SciFinder for Agriculture, Environmental Sciences, and Engineering

A guide to how SciFinder or SciFinder Scholar can be used in Agriculture, especially Soil Science, Environmental Sciences, various fields of Engineering and related fields.

ANSC, CSES, HORT, AECT, PLPA, HESC, POSC Agriculture Librarian

Necia Parker Gibson's picture
Necia Parker Gibson
Contact:
Mullins Library 220N

Email is the best way to contact me. Click the Email me button or use neciap@uark.edu.

My office phone forwards to my cell phone. If not, send email.

I'm working from home from 3/16/2020 --mid-June 2021. Email or use the text number below. If you want me, particularly, ask for me.

Text a librarian(not me specifically): 479-385-0803

Email me for an appointment, or meet me on Teams by clicking the button!
479-575-8421
Website

Chat with Us

What's in SciFinder?

SciFinder indexes 1500 core journals in chemistry AND indexes relevant articles from thousands of other journals. It is excellent for interdisciplinary topics in the range of subjects covered, such as environmental sciences, water quality, and so on. 

List of core journals in SciFinder

SciFinder includes articles, conferences, papers and patents indexed in Chemical Abstracts and Medline.  It uses the CAS Registry to organize and allows you to search for chemicals and substances including biological materials. Within the substance file it lists property information, links to suppliers catalogs (CHEMCATS) and toxicity information (CHEMLIST). It contains a database of chemical reactions (CASREACT). 

About SciFinder

SciFinder is an excellent database for agricultural topics, environmental sciences, sustainability issues, and biological, mechanical, or chemical engineering research. It indexes: "journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more." 

It includes Medline, one of the National Library of Medicine's databases, which increases its utility for health and food sciences, as well as for the relationships of other sciences to health concerns. In addition, it often shows who funded a particular piece of research. SciFinder can serve as a way to find out who is working on the topic you may be interested in; it can lead to collaboration and cooperation among scholars.

You must register, using your UARK email, and create a password to use it. You must register from a computer on campus.  Your password for SciFinder won't change when you change your Uark password.

Start searching in SciFinder now.

This guide provides basic information about searching in this database. For more information, contact a librarian.

Educational Use Only

SciFinder is the educational version of a commercial database of the same name.  Academic institutions receive a significant discount on this product with the requirement that the resource is only used for educational activities by people affiliated with the institution.  Each person that registers for an account must individually agree to these restrictions. 

If you are working for a corporation outside the University there are several versions of this product available for purchase.  Please go to the Chemical Abstracts Services site for additional information.  Some links are provided below.