Research Guides: Management Research: Human Resources

Business Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

MULN 422

(479) 575-4810

Subjects: Accounting, Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness, Business, Economics, Finance, Information Systems, Management, Marketing, Strategy, Entrepreneurship and Innovation, Supply Chain Management

Education Librarian

Megan York

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Mullins Library
MULN 419

(479) 575-4937

Subjects: Communication Sciences and Disorders, Counselor Education, Education, Education Reform, Human Resource Development, Occupational Therapy, Public Health, Public Policy

Human Resources Development

This guide contains information related to library resources useful for students and faculty researching Human Resources Development and Management topics. These resources include articles, journals, books, professional associations, citation management, and more! Contact your librarian with additional questions or feedback on the guide.

Library Databases

You may identify a peer reviewed article in the databases below for your research, but reading a peer reviewed article can be overwhelming. Check out this video on Reviewing the Sections of a Peer Reviewed Article to help you understand how to focus on certain sections to assess if the article is right for your research needs.

If you are asked to login, please use your UARK credentials.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1971-. This business and trade database indexes and offers full text for U.S. and international academic and trade journals covering business and economic conditions, accounting, finance, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886, in addition to popular and trade magazines and newsletters. In addition to periodical literature, also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
New! Includes selected case studies and Harvard Business Review Ebooks!
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1966-. Comprehensive database on educational topics from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC). Indexes both journal articles and research reports.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Covers 1925-. Offers international coverage of both public and private company information, executive biographies, and industry profiles. Mergent Online includes information published by Dun and Bradstreet and the former Moody's.

Online Resources

Society for Human Resource Management SRHM
The Society for Human Resource Management provides a vast amount of information related to Human Resources, from online publications to HR job openings around the country to an information center and library of white papers, model surveys, questionnaires, and job descriptions.
Human Resources Associations
Directory of HR Associations compiled by HR-guide.com.
HR Guide.com
Extensive list of well-organized links to "internet based resources for HR professionals and students."
Human Resource Executive Online
A dynamic list of over 5,000 Web sites for HR professionals. All sites researched and qualified by Cornell University School of Industrial and Labor Relations.
HR Resource
Articles, white papers, tools such as turnover rate/cost, cost per hire and other calculators. Requires a free membership for access some areas. Additional fee-based content.

Employment and Benefits Law
Links to many resources on such topics as employment law, labor-management relations, labor standards, employee rights and responsibilities.
Employment Law Information Network
Provides a wealth of information on employment law including policies and forms, articles on national and state laws, access to court cases, and federal laws and regulations.
FindLaw Employment Rights Center
Information on the legal rights of workers in all phases of employment, from hiring to termination, and other common employment law issues -- including job benefits, fair pay, Family and Medical Leave rights, workplace safety, and protection from on-the-job discrimination and harassment.
AFL-CIO
Provides a directory listing of unions affiliated with the American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO).
American with Disabilities Act
Portal of the U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
Part of the U.S. Department of Labor. Regulations, worker rights, information for employers, data and statistics, enforcement, training, publications, and more. Includes information in Spanish.
Sexual Harassment
By the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.
How to Cite Legal Materials

Occupational Outlook Handbook
This Bureau of Labor Statistics website provides information about the training and education needed for a specific occupation, earnings, expected job prospects, job responsibilities, working conditions and more for hundreds of different kinds of occupation
O*NET Center
The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) is a database of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors developed by the US Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration (USDOL/ETA) and the North Carolina Employment Security Commission.
Career OneStop
Explore different careers at this portal sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.
Firsthand
Provides access to industry career guides, industry employer guides, career topic guides and interview/resume guides published in the Vault career library series. Includes career advice blogs.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Data
Data on pay & benefits, including the National Compensation Survey, Pay & Cost of Benefits, Employment Cost Index, and more.
BLS National Compensation Survey
Wages for 450 occupations on an hourly and annual basis available on national, state and metropolitan level. Details include union status, incentive status, establishment size and type - excludes federal government employees, and those employed in agriculture, fishing, forestry industries as well as private household workers. Data is for establishments with more than 50 workers and actual rather than standardized work hours are reported.
BLS Employment Cost Trends
Employer Costs for Employee Compensation: average cost of wages per hour for major occupational and industry group. Available on a national level.
BLS Employee Benefits Survey
Employee benefits in private, small, medium, and large companies.
BLS Wage Data by Area and Occupation
National wage data by industry, occupation and gender; wage data by region, state, and metropolitan area.
Payscale
U.S. and Canadian salaries by job, years of experience, employer, city, state or province, company size, and more

