Research Guides: HIST 4893: Disorderly Women in Nineteenth-Century America: Microfilm Collections

Using Microfilm

Microfilm and microfiche are housed in Multimedia Services on Level 2 of Mullins Library.

First time using fiche or film? Don't be intimidated. Ask at the Periodicals Desk or main service desk for assistance.

You can scan images (PDF or JPG format) of microfilm to a jump drive, or to your email account. Instructions for scanning.

Microfilm Research Sets

There is a guide to all microfilm research sets post on our web site. Below is a sample from that list.

Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt
Correspondence, diaries (1911-1923), drafts of speeches and articles, subject files, biographical papers, newspaper clippings, printed material, and other papers, chiefly 1890-1920, relating primarily to Mrs. Catt's efforts on behalf of the women's suffrage movement, feminism, and the cause of international peace. Also includes material relating to the Woman's Centennial Congress of 1940 and the National Committee on the Cause and Cure of War. Finding aid online at http://memory.loc.gov/service/mss/eadxmlmss/eadpdfmss/1998/ms998018.pdf
Freedmen's Bureau Records
The Freedmen's Bureau (Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands) was established in March 1865 and was responsible for the welfare of newly freed citizens of the formerly Confederate states. It replaced and served as an office within the War Department. The Freedmen's Bureau documents, all from National Archives Record Group 105, provide detailed evidence from each southern state of the conditions of African Americans during the Reconstruction period.
Indian Rights Association Papers, 1868-1901.
The Indian Rights Association (IRA) was organized in Philadelphia in 1882 to protect the interests and general welfare of Indians and to support government efforts to “civilize” Native Americans. These records include court cases, reservation visits, agent reports, health and welfare recommendations, and more.
Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War
This large commercial project sought to film plantation-related materials: diaries, letters, farm books, bills of sale, ledgers, and other records from various archives throughout the country. The University Libraries own Series J: Part 6 (Selections from the Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Department, Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill). These collections include papers from Gustavus Henry (Desha County)and James Trooper Armstrong (Jefferson County).
Western Americana: Frontier History of the Trans-Mississippi West, 1550-1900
This collection covers more than 7,000 titles assembled in cooperation with the Yale University Library and the Newberry Library on the exploration, settlement, and development of the Trans-Mississippi West. Geographically it covers from the Mexican borderlands to the Arctic; the Mississippi to the Pacific. Individual works are in OneSearch.