Covers 1950-. A comprehensive index from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, covering journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Includes all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration. MEDLINE is a part of the National Library of Medicine's PubMed information suite.
Covers 1937-.A comprehensive source for nursing and related fields, covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL also indexes books and dissertations."
Covers: 1907-. SciFinder is an easy-to-use interface to Chemical Abstracts and related databases, including: the CAS Registry of chemicals, reactions data, sources for chemical purchasing, and the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database. Individual registration required.
Covers: 1950-. A service of the National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Offers comprehensive coverage of all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration.
Covers 1887-. Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Indexes journals, as well as books, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials.
Zotero is an application that collects, manages, and cites research sources. There are helper applications that work with Firefox, Chrome, or Safari to collect citations as you browse the web. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
EndNote Basic (formerly known as EndNote Web) is an online citation manager. It allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from databases. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper. EndNote Basic is provided through the Web of Science platform and users must create an account on that service in order to save and output citations. EndNote Basic can also interact with the desktop version of EndNote, which is available for purchase from the University Bookstore.
Create a personal EndNote Basic account from an on-campus computer. Need help creating an account? Ask us.
Full-text online books available 24/7/365 to get you up to speed
Advanced Statistics for Physical and Occupational Therapy explains the basis for statistical analyses that are commonly used to answer clinical research questions related to physical and occupational therapy. This textbook provides readers with the basis for common statistical analyses, including t-tests, analysis of variance, regression, and nonparametric tests. Each chapter includes step-by-step tutorials with corresponding example data sets explaining how to conduct these statistical analyses using Statistical Package for the Social Sciences (SPSS) software and the Excel Analysis ToolPak, as well as how to identify and interpret relevant output and report results. This new text will also be of interest to practicing clinicians who hope to better understand the research they are reading and/or are interested in starting to conduct their own clinical research.
Occupational Group Therapy helps group leaders achieve a higher and more dynamic level of therapeutic intervention, gain a better understanding of foundational concepts and research, and utilise active techniques that have meaningful and lasting effects on their clients. This practical guide encourages readers to use and develop their skills creatively in a range of interventions, including hospital-based work with acutely ill clients, physical acute care, and rehabilitation. The text presents both the theoretical background and practical applications of occupational group therapy: core skills and concepts, styles of group leadership, clinical and ethical reasoning, and different models of therapy such as the functional group model, the model of human occupation (MOHO), and the occupational therapy interactive group model (OTIGM), alongside warm-up and ice-breaker techniques, role-play exercises, assertiveness and social skills training strategies, guidance on using psychodrama and the therapeutic spiral model (TSM) in group settings, and more. Written by an esteemed expert with decades of practical experience in the field, with a chapter from Louise Fouché, an accomplished occupational group therapist and developer of OTIGM, and foreword by Professor Emerita Sharon Brintnell, former President of World Federation of Occupational Therapy (WFOT): Occupational Group Therapy is a must-have teaching manual and guide for undergraduate and post-graduate occupational therapy students, and for practitioners looking to increase their use of group work as a therapeutic intervention.
Occupational therapy practice with adults who have physical disabilities. Uses a comprehensive, case-based learning approach to physical dysfunction. Includes OT Practice Notes, and ethical considerations. Stresses a proactive role in patient care. Evidence-based content included throughout, especially in regards to evaluation and intervention.
Provides an overview of the wide-ranging knowledge, skills, and attitudes that encompass professionalism across the occupational therapy profession. While there is no formal endorsed definition of professionalism in occupational therapy practice, suggestions are provided to serve as a blueprint for use.
This book uses an occupational therapy way of thinking to guide the reader towards observing, understanding, and communicating the needs of children to foster a supportive environment. Presented in accessible, everyday language, this book takes a holistic approach of looking at a child from what makes them a unique person, what activities they are trying to accomplish, and what environment they are in. Each chapter helps readers identify, describe, and clearly articulate a different aspect of the child's environment and how it may affect them, the way that they process different sensory inputs, what their behaviors may be telling us, and how they learn. By recognizing each child's unique story and effectively communicating their story to others, the reader can identify the most effective ways to support a child to meet a child's needs and set them up for success. Therapists, educators, parents, and childcare workers will all benefit from the simple strategies outlined in this book to enrich a child's learning.