Events in the University Libraries

Black History Month Celebration (2/20/2015)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

Keith Knight was the guest speaker for the UAF Libraries’ Black History Month Celebration

Banned Books Week: Celebrate the Freedom to Read (9/27/2014)

Online

The University Libraries will highlight a famously banned classic from Special Collections Rare Books and Special Libraries each day this week in honor of Banned Books Week. Banned Books Week, this year celebrated from September 21 - 27, is an opportunity to examine censorship.

Extended Hours and Study Breaks at Mullins Library (5/6/2014)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Finals are just around the corner! The Libraries and other campus partners are providing opportunities to have fun and relax during your marathon study sessions.

Money Smart Week 2014 (4/11/2014)

Room 102, Mullins Library

Money doesn’t come with instructions. That’s why the University Libraries are hosting programs to teach financial literacy during Money Smart Week, April 5 through 12. Topics include budgeting, credit and credit cards, banking basics, preventing identity theft as well as job search strategies More…

Professor Scott Burcham's Remnant Trust Lecture (4/9/2014)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Professor Scott Burcham's Remnant Trust lecture on Thomas Paine's Common Sense.

University Libraries Present 2014 Film Series (4/8/2014)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

The University of Arkansas Libraries will host a series of foreign language films on the theme of crazy love. "Amour Fou in February" features French New Wave films, and "Amor Loco in April" features two films from Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar. The films will be screened in the Mullins Library More…

University Libraries Present 2014 Film Series (4/1/2014)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

The University of Arkansas Libraries will host a series of foreign language films on the theme of crazy love. "Amour Fou in February" features French New Wave films, and "Amor Loco in April" features two films from Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar. The films will be screened in the Mullins Library More…

Professor Lissette Szwydky's Remnant Trust Lecture (3/19/2014)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Professor Lissette Szwydky of the English Department will lecture on Mary Wollstonecraft's A Vindication of the Rights of Women.

Senator Dale Bumpers Papers Opened to Researchers (3/19/2014)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

The papers of former U.S. Sen. Dale Bumpers will be opened to researchers in a ceremony at 3 p.m. on Wednesday, March 19, in the Helen Robson Walton Reading Room in Mullins Library at the University of Arkansas.

Panel Discussion on Medical Ethics / Remnant Trust Lecture (3/13/2014)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

A panel of professionals in medicine discussing medical ethics as it related to Hippocrates of Kos's Presagiorum Libri.

Professor Jennifer Hoyer's Remnant Trust Lecture (3/11/2014)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Professor Jennifer Hoyer of the World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Department will lecture on Martin Luther's To the Christian Nobility of the German Nation.

Professor Liang Cai's Remnant Trust Lecture (3/6/2014)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

Professor Liang Cai of the History Department will lecture on Shengii Ti's The Illustrated Life of Confucius.

Professor Beth Schweiger's Remnant Trust Lecture (3/4/2014)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Professor Beth Schweiger of the History Department will lecture on Alexis de Tocqueville's Democracy in America.

Dr. Michael Press's Remnant Trust Lecture (2/27/2014)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

Dr. Michael Press, a research fellow at the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies, will lecture on the composition and transmission of the Bible (copying, translation, and publication) in different communities.

Tuckahoe: Poems of Frederick Douglass's Homeland (2/26/2014)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

Drama students at the University of Arkansas will read from a sonnet cycle composed by Professor R. D. Madison.

University Libraries Present 2014 Film Series (2/25/2014)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

The University of Arkansas Libraries will host a series of foreign language films on the theme of crazy love. "Amour Fou in February" features French New Wave films, and "Amor Loco in April" features two films from Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar. The films will be screened in the Mullins Library More…

Janis Kearney to Speak About Daisy Bates (2/20/2014)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

In celebration of Black History Month, the University of Arkansas Libraries will host Janis Kearney, publisher, author and advocate. Kearney will discuss Daisy: Between a Rock and a Hard Place, a biography of civil rights leader Daisy Bates, written by Kearney and published by Writing our World More…

Professor Jeannie Whayne's Remnant Trust Lecture (2/18/2014)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Professor Jeannie Whayne of the History Department will lecture on slavery and emancipation in the United States.

