Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Home

For Help Contact

Email Me

Contact:

Mullins 423

479-575-2480

Subjects: Biological and Agricultural Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Operations Management

About This Guide

Image accessed from: https://international-admissions.uark.edu/_resources/images/graduate-studies-index.jpg

Welcome to the Biomedical Engineering Research Guide. This guide is intended to help faculty and students find the proper resources to assist with coursework, research, and other projects. Click the appropriate tab on the left to find what you need. For more assistance, contact Jay McAllister via email.

Below are some tools to get accustomed with such as Interlibrary Loan & OneSearch.

Request through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Enter your login information to access interlibrary loan service

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.

Best Bets Databases

Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1884-. Indexes journal and trade magazine articles, conference proceedings, and selected technical reports and books in all engineering disciplines as well as related fields in the sciences and management. On the Engineering Village platform.
MEDLINE Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This version links to 2,500 medical journals. Many are available with no embargo and cover areas of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system , pre-clinical sciences, and more.
Try out the new Ebsco interface
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1950-. A service of the National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Offers comprehensive coverage of all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1995-. Provides access to journal titles in the Freedom Collection, more than 2000 titles from Elsevier, Academic Press, and related publishers. Does not include the most recent issues from some special publishers such as Cell Press. Also provides access to selected Elsevier e-books.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1907-. SciFinder is an easy-to-use interface to Chemical Abstracts and related databases, including: the CAS Registry of chemicals, reactions data, sources for chemical purchasing, and the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database. Individual registration required.
Registration instructions

Other Resources

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Online engineering reference containing full-text handbooks, as well as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1931-. Offers the full text of American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM) standards, technical papers, and books. Search by keyword or standard number.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1938-. A searchable database of handbooks and reference sources in science and engineering. Includes a large number of publications from AIChE (American Institute of Chemical Engineers).