Data & Statistics Portal

General Social Sciences Databases

There are several databases that provide general demographic information that is applicable to all of the social sciences.

Social Science Disciplines

Databases detailing Government Activity:

Databases detailing Civic Engagement:

Databases detailing Poverty Measures:

Databases detailing Public Assistance:

Census.gov Data

By the numbers:

Interactive Data Tools:

  • Data Visualization Gallery - This is an interesting "weekly exploration of Census data used to promote visualization and make data accessible to a broader audience."
  • 2010 Census Interactive Population Map - "Use this tool to explore 2010 Census statistics down to the block level, compare your community with others, and embed charts on your web site." You can illustrate various processes and problems and solutions with this data.
  • QuickFacts - The most-frequently-asked-for Census Bureau information at the national, state, county, and city level.
  • Easy Stats - quick and easy access to commonly sought selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey.
  • Census Data Mapper - use this interactive map to explore Census data through a mashup of population and economic data.
  • Economic Database Search and Trend Charts - this gives "...easy access to Economic Statistics using drop-down menus. Create tables in ASCII text and spreadsheet format; display customizable dynamic charts."
  • Online Mapping Tools - using TIGER files and the American FactFinder, you can map statistics to geographic areas.
  • US Gazetteer - Place name and ZIP code search engine.
  • Business Dynamics Statistics - This tool shows tabulations on establishments, firms, and employment and unique information on firm age and firm size.

Find it with the DataFerrett:

DataFerrett is a tool and data resource that searches for and pulls data across federal, state, and local surveys; it executes customized variable recoding, and creates complex tabulations and business graphics. Data can be drawn from the Current Population Survey, Survey of Income and Program Participation, American Community Survey, American Housing Survey, Small Area Income Poverty Estimates, Population Estimates, Economic Census Area-wide Statistics, National Center for Health Statistics data, Centers for Disease Control data, and more.

DataFerrett’s newest tool, the Hot Reports provides access to counties' information and the Employment & Training Administration’s Workforce Innovation in Regional Economic Development (WIRED) areas across the U.S.

The Local Employment Dynamics partnership offers a variety of data tools including the following:

  • EEO Data Tools - Using the web-based tools, select tabulations for various levels of geography based on residence or workplace.
  • QWI Explorer: Find out about NAICS-based or SIC-based Quarterly Workforce Indicators by state, geographic grouping, industry, year and quarter, sex, age group, and ownership.
  • OnTheMap: This tool shows where workers are employed and where they live through an interactive and geographically flexible mapping interface. The maps, charts, and reports also provide detailed worker characteristics such as age, earnings, NAICS industry sector, as well as information on race, ethnicity, and educational attainment.
  • Industry Focus: This tool lets you determine top industries for your local area and your local workers, focus on a particular industry to see how it ranks among top industries, and examine the characteristics of people who work in that industry.