University Libraries Present 2014 Film Series (2/18/2014)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

The University of Arkansas Libraries will host a series of foreign language films on the theme of crazy love. "Amour Fou in February" features French New Wave films, and "Amor Loco in April" features two films from Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar. The films will be screened in the Mullins Library More…

Professor Ben Fagan's Remnant Trust Lecture (2/12/2014)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Professor Ben Fagan of the English Department will lecture on Frederick Douglass's My Bondage and My Freedom.

Professor Daniel John Kennefick's Remnant Trust Lecture (2/11/2014)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Professor Daniel John Kennefick of the Physics Department will lecture on Nicolai Copernicus's On the Revolutions of the Heavenly Spheres.

Study Breaks During Extended Hours in Mullins Library (12/21/2013)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Finals are just around the corner! The Libraries and other campus partners are providing opportunities to have fun and relax during your marathon study sessions.

These Aren’t Old-School Maps: See What’s New on Geographic Information Systems Day (11/20/2013)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

The University of Arkansas Libraries, the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies and the student chapter of the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing will celebrate Geographic Information Systems Day from 10 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 20, in Mullins Library.

Anthony Priest to Speak at Special Collections Open House (10/17/2013)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

In honor of American Archives Month, the University of Arkansas Libraries’ special collections department will host an event featuring a presentation by author and editor Anthony Priest. Priest will discuss the research process of Yonder Mountain: An Ozarks Anthology, that he edited and is published by the University of Arkansas Press. The event will be at 3:30 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 17, in Room 130 on the lower level of Mullins Library. A reception will be held starts at 3 p.m., followed by a review of the special collections department’s accomplishments from last year.

iConnect 2013 (8/24/2013)

Donald W. Reynolds Center

In August the Libraries participated in iConnect, a program to familiarize underrepresented students with campus resources.

Artifacts and Thangkas from the Tibetan Cultural Institute (6/1/2013)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

The University of Arkansas Libraries will host a display of artifacts and thangkas from the Tibetan Cultural Institute in the Walton Reading Room in Mullins Library.

University Libraries Present Four Films by Fellini (2/26/2013)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

The University of Arkansas Libraries will host "Fellini in February" a series of feature films written and directed by Federico Fellini. The films will be screened in the Mullins Library Room 104 each Tuesday evening from Feb. 5 to Feb. 26, all beginning at 6 p.m. Admission is free and open to the More…

Celebrate Geographic Information Systems Day (11/14/2012)

Room 102, Mullins Library

The University of Arkansas Libraries, the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies and the student chapter of the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing will celebrate Geographic Information Systems Day from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 14, in Mullins Library.

Celebrate Archives Month 2012: Ernie Dumas to Speak at Special Collections Open House (10/17/2012)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

In honor of American Archives Month, journalist Ernie Dumas will discuss his book Dearest Letty and the collection of World War II love letters between Leland Duvall and his future wife upon which the book is based.

Physics Library Open House (9/28/2012)

Physics Library

Have you seen the recent renovations to the Physics Library? Drop by during our open house from 2 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., Friday, September 28, take a tour, and enjoy some refreshments! The Physics Library is located at 221 Physics Building, 825 West Dickson Street. The event precedes the physics More…

40-50-100: Milestones in Arkansas's Environmental History (9/19/2012)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

The University of Arkansas Libraries will celebrate environmentalism in the Natural State with an event titled "40-50-100: Milestones in Arkansas’s Environmental History" on from 3 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, September 19, in the Helen Robson Walton Reading Room in Mullins Library.

Laurence Luckinbill Papers Announcement and Reception (6/18/2012)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

Please join us for a press conference and reception in honor of Laurence Luckinbill, McIlroy Family Visiting Professor, and in celebration of the acquisition of his papers by the University of Arkansas Libraries.

