Research Guides: Standards, Specifications, Protocols, Methods, and Codes: Introduction

For Help Contact

Email Me

Contact:

Mullins 423

479-575-2480

Subjects: Biological and Agricultural Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Operations Management

Requesting Standards for Purchase

Standards are often issued by more than one group, thus you can find standards in the databases of Knovel, IEEE Explore, ASCE, and ASTM Compass.

If we don't own a standard in print or online, we may either request via interlibrary loan or purchase through TechStreet.

In the meantime, go ahead and request the standard via the request form: https://uark.libwizard.com/f/standards_request_form

July/August 2018 Issue IEEE Potentials - Standards and You
ASME Standards Guide
Examples of Use of Codes and Standards
for Students in Mechanical Engineering
and Other Fields

Best Bets

ASABE standards are available in full text. Search for them by standard number or title.

ASABE standards by American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers

The ASTM (formerly the American Society for Testing and Materials) has a Digital Library that incudes all of their Standards and Engineering document. Every publication of ASTM including STP, journals, standards, and conference proceedings are available full test through this resource.

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1931-. Offers the full text of American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM) standards, technical papers, and books. Search by keyword or standard number.

AWWA (American Water Works Association) is responsible for important standards related to water works.More information about accessing electronic versions of AWWA standards as well as what the library purchases in paper can be found on the AWWA page of this Research Guide

Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater
Call Number: QD142 .A5; latest edition in Mullins Reference
ISBN: 9780875530475
Since 1905, Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater has represented "the best current practice of American water analysts." This comprehensive reference covers all aspects of water and wastewater analysis techniques. Standard Methods is a joint publication of the American Public Health Association (APHA), the American Water Works Association (AWWA), and the Water Environment Federation (WEF).
AWWA Manual
Call Number: TD491 .A49
ISBN: 1583213007
Some volumes available at Mullins. Most volumes available through Knovel. Best to search by individual titles.

Code of Federal Regulations
Publication Date: Most current electronic version
CFR (Code of Federal Regulations); Current paper edition; received when published
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY -- KF70 .A3

The University of Arkansas Libraries provide access to the CURRENT IEEE standards. Some of these standards are co-published with ANSI, ACM, and ASTM (among others). Search the database linked below for full text access.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Offers conference proceedings, ebooks, journals, and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) , including publications from predecessors ]such as IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers); IRE (Institute of Radio Engineers); and AIEE (American Institute of Electrical Engineers). Includes some conference proceedings from the IET (Institute of Electrical Engineers).

Freely Available ISO Standards
In accordance with ISO/IEC JTC 1 and the ISO and IEC Councils these International Standards are publicly available.

ISO are purchased selectivity as needed for classes and research. They are added to the paper collection in Mullins Library and may be checked out. Individual standards can be found by searching OneSearch using the standard number. More details about available ISO standards can be found at ISO Standards.

If you need an ISO standard we do now own you may request it through ILL or contact the Engineering Librarian for additional assistance. ISO standards are expensive, so it is helpful if you interact with the Engineering Librarian to determine if an alternative resource might provide the information you need.

AASHTO (American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials) is responsible for important standards related to transportation including the Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods of Sampling and Testing.More information about accessing electronic versions of AASHTO standards as well as what the library purchases in paper can be found on the AASHTO page of this Research Guide.

ASCE Standards are part of the American Society for Civil Engineers Library.

ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Standards can be found by browsing the Standards option. Full text is available using the PDF link.

AACC Standards

Approved methods of the American Association of Cereal Chemists / compiled by the Approved Method Committee
Call Number: TX557 .A65 2000

Read Only Standards

Some standards organizations are choosing to post some standards online. Most require registration and are only a subset of standards available from that organization. Reading online only and limited printing options may also make it difficult to have a personal copy.