Research Guides: AAST 2023: The African American Experience: Books

Search OneSearch for Books, Journals, Videos, and more

Useful Terms

You can search the following subjects in OneSearch and WorldCat, the union catalog of libraries worldwide. These are official Library of Congress Subject Headings, which allow more precise searching. Substitute a space for an em-dash.

broad topics	sample subject terms
African Americans, biography	african americans—biography african americans—biography—dictionaries african american politicians african american scientists african american women
African Americans, culture	african american art african american dance american drama—african american authors african americans—education american literature—african american authors african americans in motion pictures african americans—music african american theater
African Americans, history, sociology	african americans—history african americans—social life and customs african americans—southern states african americans—religion

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.
WorldCat Classic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The University Libraries are members of HathiTrust; U o fA students, faculty and staff can now download complete works and take advantage of other features, including building and sharing collections of works. Read more on our HathiTrust Guide.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.

Remote Access and Delivery

Almost every electronic resource of the University Libraries can be used remotely. Access to subscription resources requires authentication, generally via a valid username and password. Use of OneSearch does not require authentication, although authentication will ensure that all relevant hits to online materials are displayed and accessible.

The University Libraries will ship physical materials free of charge to you as a distant student. To request a physical item in the collection, fill out a request in ILLiad, the software for Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL can deliver books to you and scan physical articles from the collection and deliver as PDFs. The delivery of items from other libraries through ILL is also available.

ILLiad
Software to request items or scans from other libraries or from the University of Arkansas Libraries collections.