Libraries' Film Series 2012--Four Films of the Apocalypse (4/24/2012)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

The University of Arkansas Libraries are hosting a series of feature films on the theme "Four Films of the Apocalypse" in celebration of National Library Week. The films will be screened in Mullins Library Room 104 each Tuesday evening from April 3 to April 24, all beginning at 7 p.m.

Daisy Bates: First Lady of Little Rock Documentary Prescreening (1/19/2012)

Donald W. Reynolds Center

In celebration of Martin Luther King, Jr. week, the University Libraries and Diversity Affairs will host a prescreening of the PBS documentary Daisy Bates: First Lady of Little Rock on January 19, at 2 p.m. in the Donald W. Reynolds Center. The film's producer and director, Sharon La Cruise, will More…

Discover Arkansas in the Archives: Burial Customs of the Arkansas Ozarks, 1850-1950 (10/5/2011)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

In honor of American Archives Month, journalist Abby Burnett will deliver a program titled, “Gone to the Grave: Burial Customs of the Arkansas Ozarks, 1850–1950” on Wednesday, Oct. 5, in Room 130 on the lower level of Mullins Library. Sponsored by the University of Arkansas Libraries’ More…

Congressman John Paul Hammerschmidt Papers Opened to Researchers (9/14/2011)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

The papers of former Congressman John Paul Hammerschmidt were opened to researchers on September 14, 2011 in the Helen Robson Walton Reading Room in Mullins Library at the University of Arkansas.

Sand mandala creation (5/12/2011)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

Tibetan traditions were the focus of events surrounding the visit of His Holiness the Dalai Lama during Tibet Week 2011.

Tibetan Buddhist butter sculpture demonstration with Sonam Dhargye (5/11/2011)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

Sonam Dhargye conducted a live demonstration of the building of a traditional Tibetan Buddhist butter sculpture, which is central to spiritual development in Tibetan Buddhism and are considered a high form of Tibetan art.

Libraries' Film Series 2011--Monsters & Mayhem (4/26/2011)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

In celebration of National Library Week, the University of Arkansas Libraries are hosting a film festival on the theme of Monsters & Mayhem in Mullins Room 104 each Tuesday evening in April

Free Indie Film Screening of "A Genesis Found" (3/17/2011)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

Mullins Library will host a stop on the 2010-11 Southeastern Campus Tour for the independent feature film, "A Genesis Found."

Zome Day 2010 (11/18/2010)

East Staircase, Mullins Library

The MathClub, the department of Mathematical Sciences, the University Libraries, and Zometool, Inc. will host the fourth Zome Day at Mullins Library on the University of Arkansas campus on Thursday, November 18.

Reception to Honor Chad Smith, Chief of the Cherokee Nation (11/8/2010)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

The reception will culminate a day-long visit with University staff and faculty.

Discover Arkansas in the Archives: Archives Month 2010 (10/27/2010)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

Teenaged Little Rock filmmakers featured at Archives Month Open House.

University Learning Commons Open House (9/1/2010)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

The University Libraries and IT Services will host an open house of the newly renovated University Learning Commons on September 1 from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Treasures of Mullins Library Walking Tours (8/25/2010)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

30-minute walking tour offers an overview of collections, services, and facilities of Mullins Library.

Student Film Festival (4/15/2010)

Performing Arts & Media Viewing Room

In celebration of National Library Week, the University of Arkansas Libraries are hosting a student film festival featuring amateur films created by current and former students of the university.

Libraries Short Video Contest 2010 (4/4/2010)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Create a cell phone video and win an ITunes gift card. Three prizes (100, 50, 25 dollar cards) will be awarded.

Diane Blair Papers Opening (3/9/2010)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

As part of the celebration marking the opening of the Diane Blair Papers, Special Collections has created an exhibit filled with mementos of her career as an educator, author, citizen, and friend.

