Provides access to more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes issues from the Arkansas Freeman (1869), the Arkansas Mansion (1883-1884), the Arkansas State Press (1941- 1959), and Homeland (Forrest City, 1991-1999).

Includes the full image of articles published in the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975. The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. You can browse individual issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen, or search by keyword(s), author(s), article title, date ranges, and more. Includes illustrations and advertisements.

Covers: 1900-1981. Offers primary source documents on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century. Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, an exceptional collection of FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the highest levels of the federal government.

Offers scripts together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. The database includes facsimile images for some screenplays.

A digital library of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Users can search for or browse images by creator, time period, genre, type of work (e.g., sculpture, jewelry, architectural drawing), or by region where created. Artstor images are contributed by museums, libraries, and universities worldwide and are intended for educational use.

Covers: 1850s-. Offers works by playwrights of African descent, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Covers: 1870-. Offers stories, folk tales, and other short works from Africa and the African Diaspora. Also offers complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon.

Covers: 1850s-. Offers non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, including interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and periodicals such as The Black Panther.

Covers: 19th century-. Offers fiction, poetry, and essays written by women from Africa and the African Diaspora. As with other Alexander Street databases, users may search by criteria such as keyword in text, author, title, time period, ethnicity of author, and more.

Covers: 1524-1885. Draws together primary source materials on the cultural encounters in the European exploration of and United States expansion into of the North American continent. Contains letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Users can search or browse by year, place, ethnic group, environment, cultural event, flora, fauna, or image.

Covers: 1470 - 1700. Offers page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from the beginning of printing through the 17th century. Fully searchable texts are available for more than 60,000 titles.

Covers: - 2000. Offers oral history interviews with notable African Americans. Search by topic, personal values, social and racial issues, profession, and more.

Covers: 1500-1900. An archive of books, pamphlets, court records, and manuscript materials consisting of debates on slavery and abolition. Includes records from the American Colonization Society, from Oberlin's Anti-Slavery collection, from the American Missionary Society (Tulane), and records from the Library of Congress, the National Archives, Yale, Oxford, the Institute of Commonwealth Studies, and other archives.

A digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. Includes marriage, birth and death records census materials, military records, WPA interviews, and Freedman's Bank records as well as secondary publications.