The materials in this collection were collected by Ruth Cohoon, first director of the U of A's Women's Athletic program. The collection pertains to the program's operations with a series dedicated to Title IX and the university's compliance.

Folders on Title IX and women's issues on campus are scattered throughout this collection.

The Affirmative Action Plan (AAP), developed by the Director of Human Relations and the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee, is designed to comply with Title VI and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Executive Order No. 11246 and No. 11375, Revised Order No. 4, and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. In May 1973, the University of Arkansas submitted it fist version of the AAP. This collection documents the University of Arkansas' response to the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX, and other similar legal acts.

The Women's Library was founded by Diana Woodall and "Guthrie'' (the publisher of Up and Coming, a Fayetteville feminist/lesbian newsletter) in 1982 to provide access to publications concerning women, particularly feminists and lesbians.

The Fayetteville Women's Library Collection (MC 1180) was donated to Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, in April 1994, by Diana Woodall of Fayetteville, Arkansas. The Feminist and LGBT Publications were separated from the Fayetteville Women's Library to form a discrete collection in 2015. In July 2016, Melissa Strong of Fayetteville, Arkansas, donated 38 issues of Bitch: Feminist Response to Pop Culture, which were incorporated into the collection. Additional feminist and LGBT publications will be added to this collection as they are received.

Diane Blair was a political science professor at the University of Arkansas who worked with governors Pryor, Bumpers, and Clinton on various committees. Blair notably debated for the Equal Rights Amendment against Phyllis Schlafly in 1975 before the Arkansas General Assembly.

This topic guide is a good starting point, but has not been edited since 1989. Manuscript Collections in the Women's Studies guide include collections coming from both women's organizations and individuals.