Research Guides: UNIV 1101: Writing with Academic Integrity: Part 2. Finding Research Topics and Building Basic Knowledge

Topics

You have been given a research based assignment but have no idea what topic to choose. If this is the case ask yourself these questions:

Is there a topic or aspect of the class that I found very interesting and would like to know more about?
Is there something we discussed in the class that I did not agree with and would like to be able to argue against the way the information was presented or discussed?
Is there something related to the class that I already know a lot about but would be interested in reading more and finding sources that increase my knowledge and understanding.
Is there a topic or position I am passionate about that related to the course content that I want others to know more about?

Sometimes you are assigned topics by your professor. In this case, even if you don't like the topic (or understand it), you will need to build some basic knowledge to get you started.

Decipher Your Research Assignment
This video poses some important questions you should consider before beginning your research assignment.

Tools You Can Use

I don't know where to begin? I have no background knowledge!

Try your textbook. Check the index for information on the topic. In a textbook, the basics will be covered to give you a foundation.
Try Google. Google is good for helping you find basic information on a topic. Remember however, that it is often difficult to prove the reliability of information on the Web. Anybody can put up anything they want! The CRAP Test is a good tool to use to test the reliability of information. Google can be a good place to start if you need basic info from reliable sources but DO NOT write your research assignment/paper using only sources from Google!
Try a reference resource. The library subscribes to a variety of basic online reference databases that include general reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Try one of these:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1980-.Offers the full text of reference sources in all disciplines. Users can search for specific words or concepts or browse by subject area. Special tools include a concept map that charts the occurrences of search and related terms across the collection and an image search. Topic pages covering people, places, events, or ideas pull together information from across several different reference sources.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A searchable library of electronic reference books.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
A general encyclopedia with special features such as country profiles and comparisons, world atlas, timelines, and the Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The University Libraries subscribe to the "Premium" collection, which includes dictionaries, companions, thesauri, and handbooks on many different fields.
Access Science This link opens in a new window
Covers: current. The online successor to McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including recent research developments, biographies, data, tables, news references, illustrations and related links.

Research Paper Wizard

The University of Arkansas Libraries Research Paper Wizard is a tool you can use to help you start and finish your research-based assignment. It includes a scheduler and links to the best resources for your topic. If you need step by step guidance through the process of completing a research-based assignment or project, this tool is a great place to start!

Research Paper Wizard

Also see this guide on narrowing topics.

Narrowing a Topic and Developing a Research Question