Research Guides: Economics for Non-Business Majors: Find Sources

Magazines and Journals

The Economist
The Economist Journal
Financial Times
FT.com is an international business and finance news website that is associated with the London-based financial newspaper, Financial Times.
WSJ : the Wall Street Journal magazine.
Full text availability
ProQuest Central
Available from 06/01/2011 until 12/31/2013.
Available from 01/01/2015.

The Atlas of Economic Complexity

The Atlas of Economic Complexity
The Atlas is a globally recognized tool “intended to advance the understanding of inclusive economic growth.” Interactive data visualizations enable researchers to explore relevant international business information focusing on imports/exports, drivers of economic growth, and GDP growth prospects of certain countries.

Databases

Interdisciplinary

ABI/INFORM Complete
Covers: 1971-. This business and trade database indexes and offers full text for U.S. and international academic and trade journals covering business and economic conditions, accounting, finance, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Business Market Research Collection
Covers: 1986-. Offers company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots. A part of the ProQuest Central database.
Business Source Complete
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886, in addition to popular and trade magazines and newsletters. In addition to periodical literature, also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
EconLit
Covers: 1969-. The essential index for the field of economics. Provides citations for economic research in journals, books, collected volumes dissertations reports and other scholarly material.
NBER Working Papers (National Bureau of Economic Research)
Covers: 1994-. Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER creates and disseminates unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
New York Times via ProQuest
Covers: 2017-. Offers the recent issues of the Times. Issues are usually available by10am of the publication date.
ProQuest One: Business
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Delivers a mix of practical and theoretical content t from a variety of sources including newspapers, dissertations, ebooks, video, business cases, industry reports and more. Browse by company, industry, country, or topic.
Valueline Investment Survey Standard Edition
Covers: Current 12 months. Provides analysis of some 1,700 equity issues. For each stock it offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise commentary on current operations and future prospects. PDF reports are issued quarterly for each stock. Only certain areas of the ValueLine site are included in the Libraries' subscription; we do not currently have access to the Mutual Funds, Convertibles, or Exchange Traded areas.
WARC
Covers: current. Offers marketing research, including branding, start-ups, consumer attention, neuromarketing, packaging, experiential marketing, cultural insights, global, non-profits, and more. Note that the UofA only has access to certain segments of WARC, including Strategy and case studies, Digital Commerce, and some rankings and surveys.
Please note that deep links to specific studies work on campus or through the campus VPN.

Provided to campus through the support of the Walton College of Business.

Statistics & Data

Sage Data
Covers: 2010- . Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 52 billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Data-Planet repository.
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Sources for the web

Google Scholar
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Now offering 1257 open textbooks, the Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.
Economics Crash Course
In YouTube 35 episodes, Adriene Hill and Jacob Clifford teach you economics! This course is based on an introductory college-level curriculum and the 2015 AP Economics guidelines.
TED Ed
TED talk on the topics of business and Economics.
OER Commons
Economics textbooks.

The tens of thousands of open resources on OER Commons are free - and they will be forever - but building communities to support them, developing new collections, and creating infrastructure to grow the open community isn’t. Grassroots donations from people like you can help us transform teaching and learning.