Research Guides: Getting Better Results with Agricola: What is Agricola? How do I use it?

Agriculture Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

MULN 428

(479)-575-3184

Subjects: Agricultural Education, Communication and Technology, Agriculture, Animal Science, Apparel Studies, Crop, Soil, and Environmental Science, Entomology and Plant Pathology, Food Science, Horticulture, Hospitality, Human Development and Family Sciences, Human Nutrition and Dietetics, Poultry Science

What is Agricola?

Agricola is a database of agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library of the USDA. It indexes journals, magazines, conference reports, theses and dissertations, books and book chapters from 1970 forward, though in some cases newer materials aren't there yet.

PubAg is a newer database created by the National Agricultural Library. Its focus is on more recent materials (1995- ) and peer-reviewed articles in particular. It is intended to be for agriculture what PubMed is for medicine-- a freely available database of the literature of the subject. PubAg augments but doesn't replace or supersede Agricola.

Looking for more information or international scope? Try CAB Abstracts,which is produced by the Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International or CABI (was the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux). Still not getting what you want? Try Web of Science or Scifinder, linked below.

AGRICOLA (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the USDA's National Agricultural Library; this interface is by Ebscohost.
CAB Abstracts with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
We also have access to CAB Direct. It may be available to you, based on your IP address, or you may have to log in with your campus credentials.
PubAg Now part of NAL Search This link opens in a new window
Covers 1996-. A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. PubAg covers all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education. A part of the AGRICOLA family of products,
PubAg contains full-text articles relevant to the agricultural sciences, along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles."

Search! New from NAL
"Search" is a pilot project that allows searching in a combined pool from Agricola, PubAg and the NAL Digital Collections. Give it a try!

Links to databases

AGRICOLA (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Think "American agriculture" but also biological and ecological coverage. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970. The citations are from journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
ASABE Technical Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2001-.Provides articles, standards, technical papers, and conference proceedings from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.
CAB Abstracts with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1910- .Produced by the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau, this index covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1884-. Indexes journal and trade magazine articles, conference proceedings, and selected technical reports and books in all engineering disciplines as well as related fields in the sciences and management. On the Engineering Village platform.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1785- with worldwide coverage from 1933. Indexes journal articles, government publications, conference proceedings, books, and other technical literature on geology, geophysics, and earth sciences.
Tip: for records without full text links, Look for the Find it! icon to search for full text across our collections.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1907-. SciFinder is an easy-to-use interface to Chemical Abstracts and related databases, including: the CAS Registry of chemicals, reactions data, sources for chemical purchasing, and the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database. Individual registration required.
Registration instructions
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1945-. Indexes high-impact journals in all disciplines. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track citations, and to find articles that share many references in common.
Use the "Editions" drop down to limit your search to arts and humanities, social sciences, or sciences.
New! Now includes Book Citation Index for Sciences and Social Sciences / Humanities, covering 2005-.

Article Finder--have some info. on a specific article? Check through this tool

Article Finder

Search our catalog

Search the Libraries' Catalog for books, dvds, and more. Some of the items that show up in Agricola are government documents; when we have these, they are often listed in the catalog.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.