GIS Day Open House 2009 (11/18/2009)

J. B. Hunt Center for Academic Excellence

Each year the University Libraries and the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies host a local celebration of Geographic Information Systems Day to give the public the opportunity to view real-world applications of GIS technology by specialists from around the region. This year, in addition to More…

"We Surely Owe a Debt to these Long Downtrodden People" (11/18/2009)

Giffels Auditorium, Old Main

The University of Arkansas Libraries' Special Collections Department joined with the History Department, the UA Press, and the University of Arkansas Bookstore to present "'We Surely Owe a Debt to these Long Downtrodden People': The Accidental Founding and Amazing Survival of Southland College, More…

Celebrating the Arkansas Experience: Archives Month Open House 2009 (10/29/2009)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

The University Libraries' Special Collections Department commemorated Archives Month by hosting an open house in Special Collections, Mullins Library room 130, on October 29, from 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM. The event will included ran overview of the past year from head of Special Collections Tom More…

John Bell, Jr. Reception (9/11/2009)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

The University Libraries hosted a reception from 2 to 4 p.m. on Friday, September 11, honoring John Bell, Jr. of Fort Smith, the artist whose work was exhibited in Mullins Library through the end of October. Mr. Bell is a 1965 graduate of the university, whose lifelong achievement in art will be More…

Life and Death of the Oldest Newspaper West of the Mississippi (4/29/2009)

Giffels Auditorium, Old Main

Renowned reporter, writer and teacher Roy Reed spoke on the history of the Arkansas Gazette on April 29 at Giffels Auditorium in Old Main at the University of Arkansas. The program, titled "The Life and Death of the Oldest Newspaper West of the Mississippi," began with a reception at 3 p.m., followed by a lecture at 3:30 and a book signing immediately thereafter. Reed's latest book, Looking Back at the Arkansas Gazette: An Oral History, was recently published by the University of Arkansas Press. The program was co-sponsored by the Special Collections Department of the University of Arkansas Libraries, the University of Arkansas Press, and the university’s Walter J. Lemke department of Journalism.

Fay Jones Collection Opened (4/29/2009)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

The Fay Jones Collection was formally opened by University of Arkansas Libraries Dean Carolyn Allen during the April dedication of the Fay Jones School of Architecture. The collection contains drawings for projects, business and academic records, slide and photographic images, books, and working More…

Mandala: A Spiritual Experience of Tibet (3/29/2009)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

Geshe Dorjee, instructor at the University of Arkansas's Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, and Gedun Pekar of Fayetteville's Tibetan Cultural Institute of Arkansas were joined by two visiting scholars of Tibetan culture, Zoepa Gyatso and Lama Agha, and the four created a Tibetan sand mandala More…

Office of Scientific and Technical Information Databases Training (3/26/2009)

Room 102, Mullins Library

A virtual workshop with Tim Byrne of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information was hosted on Thursday, March 26 from 1:30 to 4:30 p.m. Byrne demonstrated search functions and provided tips for the major Web sites and online databases of the U.S. Department of More…

Suffering Doesn't End Once the Killing Has Stopped (2/26/2009)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

Professor Samuel Totten gave a lecture titled "The Suffering Doesn’t End Once the Killing has Stopped: The Plight and Fate of the Survivors of the 1994 Rwandan Genocide" from 2 to 4 p.m. in the Helen Robson Walton Reading Room of Mullins Library on Thursday, February 26. Copies of Totten's recent More…

Jim Crow in the Natural State: A Look at White Supremacy in Arkansas History (2/25/2009)

UA School of Law WATR 342

Arkansas historian and author Grif Stockley gave a lecture in honor of Black History Month entitled "Jim Crow in the Natural State: A Look at White Supremacy in Arkansas History." A reception began at 3 p.m., with the lecture following at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, February 25 in the UA School of Law More…

Zome Day 2008 (12/4/2008)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

The University of Arkansas Math Club and the department of mathematical sciences held Zome Day 2008 from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 4. Club members, volunteers, and organizers Luca Capogna, professor of mathematics, and Chaim Goodman-Strauss, chair of the mathematical sciences department, More…

