Wind Effects on Structures by
Provides structural engineers with the knowledge and practical tools needed to perform structural designs for wind that incorporate major technological, conceptual, analytical and computational advances achieved in the last two decades. With clear explanations and documentation of the concepts, methods, algorithms, and software available for accounting for wind loads in structural design, it also describes the wind engineer's contributions in sufficient detail that they can be effectively scrutinized by the structural engineer in charge of the design. Wind Effects on Structures: Modern Structural Design for Wind, 4th Edition is organized in four sections. The first covers atmospheric flows, extreme wind speeds, and bluff body aerodynamics. The second examines the design of buildings, and includes chapters on aerodynamic loads; dynamic and effective wind-induced loads; wind effects with specified MRIs; low-rise buildings; tall buildings; and more. The third part is devoted to aeroelastic effects, and covers both fundamentals and applications. The last part considers other structures and special topics such as trussed frameworks; offshore structures; and tornado effects. Offering readers the knowledge and practical tools needed to develop structural designs for wind loadings, this book: Points out significant limitations in the design of buildings based on such techniques as the high-frequency force balance Discusses powerful algorithms, tools, and software needed for the effective design for wind, and provides numerous examples of application Discusses techniques applicable to structures other than buildings, including stacks and suspended-span bridges Features several appendices on Elements of Probability and Statistics; Peaks-over-Threshold Poisson-Process Procedure for Estimating Peaks; estimates of the WTC Towers' Response to Wind and their shortcomings; and more Wind Effects on Structures: Modern Structural Design for Wind, 4th Edition is an excellent text for structural engineers, wind engineers, and structural engineering students and faculty.
Behaviour of Steel Structures in Seismic Areas by
This collection of papers and keynote lectures presented at the 9th International Conference on the Behaviour of Steel Structures in Seismic Areas (Stessa2018, Christchurch, New Zealand, February 14-17, 2018) is a comprehensive overview of the recent state-of-the-art developments in the field of seismic resistant steel structures. The book is a valuable source for all stakeholders involving scientists, professionals, companies, and authorities dealing with the reduction of the seismic risk in earthquake prone countries.
Design and Analysis of Tall Structures by
The design of tall buildings and complex structures involves challenging activities, including: scheme design, modelling, structural analysis and detailed design. This book provides structural designers with a systematic approach to anticipate and solve issues for tall buildings and complex structures. This book begins with a clear and rigorous exposition of theories behind designing tall buildings. After this is an explanation of basic issues encountered in the design process. This is followed by chapters concerning the design and analysis of tall building with different lateral stability systems, such as MRF, shear wall, core, outrigger, bracing, tube system, diagrid system and mega frame. The final three chapters explain the design principles and analysis methods for complex and special structures. With this book, researchers and designers will find a valuable reference on topics such as tall building systems, structure with complex geometry, Tensegrity structures, membrane structures and offshore structures.
Bridge Engineering by
Bridge Engineering: Classifications, Design Loading, and Analysis Methods begins with a clear and concise exposition of theory and practice of bridge engineering, design and planning, materials and construction, loads and load distribution, and deck systems. This is followed by chapters concerning applications for bridges, such as: Reinforced and Prestressed Concrete Bridges, Steel Bridges, Truss Bridges, Arch Bridges, Cable Stayed Bridges, Suspension Bridges, Bridge Piers, and Bridge Substructures. In addition, the book addresses issues commonly found in inspection, monitoring, repair, strengthening, and replacement of bridge structures.
Design of Column-Reinforced Foundations by
The design of foundations on reinforced soil by columns is discussed within a general framework where several aspects are taken into consideration: modeling of reinforced soil, bearing capacity, settlement, acceleration of consolidation, and improvement of soil characteristics with selected case histories. Unlike existing books on unique improvement techniques (deep soil mixing, stone columns, sand compaction piles) that focus on installation and equipment issues, this one-of-a-kind, full-color guide details the design. It is an important work for all in the geotechnical field, including practitioners, academics, and students.
Steel Designers' Handbook by
Fully revised and updated, this eighth edition is an invaluable tool for all practicing structural, civil, and mechanical engineers as well as engineering students. Responding to changes in design and processing standards--including fabrication, welding, and coatings--this resource introduces the main concepts of designing steel structures; describes the limit states method of design; demonstrates the methods of calculating the design capacities of structural elements and connections; and illustrates the calculations by means of worked examples. Design aids and extensive references to external sources are also included.
Cold-Formed Steel Design by
Provides the latest AISI North American specifications for cold-formed steel design Hailed by professionals around the world as the definitive text on the design of cold-formed steel, this book provides descriptions of the construction and structural behavior of cold-formed steel members and connections from both theoretical and experimental points of view. Updated to reflect the 2016 AISI North American specification and 2015 North American framing standards, this all-new fifth edition offers readers a better understanding of the analysis and design of the thin-walled, cold-formed steel structures that have been widely used in building construction and other areas in recent years. Cold-Formed Steel Design, 5th Edition has been revised and reorganized to incorporate the Direct Strength Method. It discusses the reasons and justification for the various design provisions of the North American specification and framing design standards. It provides chapter coverage of: the types of steels and their most important mechanical properties; the fundamentals of buckling modes; commonly used terms; the design of flexural members, compression members and closed cylindrical tubes, and of beam-columns using ASD, LRFD, and LSD methods; shear diaphragms and shell roof structures; standard corrugated sheets; and more. Updated to the 2016 North American (AISI S100) design specification and 2015 North American (AISI S240) design standard Offers thorough coverage of ASD, LRFD, LSD, and DSM design methods Integrates DSM in the main body of design provisions Features a new section on Power-Actuated Fastener (PAF) Connections Provides new examples and explanations of design provisions Cold-Formed Steel Design, 5th Edition is not only instructive for students, but can serve as a major source of reference for structural engineers, researchers, architects, and construction managers.
