CSES, HORT, AECT, PLPA, HESC Agriculture Librarian
Necia Parker Gibson
she/her/hers/Ms.
Contact:
Mullins Library 422 (Level 4, Librarians' suite)
Email is the best way to contact me. Click the Email me button or use neciap@uark.edu.
My office phone forwards to my cell phone. If not, send email.
Email or use the text number below. If you want me, particularly, ask for me.
Text a librarian(not me specifically): 479-385-0803
Email me for an appointment, or meet me on Teams by clicking the button! If I'm available, I'll answer.
Email is the best way to contact me. Click the Email me button or use neciap@uark.edu.
My office phone forwards to my cell phone. If not, send email.
Email or use the text number below. If you want me, particularly, ask for me.
Text a librarian(not me specifically): 479-385-0803
Email me for an appointment, or meet me on Teams by clicking the button! If I'm available, I'll answer.
479-575-8421
Website
Subjects: Agricultural Education, Communication and Technology, Agriculture, Animal Science, Apparel Studies, Crop, Soil, and Environmental Science, Entomology and Plant Pathology, Food Science, Horticulture, Hospitality, Human Development and Family Sciences, Human Nutrition and Dietetics, Poultry Science, Style Manuals
Most articles are *not* systematic reviews, but you may limit to that type in different ways
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers 1937-.A comprehensive source for nursing and related fields, covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL also indexes books and dissertations." - ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1966-. Complete database on educational materials from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC). ERIC indexes two different kinds of publication: journal articles and ERIC Documents or reports. - MEDLINE Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1950-. A comprehensive index from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, covering journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Includes all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration. MEDLINE is a part of the National Library of Medicine's PubMed information suite. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1950-. A service of the National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Offers comprehensive coverage of all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration.
- National Quality Measures ClearinghouseFrom the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services-- look for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1887-. Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Indexes journals, as well as books, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials.
- The Guide to Community Preventive Services (from the Centers for Disease Control)."The Guide to Community Preventive Services is a free resource to help you choose programs and policies to improve health and prevent disease in your community. Systematic reviews are used to answer these questions:
•Which program and policy interventions have been proven effective? •Are there effective interventions that are right for my community? •What might effective interventions cost; what is the likely return on investment?" - TRIP database: clinical search engine"The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice." Usually you'll find summaries rather than full reports, but this varies.
They have a "Pro" version that costs $, but some material is still freely available.
Systematic Literature Reviews--
Systematic literature reviews are both a summary of what's known and contain recommendations for practice. Often, they may say what is recommended, what's not supported sufficiently to be recommended, and what practices are recommended against! Some also include an economic evaluation, as what may work best may not be affordable in some cases.
- A Guide to Conducting Systematic Reviews: Steps in a Systematic Reviewfrom Cornell University
Graph of study strength
- Relative Strength of Studiesfrom vox.com, 1/13/15
http://www.vox.com/2015/1/5/7482871/types-of-study-design