GIS Day Open House 2008 (11/19/2008)

J. B. Hunt Center for Academic Excellence

The University Libraries and the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies hosted a local celebration of Geographic Information Systems Day for the campus and community. The GIS Day Open House showcased real-world applications of GIS technology by students, faculty and other specialists from the More…

Mysteries, Mistresses & Murder: 3 Arkansas Authors (10/29/2008)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

October is American Archives Month, and the University Libraries' Special Collections department commemorated the month by hosting a series of lectures titled "Mysteries, Mistresses, and Murder: Celebrating Three Arkansas Authors." All lectures were free and open to the public.

The first Arkansas author to speak in the series was Laura Parker Castoro of Pine Bluff, author of 38 novels in the genres of historical and contemporary romance, western, romantic suspense, and young adult fiction. Castoro began her career writing historical and contemporary romance novels, published under the name Laura Parker. Castoro’s lecture was given on Wednesday, October 8, from 3 to 5 p.m. in the Special Collections Reading Room in Mullins Library (MULN 130).

Mullins Library 40th Anniversary (9/16/2008)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Mullins Library celebrated its 40th birthday on Tuesday, September 16, 2008. In celebration of 40 years of operation, staff and faculty of Mullins assembled an exhibit of memorabilia from four decades of service to the university community in the Helen Robson Walton Reading Room in Mullins Library. More…

George Dombek Donates Painting (5/19/2008)

Fine Arts Library

George Dombek donated a 40" x 40" watercolor from his Ozark Portrait series to the University of Arkansas Libraries on Monday, May 19, 2008. The painting, entitled Medal of Honor, comes from a series of works titled "Ozark Portraits," which feature bygone common household and farm tools. Dombek says, "The subjects are pieces of farm equipment; primarily exhaust pipes and oil cans, usually worn and rusty. As the series progressed the subjects began to take on life-like forms, thus the name Ozark Portrait. For instance, a group of cans became a 'family'; grandmother, grandfather and their triplet grandchildren. Now I've reached a point where I have specific people in mind when I do a new Ozark Portrait piece."

Walkin' Talkin' Gallery Tour (2/8/2008)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

Memphis artist George Hunt hosted two walk-through tours of his exhibit in Mullins Library on Friday, February 8, at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. Hunt called it his "Walkin' Talkin' Gallery Tour," in which he described each painting and his motivation for painting it. Each lecture was followed by a reception More…

Zome Day 2007 (11/30/2007)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

The Undergraduate Math Club built a giant "cantellated dodecaplex" using ZOME tools on Friday, November 30, in Mullins Library, at the east entrance under the spiral staircase. The sculpture was composed of several small regular cells, joined together to build a very large and beautiful geometrical More…

GIS Day 2007 (11/14/2007)

J. B. Hunt Center for Academic Excellence

The University Libraries and the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies hosted an open house to recognize Geographic Information Systems Day in the second floor atrium area of the J.B. Hunt Transport Services Inc. Center for Academic Excellence from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 14. GIS More…

A Giant Step: 1960 Little Rock Film (11/13/2007)

Second Presbyterian Church

The special collections department of the University of Arkansas hosted a screening of the 1960 film on Little Rock titled "A Giant Step" at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 13, at the Second Presbyterian Church in Little Rock. The history of the film began when the Greater Little Rock Council of Garden More…

Native American Symposium Kickoff 2007 (11/6/2007)

Main Lobby Area, Mullins Library

The 2007 Native American Symposium held its kickoff event at the University of Arkansas Libraries on November 6, 2007. Event co-chairs Gloria Young and Frank Scheide were on hand for the event, which began with a short welcome from Dean of Libraries Carolyn Allen. Participants in the symposium More…

Special Collections 40th Anniversary (10/25/2007)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

