Getting Better Results with Google Scholar

Use these tips to make Google Scholar work better!

CSES, HORT, AECT, PLPA, HESC, FDSC, HOSP, AMPD Agriculture Librarian

Necia Parker Gibson's picture
Necia Parker Gibson
Contact:
Mullins Library 220N

Email is the best way to contact me. neciap@uark.edu

I've set my office phone to forward to my cell phone. We'll see how that works.

I'm working from home starting 3/16/2020 until further notice. Email or use the text number below. If you want me, particularly, ask for me.

Text a librarian: 479-385-0803

For students, faculty, and staff I will:
Answer your questions via email, phone or Skype or Facetime (until we are back to face to face).
Recommend databases for your topic.
Meet individually to work out your topic or discuss research strategies.

For faculty, I will:
Provide in-person library instruction tailored to your class, or tailored research guides to your class, with some lead time.

Meet with your students individually or in small groups.
Track down tricky citations. Purchase books and other materials, as funds allow.

I do consultations via email, Skype or Facetime (as well as face to face, when we can again).
Email me for an appointment.
479-575-8421
Website

Gathering Citations from Google Scholar into EndNote or Refworks

Google Scholar will allow you to add citations to Endnote Basic, as well as to other citation managers. Once you have done a search and have citations in front of you, you'll see that there is a "Cite" link at the foot of the reference. When you click on that link, you will be offered three versions of the citation which could be copied and pasted, but there are also links in the bottom edge of the box that show BibTex, RefMan, Refworks and EndNote. Click on the name of the product you use, and then log in as needed, and the citation should be imported into your list of references. 

Additional resources

Web-based Citation Managers:

RefWorks allows you to save citations to a personal database and then format those citations in footnotes, endnotes, or bibliographies. EndNote Basic or EndNote Web allows you to save citations to a personal database and then format those citations in footnotes, endnotes, or bibliographies. It is available through Web of Science/Web of Knowledge.

Zotero and Mendeley are two of the free citation managers that are commonly used in academic circles; we don't have formalized support for them, but they have help pages and your librarian may be using one or more of them. Several browsers have plugins that work with Zotero or Mendeley.

Plagiarism and academic dishonesty go beyond simply cutting and pasting text from an article or book into your paper without attribution; they can include paraphrasing without attribution or listing sources that you have not consulted in your Works Cited list. The consequences of plagiarizing another's work can be very serious. Citing your sources is the first step to avoiding plagiarism.

Databases can help you cite!

Many databases provided by the libraries have a "Cite" feature built in.  When you are looking at the detailed information for an item, look for a link or button for citing.  If available, click on it; a pop-up screen will show citations in various styles that you can cut and paste into your bibliography.

Citation and Style Guides

Various disciplines differ in what style they prefer. Journal citation styles may be required. Both RefWorks and Endnote Basic include many of the journal-specific styles. Ask your professor if you have questions about what style to use.