3D Concrete Printing Technology by
3D Concrete Printing Technology provides valuable insights into the new manufacturing techniques and technologies needed to produce concrete materials. In this book, the editors explain the concrete printing process for mix design and the fresh properties for the high-performance printing of concrete, along with commentary regarding their extrudability, workability and buildability. This is followed by a discussion of three large-scale 3D printings of ultra-high performance concretes, including their processing setup, computational design, printing process and materials characterization. Properties of 3D-printed fiber-reinforced Portland cement paste and its flexural and compressive strength, density and porosity and the 3D-printing of hierarchical materials is also covered.
Active and Passive Vibration Damping by
A guide to the application of viscoelastic damping materials to control vibration and noise of structures, machinery, and vehicles Active and Passive Vibration Damping is a practical guide to the application of passive as well as actively treated viscoelastic damping materials to control vibration and noise of structures, machinery and vehicles. The author -- a noted expert on the topic -- presents the basic principles and reviews the potential applications of passive and active vibration damping technologies. The text presents a combination of the associated physical fundamentals, governing theories and the optimal design strategies of various configurations of vibration damping treatments. The text presents the basics of various damping effective treatments such as constrained layers, shunted piezoelectric treatments, electromagnetic and shape memory fibers. Classical and new models are included as well as aspects of viscoelastic materials models that are analyzed from the experimental characterization of the material coefficients as well as their modeling. The use of smart materials to augment the vibration damping of passive treatments is pursued in depth throughout the book. This vital guide: Contains numerical examples that reinforce the understanding of the theories presented Offers an authoritative text from an internationally recognized authority and pioneer on the subject Presents, in one volume, comprehensive coverage of the topic that is not available elsewhere Presents a mix of the associated physical fundamentals, governing theories and optimal design strategies of various configurations of vibration damping treatments Written for researchers in vibration damping and research, engineers in structural dynamics and practicing engineers, Active and Passive Vibration Damping offers a hands-on resource for applying passive as well as actively treated viscoelastic damping materials to control vibration and noise of structures, machinery and vehicles.
Risk-Based Structural Evaluation Methods by
Prepared by Technical Council on Life-Cycle Performance, Safety, Reliability, and Risk of Structural Systems of the Structural Engineering Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers Risk-Based Structural Evaluation Methods: Best Practices and Development of Standards provides a comprehensive summary of the findings from a survey of attitudes of researchers, structural engineers, and government agencies to risk-informed structural engineering practices and a follow-up workshop. Risk analysis principles are well established from a theoretical point of view; however, a number of barriers have hampered a wide-scale implementation of risk-based methods in decision-making processes. This book examines the progress made on the application of risk-based structural evaluation methods (RBsEM) and provides recommendations to help enhance their implementation in engineering practice. The issues addressed include Risk evaluation for new and existing structural systems, Hazard assessment and statistical projection of expected extreme natural and human-made events, Probabilistic analysis of structural systems, Assessment of physical damage to structures and infrastructure systems and evaluation of consequences, Estimation of associated direct and indirect losses and risk quantification, Risk communication to different stakeholders including the general public, Establishment of optimum risk acceptance criteria that take into consideration public attitudes toward risk, and Prioritization of risk mitigation strategies. This report will be a valuable resource for engineers, owners, regulators, and policy makers working toward implementation of RBsEM as the basis for managing our structure and infrastructure systems.
Benjamin Wright and the Birth of American Civil Engineering by
The early nineteenth century was a time of great change as the United States transitioned from the colonial era to the industrial age. Benjamin Wright's engineering career spanned the better part of that time from 1790 to 1840. In Benjamin Wright: Father of American Civil Engineering, Steven M. Pennington chronicles Wright's life and varied career from country surveyor to his early work on America's railroads. After surveying the Mohawk River for navigation improvements and supervising the engineering of the Erie Canal project, he then went on to contribute to such projects as the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal near Philadelphia, and the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal near Washington, DC. From the capital city, Wright advanced his engineering practice as America grew and viewed its manifest expansion to the West. Throughout his life and work, Wright's personal connections, politically, socially, and technically, were far reaching. Wright understood the mechanics and connectivity of how politics and economics demonstrated themselves. He worked with leaders across the business and engineering communities to make a lasting social, economic, and historical contribution. Benjamin Wright understood the necessity to establish an organization of practicing engineers to stimulate technical, business, ethical, and professional attitudes. In 1839, he participated in organizational meetings of what would become the American Society of Civil Engineers which, in 1970, designated him the "Father of American Civil Engineering."
Civil Engineering Body of Knowledge by
Prepared by the Civil Engineering Body of Knowledge 3 Task Committee of the Committee on Education of the American Society of Civil Engineers. The American Society of Civil Engineers defines the Civil Engineering Body of Knowledge as the necessary knowledge, skills, and attitudes required of an individual entering the practice of civil engineering at the professional level. Civil Engineering Body of Knowledge: Preparing the Future Civil Engineer, Third Edition outlines 21 foundational, technical, and professional practice learning outcomes for individuals entering the professional practice of civil engineering. Recommendations for fulfilling the outcomes through formal education, both at the undergraduate and post-graduate levels, and mentored early career experience are provided. Topics include Foundational course education, Engineering fundamentals, Engineering technical skills Engineering curriculum development, and Business and professional skills and responsibilities. This book will be of interest to students and early-career civil engineers as well as the professors who teach engineering and practicing engineers who mentor and develop new engineers within their organizations.