The Special Collections Department at the University of Arkansas Libraries celebrated its 40th anniversary with two events during American Archives Month 2007. On Saturday October 20, faculty and staff from Special Collections conducted two Family History Workshops at the Fayetteville Public More…

Before Little Rock: Successful Arkansas School Integration (9/15/2007)

Law School Courtroom WATR 240

Because the Little Rock Central High School Integration Crisis grabbed the national spotlight in 1957, most Arkansans are unaware of the positive strides taken toward integration in Arkansas before 1957. The University of Arkansas Libraries hosted a series of three events collectively titled More…

Pryor Center Reception (4/27/2007)

Cosmopolitan Hotel

David and Barbara Pryor and the University Libraries co-hosted a reception honoring Kris Katrosh, newly appointed director of the David and Barbara Pryor Center for Arkansas Oral and Visual History at the Cosmopolitan Hotel on Friday April 27, 2007 from 3:15 to 4:30 p.m. The reception followed the More…

The Architecture and Landscapes of Arkansas: A Heritage of Distinction (3/2/2007)

Continuing Education Center

The Special Collections Department and the School of Architecture hosted a conference titled "The Architecture and Landscapes of Arkansas: A Heritage of Distinction" on March 2, 2007 at the UA Continuing Education Center in downtown Fayetteville.

The Photographic Mission of Ralph Armstrong (2/21/2007)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

Susan Marren, assoc. professor of English, lectured on the life and works of Ralph Armstrong, the Little Rock photographer whose exhibit was currently on display in Mullins Library. The lecture was held Wednesday, February 21, at 4 p.m. in Special Collections. Seven members of the Armstrong family, More…

GIS Day Open House 2006 (11/15/2006)

Room 486, Mullins Library

The University Libraries hosted an Open House to recognize Geographic Information Systems Day. The Open House was held on the east end of Level 4 of Mullins Library on Wednesday, Nov. 15. GIS Day is an international event designed to showcase real-world applications of GIS technology. From 11 a.m. More…

Archives Week Open House 2006 (10/23/2006)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

The University Libraries Special Collections department celebrated Archives Week (October 22-28) with an Open House on October 23. The purpose of Archives Week in Arkansas is to celebrate the documentary history of the state, to raise awareness of the value of archival materials and archival More…

Face to Face: The Borchard Collection of British Self-Portraits in the 20th Century Reception (10/12/2006)

Walton Arts Center

On exhibition for the first time in the U. S., "Face to Face" featured more than 100 self-portraits collected by the late Ruth Borchard of London, who never paid more than 21 guineas for any one picture. Borchard's concept was to collect those works that captured the artist's introspection beyond More…

All That Remains: Forensic Anthropology & the Medicolegal Investigation of Death (10/12/2006)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

Dr. Murray K. Marks, associate professor of the departments of Anthropology and Pathology at the University of Tennessee, associate director of the Forensic Anthropology Center, and curator of the Forensic Anthropology Facility in Knoxville, more popularly known as the "Body Farm," gave a lecture More…

Stay More Reunion (9/20/2006)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

Special Collections announced the publication of Donald Harington and His Stay More Novels: A Celebration of 35 Years, a printing of the keynote address given by Bob Razer at the Stay More Reunion in December, 2005.

The Universe Provides, a talk by Evelyn C. White (2/22/2006)

Walton Reading Room, Mullins Library

Evelyn C. White, author of the critically acclaimed biography titled Alice Walker: A Life (Norton, 2004) presented a lecture, "The Universe Provides: Writing the Life of Alice Walker; Musings on The Color Purple, Abundance, and the Art of Biography," on Wednesday, Feb. 22, in the Helen Robson Walton Reading Room.

Mary Celestia Parler Conference (11/11/2005)

Special Collections Reading Room, Mullins Library

Special Collections hosted a conference on the life and work of Mary Celestia Parler on November 11-12, 2005 in Fayetteville. Mary Celestia Parler, a pioneering folklorist at the University of Arkansas and spouse of folklorist Vance Randolph, amassed one of the largest and most important More…