. Purchase books and other materials, as funds allow.

I do consultations via email, Skype or Facetime (as well as face to face, when we can again).
Email me for an appointment.
479-575-8421
Website

Finding Articles in Journals through Databases

Articles in journals are found by searching in the databases and seeing if we have the content.You may have to use different terms than you expect, based on what you find. Some databases have a list of terms, or thesaurus, that you can use to find better search terms.

Some databases cover a lot of ground (e.g. Agricola or CAB) and some are specialized (like Turfgrass Information File).  Web of Science is interdisciplinary, and shows who is citing whom within the journals that they index, among other features.There are links to Agricola, CAB and several other databases in the box below this one.

For tips on using the databases, use the "Getting Started...." series, like "Getting Started with Agricola."

Links to Databases