The second edition of this invaluable handbook covers converting vegetable oils, animal fats, and used oils into biodiesel fuel. The Biodiesel Handbook delivers solutions to issues associated with biodiesel feedstocks, production issues, quality control, viscosity, stability, applications, emissions, and other environmental impacts, as well as the status of the biodiesel industry worldwide.

This book provides water utilities guidance in implementing the requirements of AWWA Standard G300, Source Water Protection. It explains the purpose and function of the standard and includes examples, checklists, and other tools.

Water utility manual of practice for the identification, control, and treatment algae in water sources and algae-caused problems in drinking water. Benjamin Franklin Award winner.

This book covers the ecological activities of microbes in the biosphere with an emphasis on microbial interactions within their environments and communities In thirteen concise and timely chapters, Microbial Ecology presents a broad overview of this rapidly growing field, explaining the basic principles in an easy-to-follow manner.

Microbial ecology is one of the fastest growing fields of microbiology. This practical volume is the bench and field scientist's guide to well-established techniques for investigating microbial communities.

The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949.

The Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology, Three-Volume Set is the largest comprehensive reference source of current knowledge available in the field of food microbiology. Consisting of nearly 400 articles, in three volumes, written by the world's leading scientists, the Encyclopedia presents a highly structured distillation of the whole field--from Acetobacter to Zymomonas.