Provides documents produced by and correspondence to and from SNCC offices, including information on the Mississippi Summer Project of 1964, Voter Education Projects, Freedom Schools, field reports from various state offices (including Arkansas) sit-ins and other direct actions, and more.
Location
Library Annex LISA Microfilm ; E185.61 .S7854 1994
Format
microfilm
Arrangement
Arranged by office (Atlanta, New York, and Washington), then by series, with special sections of papers from William Kenney, Michael Porter, and from the SNCC newspaper, The Student Voice, which includes a run of the paper from 1960-65.
There is a print copy in the library annex at call number Z1361.N39 S88
Online Options
The complete SNCC archive is available for purchase as part of the ProQuest History Vault; the Libraries do not currently have access to this portion of the database.
Scattered documents can be found in some of the sites listed below.
This online exhibit tells the story of how young activists in SNCC united with local people in the Deep South to build a grassroots movement for change; includes photographs, timelines, and oral history interviews.
Covers: documents from 1800-. .Offering a range of primary source documents and images drawn from ProQuest historical collections, this database is organized in time periods from 19th century slavery and abolition struggle to Civil War and Reconstruction to Jim Crow, the modern civil rights era, and recent history. Intended to support high school and college students.
