Finding Articles about EBP or EBM
*If you are off campus, you may be asked to enter your UARK username and password*
- ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1966-. Complete database on educational materials from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC). ERIC indexes two different kinds of publication: journal articles and ERIC Documents or reports. - APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1887-. Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Indexes journals, as well as books, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1937-.A comprehensive source for nursing and related fields, covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL also indexes books and dissertations." - MEDLINE Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1950-. A comprehensive index from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, covering journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Includes all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration. MEDLINE is a part of the National Library of Medicine's PubMed information suite. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1945-. Indexes high-impact journals in all disciplines. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track citations, and to find articles that share many references in common.
Use the "Editions" drop down to limit your search to arts and humanities, social sciences, or sciences.
Searching Tips
Need help? Please ask!
The most common disciplines using evidence-based practice are medicine, nursing, psychology and psychiatry, social work, and education.
Some of the databases will allow you to limit your searches to content that is evidence-based. Review articles or meta-analyses can be sound by limiting via the publication type menu, lower on the search screen.
Find articles by searching in the databases and seeing if we have the content. Commonly, you may start with keyword searching, but there are other techniques that may be useful, such as using the thesaurus to choose terms, subject searching and finding other works by authors you favor. Particular journals may be more important than others.
Interdisciplinary databases cover a lot of topics but not in as much depth (e.g. Academic Search Complete or ProQuest Central, JSTOR). Subject databases cover specific types of materials or a defined subject area in depth (e.g., WorldCat, America: History and Life, PsycINFO, Social Work Abstracts, Anthropological Literature (AnthroLit), Agricola or Project Muse).These may or may not contain systematic reviews of the literature for evidence-based practice.
In most, the "FindIt" button will show the holdings of the journal, magazine or newspaper or link to e-content if we have it. You may have to click through several pages or search for the article within the journal if it is available online.
- Resources by SubjectSelect an subject appropriate to your topic to find resources by that subject.
A Caveat about the Literature (many disciplines are under scrutiny)
- "Peer-reviewed journal articles aren't gospel."Broad claims, cherry-picking and other flaws can show up even in articles submitted to peer-reviewed journals.
- Compare TrialsMedical students studied articles and compared them against their original claims for clinical trials-- looking for switched outcomes. Interesting reading.