Automated Data Collection with R by
A hands on guide to web scraping and text mining for both beginners and experienced users of R Introduces fundamental concepts of the main architecture of the web and databases and covers HTTP, HTML, XML, JSON, SQL. Provides basic techniques to query web documents and data sets (XPath and regular expressions). An extensive set of exercises are presented to guide the reader through each technique. Explores both supervised and unsupervised techniques as well as advanced techniques such as data scraping and text management. Case studies are featured throughout along with examples for each technique presented. R code and solutions to exercises featured in the book are provided on a supporting website.
Practical Text Mining and Statistical Analysis for Non-Structured Text Data Applications by
Practical Text Mining and Statistical Analysis for Non-structured Text Data Applications brings together all the information, tools and methods a professional will need to efficiently use text mining applications and statistical analysis. Winner of a 2012 PROSE Award in Computing and Information Sciences from the Association of American Publishers, this book presents a comprehensive how-to reference that shows the user how to conduct text mining and statistically analyze results. In addition to providing an in-depth examination of core text mining and link detection tools, methods and operations, the book examines advanced preprocessing techniques, knowledge representation considerations, and visualization approaches. Finally, the book explores current real-world, mission-critical applications of text mining and link detection using real world example tutorials in such varied fields as corporate, finance, business intelligence, genomics research, and counterterrorism activities. The world contains an unimaginably vast amount of digital information which is getting ever vaster ever more rapidly. This makes it possible to do many things that previously could not be done: spot business trends, prevent diseases, combat crime and so on. Managed well, the textual data can be used to unlock new sources of economic value, provide fresh insights into science and hold governments to account. As the Internet expands and our natural capacity to process the unstructured text that it contains diminishes, the value of text mining for information retrieval and search will increase dramatically.
Python Web Scraping Cookbook by
Untangle your web scraping complexities and access web data with ease using Python scripts Key Features Hands-on recipes for advancing your web scraping skills to expert level One-stop solution guide to address complex and challenging web scraping tasks using Python Understand web page structures and collect data from a website with ease Book Description Python Web Scraping Cookbook is a solution-focused book that will teach you techniques to develop high-performance Scrapers, and deal with cookies, hidden form fields, Ajax-based sites and proxies. You'll explore a number of real-world scenarios where every part of the development or product life cycle will be fully covered. You will not only develop the skills to design reliable, high-performing data flows, but also deploy your codebase to Amazon Web Services (AWS). If you are involved in software engineering, product development, or data mining or in building data-driven products, you will find this book useful as each recipe has a clear purpose and objective. Right from extracting data from websites to writing a sophisticated web crawler, the book's independent recipes will be extremely helpful while on the job. This book covers Python libraries, requests, and BeautifulSoup. You will learn about crawling, web spidering, working with AJAX websites, and paginated items. You will also understand to tackle problems such as 403 errors, working with proxy, scraping images, and LXML. By the end of this book, you will be able to scrape websites more efficiently and deploy and operate your scraper in the cloud. What you will learn Use a variety of tools to scrape any website and data, including Scrapy and Selenium Master expression languages, such as XPath and CSS, and regular expressions to extract web data Deal with scraping traps such as hidden form fields, throttling, pagination, and different status codes Build robust scraping pipelines with SQS and RabbitMQ Scrape assets like image media and learn what to do when Scraper fails to run Explore ETL techniques of building a customized crawler, parser, and convert structured and unstructured data from websites Deploy and run your scraper as a service in AWS Elastic Container Service Who this book is for This book is ideal for Python programmers, web administrators, security professionals, and anyone who wants to perform web analytics. Familiarity with Python and basic understanding of web scraping will be useful to make the best of this book.
Text Mining by
This book discusses text mining and different ways this type of data mining can be used to find implicit knowledge from text collections. The author provides the guidelines for implementing text mining systems in Java, as well as concepts and approaches. The book starts by providing detailed text preprocessing techniques and then goes on to provide concepts, the techniques, the implementation, and the evaluation of text categorization. It then goes into more advanced topics including text summarization, text segmentation, topic mapping, and automatic text management.
Text Mining in Practice with R by
A reliable, cost-effective approach to extracting priceless business information from all sources of text Excavating actionable business insights from data is a complex undertaking, and that complexity is magnified by an order of magnitude when the focus is on documents and other text information. This book takes a practical, hands-on approach to teaching you a reliable, cost-effective approach to mining the vast, untold riches buried within all forms of text using R. Author Ted Kwartler clearly describes all of the tools needed to perform text mining and shows you how to use them to identify practical business applications to get your creative text mining efforts started right away. With the help of numerous real-world examples and case studies from industries ranging from healthcare to entertainment to telecommunications, he demonstrates how to execute an array of text mining processes and functions, including sentiment scoring, topic modelling, predictive modelling, extracting clickbait from headlines, and more. You'll learn how to: Identify actionable social media posts to improve customer service Use text mining in HR to identify candidate perceptions of an organisation, match job descriptions with resumes, and more Extract priceless information from virtually all digital and print sources, including the news media, social media sites, PDFs, and even JPEG and GIF image files Make text mining an integral component of marketing in order to identify brand evangelists, impact customer propensity modelling, and much more Most companies' data mining efforts focus almost exclusively on numerical and categorical data, while text remains a largely untapped resource. Especially in a global marketplace where being first to identify and respond to customer needs and expectations imparts an unbeatable competitive advantage, text represents a source of immense potential value. Unfortunately, there is no reliable, cost-effective technology for extracting analytical insights from the huge and ever-growing volume of text available online and other digital sources, as well as from paper documents--until now.