Core Human Resources and Workforce Development Resouces

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1971-. This business and trade database indexes and offers full text for U.S. and international academic and trade journals covering business and economic conditions, accounting, finance, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mostly 1990s- with some content back to the 19th century. A general research database that includes both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Offers academic and trade journals, popular magazines as well as some books, reports, and websites. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for some journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886, in addition to popular and trade magazines and newsletters. In addition to periodical literature, also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
New! Includes selected case studies and Harvard Business Review Ebooks!
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Covers 1925-. Offers international coverage of both public and private company information, executive biographies, and industry profiles. Mergent Online includes information published by Dun and Bradstreet and the former Moody's.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text electronic books in three categories:
those purchased by your UA librarians,
subscribed titles from the large Academic Complete collection,
and subscribed titles from the Arkansas State Library Traveler program, including College Complete, Schools and Educators Complete, and Public Library Complete.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text electronic books purchased by the University Libraries.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat.org is open to all to use.
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1861- with comprehensive full text from 1997-. Provides citations to and full text of millions of works. It includes citations dissertations and theses back to the 18th century and full text for dissertations and theses from the 1990s to the present. See the More info link for exact coverage of UofA theses and dissertations in this database.
Dissertations that are not available for free download online can be borrowed free of charge via Interlibrary Loan.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1970s- with some earlier documents. A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. Record date back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1900- .Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) collection of foreign theses and dissertations. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).Search by author, translated title, institution, country, year, or subject keyword. The University of Arkansas is a member of CRL and researchers can borrow these materials via Interlibrary Loan.

Professional Associations

Academy of Human Resource Development
"The Academy of Human Resource Development (AHRD) was founded...to encourage the systematic study of Human Resource Development (HRD) theories, processes, and practices; to disseminate information about HRD; to encourage the application of HRD research findings; and to provide opportunities for social interaction among individuals with scholarly and professional interests in HRD from multiple disciplines and from across the globe."
Association for Talent Development
"Our members and customers are professionals who help others achieve their full potential by improving their knowledge, skills, and abilities in the workplace."
Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA)
"The Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA) is the singular organization in the country where professionals interested in all aspects of labor and employment relations network to share ideas and learn about new developments, issues, and practices in the field."
Northwest Arkansas Chapter ATD
"The Northwest Arkansas ATD chapter is a community of professionals striving to inspire, equip, and expand our skills in talent development. Through relevant programs, activities and services, the chapter provides its members opportunities for professional and personal development."
Society for Human Resource Management
"The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) is the world’s largest HR professional society, representing 285,000 members in more than 165 countries. For nearly seven decades, the Society has been the leading provider of resources serving the needs of HR professionals and advancing the practice of human resource management."
Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology
"I-O psychologists apply research that improves the well-being and performance of people and the organizations that employ them. This involves everything from workforce planning, employee selection, and leader development to studying job attitudes and job motivation, implementing work teams, and facilitating organizational change."
The Human Resources Division
"Major topics include acquisition, allocation, development, utilization, maintenance, and evaluation of humans as resources in work organizations. The emphasis is on the study of the employment relationship at the individual, group, organizational, societal, and cross-cultural levels of analysis, and the impact of this relationship on outcomes critical to the organization and its applicants, both present and past employees, and their representatives."

Business Information

Corporate Register
"Corporate Register is the world’s most comprehensive online database of non-financial reporting, with over 80,000 reports profiled from nearly 14,000 organizations. "
Employee Benefit Research Institute
"The mission of the Employee Benefit Research Institute (EBRI) is to contribute to, to encourage, and to enhance the development of sound employee benefit programs and sound public policy through objective research and education."
PwC Analytics and Insights
"In an increasingly complex world, we help intricate systems function, adapt and evolve so they can benefit communities and society – whether they are capital markets, tax systems or the economic systems within which business and society exist. We help our clients to make informed decisions and operate effectively within them."

Employment Law

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
"The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information."
United States Department of Labor

Suggested Journals

The links below include journals that are available through your library. Once you access the link, you may be taken to a search within the journal page or asked to select a version from the View Online options to begin your research.